Customer Reviews for

Ditched: A Love Story

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cute and fun read!

    This is such a cute story that left me laughing and smiling so much! I adored that characters and her story-telling of what happened that night. It 's so crazy and exciting that it totally leaves you smiling!

    This story starts off with a girl crazy in love, swirling into a turn of events that will have you laughing. One thing I enjoyed about this book is the main character Justina. After fighting her feelings about Ian, things have turn out not what she expected. I enjoyed reading about Justina and see her crazy roller coaster emotions. I remember being a teen and realize now that the things I thought were so important that if they didn't get fixed right away that I would die, were petty things. Justina has bouts of her emotions going everywhere. And like her, I did the same thing too. Always crying, whining over dumb things. It was good to see a teenage girl act the way I acted when I was young.

    The love interest in this story is nice. I like how both were scared after what was done to both of them and seeing them enjoy each other's company is a nice touch to the story. Seeing them around like chickens with no head and the crazy things they did is even funnier. I admit that some of the things done may seem overboard, but it did come together nicely at the end of the story.

    With that said, this book reminded me of the movie The Hangover. Dog swapping, late night burger stops, and plenty of drama, Justina night is filled with stories I'm sure the reader will never forget. Have a crazy dress you mom made you wear to prom? Well then, read this story. It will give you a prom night you will never forget.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    Somehow Ditched proved to be one of those classic yet never the

    Somehow Ditched proved to be one of those classic yet never the less completely unique and unconventional romances. Justina's character (much like her prom night) is absolutely one of kind. The relationship between her and Ian was completely heart-melting and I loved it none the less.Not to be outdone, Justina's prom night entourage which includes the Stoner Mikes and their two dates Serenity and Bliss also proved be fabulous as well!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    I loved he book it is a good book for ages 11 and up. Spottedp

    I loved he book it is a good book for ages 11 and up.


    Spottedpath from windclan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read!!!

    This book is at times laugh out loud funny, and other times sweet and tender, just like a high school romance really. This is a look back on Justina and her train wreck prom night. We stumble(sometimes literally) through Justina's night and endure all the problems and spills and accidents through her re-telling of the story to a worker at the local 7 Eleven(the good one, not the sucky one across town).
    All along Justina is trying to get back together with her date Ian, but things just never work out, and of course there is Justina herself, trying to read more into things than really are there. But with the help of the stoner Brians and their dates, she finally gets back with Ian and she gets her happy ending.
    This is a cute, well written book and it makes Prom fun, even if yours was worse, or way better, its just a fun read and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    AutumnLeaf

    Claws in the dirt. "Yeah...well, you made the right decisions. Probably." She lept into a tree. (I will probably be on a bit less than when i used to, cuz my ma took my nook back and i switched it out for mine ((the shop broke on mine)) so yeah. Ramen noodles taste good.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Oh my gosh, it¿s been a long time since I¿ve read a romance wher

    Oh my gosh, it’s been a long time since I’ve read a romance where I couldn’t wait for the two main characters to just fall in love and get on with it. Justina and Ian are definitely going to be added to my “Top Ten Book Couples of 2013” list. This has been an incredibly fun book to read, and I love the way in which it was written and how the story unfolds through each stain on Justina’s prom dress and every bruise and injury on her body.

     First of all I really love the cover. It’s colorful and eye-catching, but mostly it shows the dress which forms a fundamental part of the story, in its exact style and color. Justina feels like a blueberry and Oompa Loompa in this dress with its matching blue corsage and blue dyed shoes, and looking at the cover I’m bound to agree with her. Justina is such a lovely character, but her self-doubt and assumptions were slightly bothersome from time to time. Nevertheless, by the middle of the book it made complete sense why she is the way she is and I have to hand it to this girl: she endured each blow with dignity. If I was ridiculed by two of the most popular girls, the zip of my prom dress ripped off, been bitten by a three-legged Chihuahua named Chomper, and unwillingly been kissed by Dan-O the Man-O whose dad accidentally spilled a bowl of soy sauce on my dress, I would’ve cracked like an egg in no time.

    Ian was undoubtedly my favorite character. He is all-out boyfriend material, and because I liked Justina and fell in love with Ian, I was rooting for this friends-to-lovers couple all the way. They just couldn’t seem to be in the same spot at the same time, and their prom night ended being an incredibly hilarious, but also sentimental journey not only for Justina, Ian, Donna (the self-proclaimed cougar), Gilda (the shop assistant at the 7-Eleven), the two stoner Mikes with their girlfriends Serenity and Bliss, but also for the reader who gets tagged along on Justina’s numerous quests in finding Ian, who disappeared without an explanation.

    Ditched is a quirky, feel-good romantic comedy which, while reading it, can make you believe that there is such a thing as “the perfect love”. It had such a cheesy, clichéd, typically romcom-movie ending, but it was perfect. I wouldn’t have written it differently. I’m not a fan of romance books, so the mere fact that I enjoyed this book so much I couldn’t put it down until I’ve devoured the last chapter, speaks volumes about what a terrific read this is! I assure you it is as awesome as the beautiful cover promises it would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Amazing

    This is amazing , i love this book i can kinda relat to Justina cuz i always asume the worst of things. But this book is great every one will love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Couldn't Put it Down

    A very cute and funny read. This book was wonderful from start to finish. There wasn't a dull moment. I couldn't put the book down because I kept wonder what was going to happen next. When Justina is piecing together her prom night at 7-Eleven with Gilda and Donna stain by stain I couldn't help but laugh. You can't put the book down because you just have to know where that next stain came from and where the french fry looking bruise came from on her leg. I love that each chapter pertains to a different stain on Justina's dress complete with pictures of said stain. The relationship between Ian and Justina is adorable. They are best friends and seem to know everything about each other. He knows when her blood sugar is getting low and she is in need of a peanut butter cookie and she knows every facial expression he has and exactly what they mean. But could there be more than just friendship there? Nobody seems to really know. Hands down Ditched is and AWESOME novel. I highly recommend this book. You won't regret picking it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Amazing Author

    Robin Mellom is an outstanding author. The book is quirky, clever, and fun. The storyline is very entertaining, with lovable characters and a not-quite-believable but hilarious plot. Justina has a sass to her that is very hard to put into words; the fact that an adult is able to capture the spirit of a teenager is astonishing. Ditched; A Love Story is one of the best books I have read in a long time. If you are looking for a book that will leave you asking for more, then this is the novel you've been looking for!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great Book!

    This book was great! I loved it! I would recommend this to anyone who loves a love story (considering that is in the title). It really shows that no matter how bad things can get they could get better. I am looking forward to Robin Mellom's next book. This was a really good read, thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1