Customer Reviews for

The Diva Runs Out of Thyme (Domestic Diva Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    Great culinary mystery!

    Krista Davis serves up a delightful read with this faced-paced, fun, and scrumptious first mystery. Between eccentric neighbors, quirky relatives, and a hunky cop who thinks she just might be a killer, domestic diva Sophie Winston definitely has her work cut out for her. And if she doesn¿t figure out who the killer is soon, she might find herself sporting a decidedly unfashionable prison-orange jump suit! I¿m anxiously looking forward to the next book in this mouth-watering series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    well written and engaging on many levels. A real treat. I'm looking forward to reading the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    New author for me

    Read this book and the next in the series "The Diva Takes The Cake" back to back. Really enjoyed both of them. Loved the main characters and their different approaches to catering and the "Martha Stewart" like character is really a hoot. The mystery in both books was clever and I did not figure it out until they revealed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2014

    Fun read!

    What a fun read! I never did figure out the really bad guy! I will be anxious for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    This is one of my favorite cozy mystery series. Mix in the holi

    This is one of my favorite cozy mystery series. Mix in the holidays, a cooking competition, zany family characters and a murder or two and you have a great first book in a fantastic series. It is fast-paced, fun and full of quirky characters. Sophie Winston is funny and intelligent. I loved the swirl of activity intermixed in the plot. Added to the mix is Natasha, Sophie's childhood rival. She is irritating yet likeable and married to Sophie's ex-husband. This is a great cozy mystery with a well developed plot and plenty of fun characters. I have read the second book in this series which is just as good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Thanksgiving is just around the corner and Sophie is preparing t

    Thanksgiving is just around the corner and Sophie is preparing to host her family for dinner, as well as participate in a stuffing baking contest. Off to the store for her groceries, she has an encounter with a strange man who wants her to adopt an unwanted kitten.  Sophie's mind is on the impending events, so she refuses the adorable kitty, but has a change of heart in the store.  When she leaves, she searches out the man and his kitty.  Fortunately, she finds the kitty in it's box, but unfortunate she also finds the man, dead, in the dumpster!!

    Problems multiply from here on out!!  Sophie's parents have added a few guests to her dinner list, Sophie's ex husband and his new girlfriend, Natasha amongst them.  Sophie and Natasha had been childhood girlfriends, but competition between them for everything in their lives caused a real split.  Natasha runs an advice column for super-perfection 'hostess with the mostess' answers to fan's mail.  She was also competing with Sophie in the upcoming stuffing competition. A few other unusual people are added to the guest list too.  But the final addition is the handsome Detective Wolf, who seems to have Sophie at the top of his murder suspect list.  

    Each chapter is headed by a question to either Natasha or Sophie.  The answers alone would sell this book for me.  The mystery, humor, and romance is enhanced with recipes for all us 'foodie' readers.  Fortunately, this is a winning first book in Krista Davis' Diva series.  Can't wait to get my teeth into the next few books she's already 'cooked up' for her readers.  Not to be missed for cozy foodie readers!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Awesomr

    Fun quick to read. Characters fun & I love Sophie & her adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    I love this series. It is a well crafted mystery, with some nic

    I love this series. It is a well crafted mystery, with some nice jabs at the Martha Stewart wanna-bes. I highly recommend it. Lots of fun, and great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Read this book

    I can not believe how happy I am to have started this series. I bought the whole series at once and jumped right in. Sophie is my new bff. Old Towne as the setting is perfect. Thank you Krista for a wonderful series I look forward to a long wonderful relationship with Sophie and the rest of the wacky residents of Old Towne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I love these characters!

    This is the first in a series. I will continue with the rest. This is not your typical amature sluth story, but one where the main character is a suspect. Oh, this is also a super cozy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Very good read.

    good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Great Read

    I have found a new author. Look forward to reading more of Krista Davis. I found the book a great read, didn't want to put it down. When finished wanted more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    Great read, kept me up at night!

    Timing was perfect, this story takes place over Thanksgiving, which we have just been through. I felt like the story was unfolding down the street. Fun read, great recipes and characters and furry friends too! I will definitely read the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Event planner Sophie Winston and lifestyle columnist, TV celebrity Natasha Smith have been rivals since childhood. And now Natasha is living with Sophie¿s ex and coveting Sophie¿s house, which belonged to her ex¿s deceased aunt. Sophie has a busy Thanksgiving planned, with her mother, father, sister and sister¿s fiancé coming to visit. But things get off to a bumpy start from the get-go, when Sophie discovers the dead body of a private investigator in a dumpster. She quickly becomes a suspect when the police find her name and photo inside the dead man¿s car. Sophie engages in some amateur sleuthing and learns Natasha hired the PI. If that isn¿t bad enough, dead bodies keep turning up, all with a connection to Sophie and Natasha. On top of which, Sophie is attracted to the detective who seems convinced she¿s a murderer. <BR/><BR/>The first book in the Domestic Diva series starts the ball rolling with a glorified bang. This cozy mystery delivers a plethora of useful household tips and mouth-watering recipes immersed within a keep-you-guessing plot filled with suspicious-acting characters and twists and turns around every corner. Davis¿s smart writing style and engaging characters are sure to garner fans anxious to read future books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Krista Davis provides an enjoyable whodunit starring THE DIVA RUNS OUT OF THYME

    Sophie Winston and Natasha Smith have known each other for years as friendly acquaintances who seemed to always compete against each other. Both write food columns for differing newspapers. Sophie¿s is down to earth with simplicity as the idea while Natasha¿s are sophisticated almost works of art. While going to a grocer, a man asks Sophie if she wants a cat she says no but changes her mind.---------------- She sees the cat by a dumpster. When she goes over to look she sees inside a corpse. The police find her name and number on the victim so coupled with her reporting the body she becomes a person of interest. At the Stupendous Stuffing Shakedown Contest, the sponsor Simon Greer asks her for a date and when she goes to find him after she turned him down, she sees him dead bashed in by the Turkey trophy. The same detective catches both cases he thinks Sophie is a killer using the ploy of finding corpses to throw off the scent or she is a bad luck innocent. Sophie wants her record cleared so she is helped by her family and friends on her investigation before she ends up reviewing prison cuisine.-------------- ¿Sugar and spice¿ is not as Sophie should know the omen for the week that begins with the ingredients for her entry turn up missing. Two murders later, one peeping Tom, and the police make for a harrowing week except Sophie has one thing going for her: she is alive although at a breaking point. She suspects everyone and can¿t relax for a moment out of fear of dining on jailhouse food or being the third victim. Although a food reporter going sleuthing is hard to swallow even if circumstantially she fears the cops will give her the FBI anthrax treatment Krista Davis provides an enjoyable whodunit starring THE DIVA RUNS OUT OF THYME.------------ Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2