Customer Reviews for

Distant Suns

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

90 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

At last a planetarium application for the Nook Tablet! Very full

At last a planetarium application for the Nook Tablet! Very full-featured and customizable. Includes Messier and Caldwell Catalogs. Also has a monthly Events list customized for your area. Very nice!

posted by RobinBaker on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Reset

Only thing i dont like is that there is no rest back to home or starting coodinates after you start moving around the sky. A reset that snaps the screen back to your long lat view from the get go would be a nice fix

posted by dreagonfly on June 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    At last a planetarium application for the Nook Tablet! Very full

    At last a planetarium application for the Nook Tablet! Very full-featured and customizable. Includes Messier and Caldwell Catalogs. Also has a monthly Events list customized for your area. Very nice!

    90 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    So excited!!!

    I refuse to get a smart phone but the smart phones are able to have the sky star chart on them. So I was looking at apps on my nook and saw this! Got it and opened it and have been checking it out. So glad I got it! It has the history behind the constellations and all the info about the stars and constellations. Plus even more info on planets and nebulaes. Still need to check out some more on the app but so far it looks GREAT! :)

    65 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Awesome app!

    Anyone with even a casual interest in the night sky will love this app. I love using it to "look around" the sky when I can't be in front of a telescope. It's a seriously great buy!

    54 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Distant Suns, its about time we got this.

    Glad to see an app like this for the nook. Not quite what I expected but is informative. Its a little bit difficult to line up with whats in the sky if your a novice like me.

    41 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    anonymous

    just bought & love-does not require wifi. there is so much info in this & i am a total novice at astronomy but find it fascinating & this helped-travelling with it is awesome, it tacks with u! highly recommend 4 anyone on any form-it's on my nook & worth every penny & i don't say that lightly as this is the only review i have ever written but i totally believe in this app so much that i had to take the time to write this!

    35 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Nice app!!

    Very nice app! It has nice features and is useful for locating objects and getting info on them. It isnt intended to be a full-blown advanced application, but it is worth the 4 bucks. Only took me a few minutes to do the tutorial and start customizing and using it. I have no problems, no regrets with it.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    AWESOME FOR AGES 0-100!

    Worth every penny and interesting. Better than any smartphone app out there. You wont be disappointed.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Nice

    Great features. Wish calibration to finger were more accurate, but overall great app. Lots of features.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Great but one small problem

    The "pick" crosshairs are like an inch off of where you actually touch. Makes it hard to select objects. Fix coming???

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Reset

    Only thing i dont like is that there is no rest back to home or starting coodinates after you start moving around the sky. A reset that snaps the screen back to your long lat view from the get go would be a nice fix

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Beautiful

    This app is beautiful and well made. They show you what the constellations are representing, and it's accurate too. I would recommend this app if you have an interest for stars and astronomy

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    It is cool

    It is well made and all, i think that the only problem with it was because of my nook.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Great app! Worth every penny!

    I was able to locate and identify stars within 5 minutes. Very intuitive and easy to set up. The offset pointer is great and allows precise selection even with my fat fingers!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Amazing!

    This app is stunning. Beautifully designed, with so much wonderful information! It is THE BEST app I have ever purchased. I was absolutely stunned with this app, and I highly recommend it to anyone with interest in the night sky. It is going to keep me entertained for sure!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    WOW

    This app is truly awesome. The amount of information is a little overwhelming at first, but on second thought it presents the idea that there are many many hours to enjoy learning about the universe.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Great App for Novice Astronomers!

    JUST PURCHASEDTHIS APP

    7 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Won't download to my Nook Color !

    Tried many times to dowload. All I got was the icon. A waste of my time.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Should port Star Chart from regular android market.

    Too narrow of view in portrait, no landscape view in Nook Color. Pointer does not line up with finger selection point, a real pain.
    Needs fixing!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    One of the most coherent astronomy apps I've ever downloaded!

    Great app and reference for an amateur stargazer to an experienced astronomer!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Very Happy!

    Just bought this for the nook color, and am very happy with it! There is so much detailed information- its fun to be able to get the history and details about all the planets and stars. Worth the money for sure!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4