Customer Reviews for

Divas, Inc.

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This is an excellent book filled with all the things we rarely hear in novels today but would like to. Though this character Margeret Drew needs a cofidence boost, she is still adamant at being herself which is what being a DIVA is all about. It is a overall good read i...
This is an excellent book filled with all the things we rarely hear in novels today but would like to. Though this character Margeret Drew needs a cofidence boost, she is still adamant at being herself which is what being a DIVA is all about. It is a overall good read in my opinion because it gives us somethings to laugh and cry about. '2Thumbs Up! and praise for Donna Hill. Keep doing ya thang gurl!'

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

couldn't get through it

Picked up this book b/c it sounded fun. Kind of ridiculous. The publisher's summary is even wrong, these two 'divas' were never friends with the main character, they just used her. After reading the diva book, the main character turns into a witch. She kept referring ...
Picked up this book b/c it sounded fun. Kind of ridiculous. The publisher's summary is even wrong, these two 'divas' were never friends with the main character, they just used her. After reading the diva book, the main character turns into a witch. She kept referring to Victoria as a real person. I'm not going to tell you what it really is. After reading the 1st paragraph on page 81 (made no sense), I resolved to quit reading if it didn't get much better. It was immediately after the Twinkie Willy thing that I quit the book, which I rarely do. Ms. Hill should not quit her librarian day job.

posted by Anonymous on July 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is an excellent book filled with all the things we rarely hear in novels today but would like to. Though this character Margeret Drew needs a cofidence boost, she is still adamant at being herself which is what being a DIVA is all about. It is a overall good read in my opinion because it gives us somethings to laugh and cry about. '2Thumbs Up! and praise for Donna Hill. Keep doing ya thang gurl!'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    Loved It

    The book is a page turner. Highly recommended. Characters are definitely someone that the reader can relate to. The protaganist speaks directly to the reader. You will go through the emotions and drama that she faces when you read Divas Inc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    D For Divas, Drama, and Delicious!

    This book has one of the most creative storylines I have ever read!! I could not put it down and read it all in one afternoon. The dialogue is 'reader-friendly' and invites you to come along for a very wild, divalicious, dramatic ride! Every woman aspires (or wishes) to be a Tiffany or Chantal when the reality is that most of us are Margarets and it is this issue of trying to be/pose as someone else that really hits home. In today's media obsessed society where role models are along the dysfunctional/artificial (and very airbrushed) lines of J-Lo, Beyonce, Pamela Anderson, and Top Model -- women especially have the tendency to think that the Platinum limit or Prada heel is higher on the other side but Margaret's experience shows that sometimes the best person you can be is -- yourself!! There are many other themes at play including self esteem/awareness, image, confidence, real vs artificial beauty, materialism/gold digging vs independence/ambition, personal success vs the appearance/illusion of, true happiness vs achieved or prescribed happiness/status, and ideal husbands/wedding fantasies vs lifetime mates -- Hill is genius at getting to the root of all of them. Hill also examines the notion of friendship -- why we invite people into our lives and allow them to stay even when they are no longer a fit. The ending is an absolute show stopper!! The characters sparkle and are hilarious right down to the dog and if you look closely -- you may find all of these people in yourself or your life. Truly delightful, hilarious, and ensightful read -- take it with you to the beach, add some mimosas and enjoy!! Great summer (or anytime) read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    page turner!!!!

    this was one of the best donna hill books i've read in a while...... thank you miss hill,i can relate to this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    Wonderful

    This book was wonderful. It will make you scream and laugh out loud. This book took me 1 day to read. It is truly a book only a diva could handle. An excellent read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    A SUPREMELY DIVALICIOUS READ!!!

    Donna Hill has done it again. Going off the beaten track of her usual romance novels, Ms Hill introduces us to Tiffany, Chantel, and Margaret. Tiffany, Chantel and Margaret have been friends since their early ¿bassinet¿ days. While Tiffany and Chantel have always been obsessed with being one of the smartest, the best dressed and the most popular, Margaret has always been considered to be the plain-Jane reliable friend. As their friendship progresses over the years, Tiffany and Chantel become true divas. Margaret stays 'good ol¿' reliable Margaret until she is left behind while they go on a fabulous 6-week vacation to Europe. Entrusting Margaret to look after both of their apartments and Tiffany¿s snooty dog Virginia, Margaret stumbles upon the world of Divadom. ¿So this is how the so called other half lives¿, thinks Margaret. This is the kind of lifestyle she has only read about; now Margaret begins to live a double life. Opting to fulfill her curiosity, Margaret begins to help herself to their boyfriends, cars, clothes and makeup. Trying to juggle her regular routine of visiting an eccentric grandmother, a domineering mother and Tiffany¿s nosy neighbor Wayne, proves to be more than Margaret can handle. Her double life begins to catch up with her and after all is said and done, Margaret may have bitten off more than she can chew. Ms. Hill has written a savvy, whimsical novel of a woman that if we don¿t know someone like her, we ourselves have been in her shoes at one time or another. Not in its entirety, but there¿s a little bit of Margaret in all of us. Kudos to Ms. Hill for providing her loyal as well as new readers with an upbeat, funny novel that will leave you laughing to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1