Customer Reviews for

The Diva Cooks a Goose (Domestic Diva Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good holiday cozy mystery

    It's Christmas and Sophie Winston is spending the holiday with her family. When she arrives at her brother George's house, she learns a thief has stolen all their presents from under the tree. As it turns out, the neighbors' presents were also stolen. Sophie finds herself involved in another case as she tries to track down the thief and salvage Christmas.

    The Domestic Diva is one of my favorite cozy series. Like previous novels, the author introduces the readers to many characters, but thankfully a list of characters is noted at the beginning of the book in case one needs a reminder. They mystery moves quickly and the author throws in several twists to hide the killer's identity until the end of the novel. I'm looking forward to reading the fifth book, The Diva Haunts the House.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    This was a wonderful holiday gift!

    I loved The Diva Cooks a Goose. Boy did this book put me in a festive mood for the holidays! I could just taste Sophie's delicious treats! Merry Christmas Krista - please write more of these wonderful stories!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    I continue to enjoy these 'Diva' books. This time the story cen

    I continue to enjoy these 'Diva' books. This time the story centers around stolen Christmas presents within Sophie's neighborhood. Also, someone is murdered and Sophie finds herself running a charity auction.

    As in all the 'Diva' books, there are delicious receipts at the end of the book. The description of them within the book, sends me to snacking while I read! The addition of pet dogs and cats add much humor and lightness to these mysteries.

    Unfortunately, I missed the great bantering between Sophie and Natasha that has been the hallmark of this series. I also missed the continuing love interest between Sophie and Officer Wolf. Lastly, I did not feel the Christmas atmosphere as much as I might have expected. But the mystery was spot on!!

    So, though I truly enjoyed this fourth Diva book, I hope book five sees Krista Davis return to some of the elements that make her books such a winning series. Definitely recommend this series, but be sure to begin with book one---The Diva Runs Out Of Thyme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Delightful!

    I started reading this line of book because they were mysteries and offered recipes at the end. I found myself more interested in the story than in the recipes. All the characters turned out to people you could like and care about, the sign of a good story. I would recommend this to anyone who likes mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Fantastic Series. A Must Read!

    I have read this entire series and love, love, love it. Krista Davis is a wonderful story teller. The characters are wonderfully eccentric and Old Town Alexandria comes to life in vivid color. A fun, fast paced mystery with lots of twists and turns. Once I start reading I can not put it down. I am looking forward to the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This series just keeps getting better!

    I love this series more with every installment. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Fun series

    This is an enjoyable series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    COZY SUPERCHARGED!!

    The key characters in this series are Sophie and Natasha. Natasha happens to be the girlfriend of Sophie's ex-husband Mars (short for Marshall) and they each offer us wonderful household tips from their syndicated newspaper columns at the start of each chapter.

    This book revolves around the Christmas Season and brings all the families and neighbors together. All is cherry and bright until a Grinch steals all of the Christmas presents from one neighborhood as all the neighbors are gathered for the annual holiday celebration. They even took the food. Sophie tries to stem the neighbors from turning against each other as they try to figure out who is responsible and she succeeds in getting them to work together to come up with toys so the children have gifts in the morning.

    One crisis down, another arises when Sophie's sister-in-law's father shows up at a family gathering with a diva all his own. He and his wife had only been separated for a very short time and this guest's arrival does not sit well with anyone at all. When the new diva becomes victim of some well thought out foul play, Sophie's relatives of course considered prime suspects. Sophie's detective boyfriend in out of town visiting his parents so it's up to Sophie to save the holidays.

    First of all I apologize for the tardiness of this review. Life some times get in the way of best laid plans.

    This is such a fun series and the last book had more adventure that most series have in all the books together. It was definitely hard to put down. There were so many people that could have committed both the robberies and the murder that it truly came down to the very last chapter before all the clues came together to provide all the answers to nab the criminals. Sophie put it all together literally in the "nick" of time before her "goose" was literally cooked and she almost had her sister baked too.

    This was the perfect mystery, every time you thought you had it figured out another clue sent you in another direction. It was not only well written, but wonderfully staged and plotted. The new characters added a whole new dimension to this story, I hope some of them reappear in future editions, especially Ginger.

    I have to mention the pets that add the important feature necessary in every great mystery, including this one. Daisy, the dog with the keen senses of smell, hearing and the ability to know the good guys from the creeps :). Mochie, the cat with the attitude and the knack of knowing just when to pounce and when to just walk away. Plus the two little ragdoll kittens, Alice and Jasper, cute, cuddly and key to some clues in the mystery.

    To say this book is full of "mystery and mayhem" is a understatement. This story is beyond a little chaos and clues, it takes the cozy mystery to a whole new realm and I enjoyed every minute of it and can't wait for more.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received these books free from Berkley Prime Crime, a Division of Penguin Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Christmas installment to the diva series

    In this installment it is fun to read more about Sophie's adventures. I found myself researching more about Ragdoll kittens. Now that I have, I wished that some more of their background had been incorporated into the story some how. This is a fun and delightful read. Especially if you had enjoyed the previous Diva books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Anaother winner!

    Another delightful release in this fun series. Fast-paced plotting, charming characters and skillful plotting make this one of my favorite series. Krista Davis is a master storyteller, be sure to put this on your wish list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2