Customer Reviews for

Distant Waves: A Novel of the Titanic

Average Rating 4.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This book was the best book i've ever read

This book is so intense, it made me cry. I love the fact that it relates back to a real event, and has that intense wonder of what is to happen next. I think this is a great book for any person of any age to read. This book is one of few that i have a hard time to put d...
This book is so intense, it made me cry. I love the fact that it relates back to a real event, and has that intense wonder of what is to happen next. I think this is a great book for any person of any age to read. This book is one of few that i have a hard time to put down after i begin to read.

posted by kelsey53 on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Distant Waves

I've been in love with the Titanic since I was 4. I'm a huge Titanic buff and I love reading about and studying the ship, so I was thrilled to see this book came out...until I actually read it. It was rediculous. There are many times when it's historically inacurate, an...
I've been in love with the Titanic since I was 4. I'm a huge Titanic buff and I love reading about and studying the ship, so I was thrilled to see this book came out...until I actually read it. It was rediculous. There are many times when it's historically inacurate, and the ending was just silly. But if you're looking for a book that hardly makes any historical sense, by all means, read it. Though, I must give it this: I loved the character Thad. He is to me what Edward Cullen is to fan girls.

posted by MissMorbid1912 on January 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    This book was the best book i've ever read

    This book is so intense, it made me cry. I love the fact that it relates back to a real event, and has that intense wonder of what is to happen next. I think this is a great book for any person of any age to read. This book is one of few that i have a hard time to put down after i begin to read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Amber Gibson for TeensReadToo.com

    What would you do if you had foreseen the sinking of the Titanic?

    DISTANT WAVES is one of many re-tellings of the mysterious happenings surrounding the greatest shipwreck of all time, but Suzanne Weyn's version stands out with its breadth of historical research and, most importantly, with its allusions to the paranormal.

    Maude Oneida Taylor is a famed psychic, one of the most respected clairvoyants in Spirit Vale, a small liberal town teeming with spiritualists and feminists. Mrs. Taylor's five daughters grow up in rather unusual circumstances, and none of them are typical American girls.

    Mimi, the oldest, is stunningly beautiful, leaving home to pursue a more luxurious lifestyle and travel through Europe, though she can never truly escape her heritage. Jane, a budding journalist, is the most logical of the bunch, and the story is told through her perspective. Emma and Amelie, twins, seem to have inherited some of their mother's powers. Blythe, the youngest of the group, is completely mesmerized by the power that accompanies fame and fortune.

    Growing up in Spirit Vale, the Taylor girls have seen so many clairvoyants, some who perhaps really have the gift and others who are clearly frauds. Jane has even seen her mother cheat, scribbling her own messages during "automatic writing" that are supposedly from loved ones that have passed on. There have been times though, when even Jane's jaded self doesn't know what to believe, such as during her sister Amelie's dangerous sleepwalking episodes.

    Jane's life is influenced greatly by the ideas and attitudes of physicist Nikola Tesla. After a chance meeting in a man-made earthquake in New York City when she was only four, she has followed his career carefully, regarding him as a father-figure of sorts. Tesla's manipulation of electricity and inventive mind are incredible, only eclipsed by his generosity and lack of capitalist greed. Though Jane admires Tesla, it is his handsome assistant, Thad, who captures her heart.

    As the Titanic sets sail from London, all five sisters find themselves on board, despite multiple predictions of its sinking. Sailing toward what might very well be their demise, Jane and her sisters must hope that somebody or something is out there watching out for them.

    Weyn clearly understands the time period thoroughly, though occasionally the incorporation of facts seems slightly forced and almost weighs the story down. Readers do gain a wealth of knowledge, including little-known trivia about many celebrities of the era.

    This book is a must-read for anyone who remembers Leonardo DiCaprio's "I'm king of the world!" line from the movie, or for anyone who has ever entertained the idea that maybe clairvoyancy isn't so far-fetched after all.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Love Titanic

    I own this book like a hard copy. Should I read it or not?

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    i loved it.

    i found this book when i was obsessed with the movie titanic so i thought why not. best choice i ever made. now i am obsessed with this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    I very much enjoyed this book. I first read it in 2009 and wasn'

    I very much enjoyed this book. I first read it in 2009 and wasn't sure what quite to expect. I was delighted by its fresh new twist on the Titanic, the war between Edison and Tesla, and  the feminist mother of the narrator, a clever medium who is left widowed and pregnant but  manages to give her daughters a good life. The heroine, a young woman named Jane who grows up in the Victorian and Edwardian eras. She is a very unique choice to narrate the book and she has a fresh yet historically accurate view of events in the late 1890's to the mid 1910's. Fair warning, the characters do not get involved with the Titanic until about 2/3's of the book but it's there all the previous events in the story are perfectly blended together. This book is a personal favorite of mine because it is very well written. In fact, I hope someday they will turn into a film. Until that day, I'll just enjoy this amazing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    I love it

    I'm only 11 and I love this book . This story is one of my favorite. I wish it was sequel. ******************************************************** stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Awesome!!

    I absolutely LOVE this book! I bought it at a book fair this year and i honestly believe that was the best choice i made that day. I myself am only 12 years old and i think it was very good. But it is the perfect combination of science, history, and fantasy with just the right amount of romance!! :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Amazing

    This is the besy bookihave ever i cried sooouo hard i love this book soooo much it is amazing i could read it 1000 times over and over IOVE THIS BOOK i would giveit 810000000000 stars if i could

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    READ IT

    I read this book a few years back when it first came out and I still love. Suzanne brings history, romance and science togather beautifully!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Distant waves

    I love this book it is awesome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Would i like this?

    I LOVE the movie titanic (story of jack and rose is this like it?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Amazing

    I read this book and fell.in.love! Its based on the titanic and will keep you in love. You wish you can have the romance that goes between the main character and the boy (Thad) its so.welly writen and i have read this book so many times because im just in love with it! Read this book! Its amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    What a story! A novel about 5 sisters who traveled on the Tita

    What a story! A novel about 5 sisters who traveled on the Titanic,with a surprising ending! This novel is work of fiction, but is based on certain historical facts- which makes it the more fascinating! Suspense with mystery kept me glued to this book, reading way into the late hour! It is a beautiful story, and I highly recommend it!

    comment · see review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    To#21

    Adult or kid? I havent read the bpok yet but i hav red DARING TO DREAM. And lin the authors review it says that DISTANT WAVES is a book 4 teens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    So interesting! Definitely a page turner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!

    At first i thought this book was going to be jusr about their ride on the titanic but it ended up to b much much better. If you lije romance adventure and a little history this is defentially the book for you. Its worth the money and i highly recamend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    I loved it!!!!!!!

    I loved it!!!!!!!!! It was n amazing book. Maybe there will be a sequal......................

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Amazing

    I love this story. I recomend it to all readers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Good book

    Amaazing story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    :D

    This book is not historically acurate, but it is a truly lovable story! The beginning is a but slow but the middle and end are great! Thad and Jane are so perfect!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6