Customer Reviews for

A Distant Melody (Wings of Glory Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

BusyMom5

The era in which this story occurs plus the cover of the book first caught my attention. It was well written, with an excellent devlopment of characters, historical descriptions, and plot. I enjoyed this christian romance. Of the many christian fiction books I have read...
The era in which this story occurs plus the cover of the book first caught my attention. It was well written, with an excellent devlopment of characters, historical descriptions, and plot. I enjoyed this christian romance. Of the many christian fiction books I have read, this is a top pick for me.





posted by 5962643 on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!!!

This was an awesome read! True romance, tender love, historical moments in history for the background of a truly beautiful love story. This book reminded me of the way they used to make movies, and I wish they still made them today.

posted by Ladydi8 on February 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Excellent read

    A great story... very well written.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    great book!

    i cherished this love story. i read the entire book in one day. i cant wait for the next book in the series!u

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Anonymous

    This book was very pleasant to read. I look forward to more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    kk

    k
    k
    kk
    kmm
    k

    k

    k
    k

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    good

    Nice story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Takes you back to how people lived during WWII

    Nice story of life back home during a war, as well as a romance. From what I know about the great war, it's also historically correct. The story helps the reader understand how war changes everyone's day-to-day life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Great read!  I haven't read too many Christian fiction romances

    Great read!  I haven't read too many Christian fiction romances in this era.  Look forward to the next  book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I thoroughly enjoyed the story and the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It had me at the start...

    This is a classic love story between two Americans during World War II. Well, maybe not the classic. Allie (the girl) is in another relationship with a man who she doesn't love and he doesn't love her. In her parent's eyes, he is the perfect mate for her, not to mention the perfect "one" to take over the family business.

    On a trip to a friend's wedding, Allie meets Lt. Walter Novak. A friendship blossoms and they part ways. However, they begin a correspondence that will change both of their lives forever.

    This book drew me in from the start. I fell in love with the characters and just enjoyed reading it. It is a historical fiction piece, which made me really think of how it was for the people in World War II era. I was amazed of the knowledge of history, that the author truly put in the book. She also made it so easy to picture in my mind the events that were taking place. It just made me want to learn more about the people of this time and what they had to go through.

    The cover of the book is gorgeous. It just made me want to go back in time.

    This would be a perfect book to take to the beach or just read right before bedtime.

    "Available March 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    Note: I was sent complimentary copy for review purposes only. This review has not been monetarily compensated. The review was my honest opinion and views and not influenced by the sponsor in any way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this debut novel from Sarah Sundin. Beautifully written, Sundin carries her readers back to a time when a person's word meant something, and loyalties were paramount. Complex characters define this gripping tale. I was caught up in Allie and Walt's world and didn't leave it until I closed the book. I give A Distant Melody a high recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Historical Novel- I Can't Wait for More!

    Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres to read. And having accurate history and a stunning story make it all the more poignant and real to a time I never lived through.
    A Distant Melody was just such a novel. What I loved so much about this book was the uniqueness of the story. The hero and heroine are far from attractive in their own right, but to each other, they couldn't find anyone more lovely. History was liberally spread and made real, but in a way that was never overbearing or confusing.
    There is nothing clichéd about this novel, down to the struggles the hero and heroine face. Marrying someone who isn't of the Christian faith, lying, obeying family or God, combine that with World War II and you have an enthralling book! I was anxious the entire way through to see how it would be resolved and how the characters would learn from their situation.
    The beginning of the book was a tad confusing with a bunch of names and characters, but once it was all sorted out, it came together well and I enjoyed my time reading it. I cheered for the characters and hurt for them during rough periods. I would wholeheartedly recommend this book and eagerly await the second!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1