Customer Reviews for

The Dive from Clausen's Pier

Average Rating 3.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Worthy Novel

I loved reading all the reviews for this book because it elicits such strong opinions from people. My mom recommended this book to me not because she absolutely loved it but because she wanted someone to discuss it with. Now THAT makes it a worthy book--not whether yo...
I loved reading all the reviews for this book because it elicits such strong opinions from people. My mom recommended this book to me not because she absolutely loved it but because she wanted someone to discuss it with. Now THAT makes it a worthy book--not whether you loved the main character or whether it ends nice and neatly. Read Nicholas Sparks if you want that kind of story. Although I didn't like Carrie or agree with half of her decisions (she made me so mad sometimes and don't even get me started on Kilroy), I still enjoyed the book. This is a well-written novel that shows how messy life really is, how some people deal with tragedy, and how people are capable of doing very hurtful things.

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Kind of leaves you hanging..

It was a good book..but left a lot unfinished.

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    Kind of leaves you hanging..

    It was a good book..but left a lot unfinished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    Great Book Club Pick

    'The Dive From Clausen's Pier' starts off slow but gets rocking. There are complicated issues discussed in this book, as well as relationships and questions about obligations and expectations vs. doing whats right for you. Carrie, the main character, must go through all she does in the book to be on her way to disover who she is. The book was great and it was a wonderful discussion with my book group which made me like it even more when I was able to see things in book differently and consider different aspects of Carrie's life. The book is great, but I do not recommend the Lifetime movie...it leaves out essential aspects of the book, such as the importance of sewing in Carrie's life, a thread throughout the book and symbolic of her emotional development. The movie is alot different, if I saw the movie first I wouldnt have wanted to read the book and that would be an injustice! The book is good, check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Suddenly Everything Has Changed

    I think everyone can relate to this book in the sense that we all want to be something more than what we are, but really we don't want to leave the comfort of our current lives. Carrie Bell (the main character) takes the courageous step of going after something more for herself in the wake of a near death accident to a loved one. Author Ann Packer has you switching from feelings of hate and disgust to feelings of sympathy for Carrie Bell. Don't expect everything to end up in a nice package.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Well written book

    I really felt that this book was well written and it had that special something that made you compelled to get to the end. The unfortunate thing about this book, is that the main character Carrie is not likable enough to get you to really care for her. I don't expect the main characters in books to always be great,sweet,flawless, human beings, on the contrary I don't like that at all. But, I felt like Carrie was very annoying and she lacked that certain something that made us want to care for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    Okay.... But NOT GREAT

    SLOW STARTER book, it was ok, but by the time I finished it, I was exhausted and Wanted there to be a DIFFERENT ENDING... That's just me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2003

    Lite and Safe

    This is about a woman in her early 20's who tries to determine who she is and what she wants. Just as she is falling out of love with her fiance, he has an accident and becomes disabled. Does she owe it to her fiance to stay, or can she pursue her dreams and leave her small town. There is some suspense in the book which kept me interested. However, the rest of the characters seemed to be stereotyped, incomplete, and too safe. Some character's names are fine for a little kid, but too silly for an adult. Also, the ending of the book was very very disappointing. I wanted to see myself in the main character and could not. I read this book in a week. I prefer something with more of a challenge and more complicated characters. I wish the author had taken more chances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    I'm Waiting for the Sequel

    I know life isn't made up of situations tied up all neat and tidy, but given the personalities involved in this book, I can't believe this is the end of their story. I'll be waiting to hear more about the main characters -- I hope at least some of the challenges each faces are resolved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    Frustrated by the ending

    A beautifully written book that was a real page-turner, but frustrating in the end. I felt like I was dropped in at the beginning of a real person's story, but dropped at the end without a satisfying conclusion. There is a conclusion, but it's not satisfying. Perhaps that's what she (the author) was after, trying to get you into Carrie's shoes and realizing that Carrie's life continues long after this book ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    Not what I wanted

    I picked up the book and began to read it with enthusiasm, but it fell short quickly. Of course, I always finish what I start, but Carrie seemed flat and unavailable to the reader. Mike never seemed real, and her friend, Jaime, just flittered in and out of the book with no real intentions. I did, however, admire Mrs. Packers ability to write from Carrie's view point, a skill honed by few, but felt as if it was contrived. She tried to hard to show us everything, when in fact, half the book was unnecessary description. I am looking forward to her next book, as her ideas are quite wonderful. I just hope the next one is better planned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    What Happened?!

    Although I find myself not being able to avoid reading the novel, the ending was a terrible disappointment. I understood Carrie's motives, her reasons, her feelings, but I wished her situation wasn't so complicated. It took an ACCIDENT just to realize what she was missing; what terrible timing! I didn't feel like I was reading a book of modern times, but it seem to sound like one, maybe a decade earlier, 1990's. I wished she could have had it all, but then again, the book would have turn to a different direction-kind of bland and ordinary. Would she turn out to be successful in the end? I think it's best to leave the novel as it is, and avoid conjuring up a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Interesting, but not great

    As I read the book I could identify with Carrie, but I do not think she should give up her life to make someone else happy. In NYC she was very much in love, in a very sexual relationship, and starting to find a true career in fashion design. Yet, she returns to Madison to be stifled in a loveless, sexless relationship as a caretaker and seamstress. How can that be good for any of the three main characters-- Carrie, Mike, or Kilroy? Can her 'duty' last or will she become so overwhelmed she will leave again? I don't believe in 'guilt'; she has a right to have a life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    Good Book...

    IT is a very good book but it leaves you with wanting more and why did she do what she did. I am hoping there is a sequel to the book. The author left to much unanswered. Overall I enjoyed the book but found the ending a little uneasy..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2