Customer Reviews for

The Dive from Clausen's Pier

Average Rating 3.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Worthy Novel

I loved reading all the reviews for this book because it elicits such strong opinions from people. My mom recommended this book to me not because she absolutely loved it but because she wanted someone to discuss it with. Now THAT makes it a worthy book--not whether yo...
I loved reading all the reviews for this book because it elicits such strong opinions from people. My mom recommended this book to me not because she absolutely loved it but because she wanted someone to discuss it with. Now THAT makes it a worthy book--not whether you loved the main character or whether it ends nice and neatly. Read Nicholas Sparks if you want that kind of story. Although I didn't like Carrie or agree with half of her decisions (she made me so mad sometimes and don't even get me started on Kilroy), I still enjoyed the book. This is a well-written novel that shows how messy life really is, how some people deal with tragedy, and how people are capable of doing very hurtful things.

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Kind of leaves you hanging..

It was a good book..but left a lot unfinished.

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    A Worthy Novel

    I loved reading all the reviews for this book because it elicits such strong opinions from people. My mom recommended this book to me not because she absolutely loved it but because she wanted someone to discuss it with. Now THAT makes it a worthy book--not whether you loved the main character or whether it ends nice and neatly. Read Nicholas Sparks if you want that kind of story. Although I didn't like Carrie or agree with half of her decisions (she made me so mad sometimes and don't even get me started on Kilroy), I still enjoyed the book. This is a well-written novel that shows how messy life really is, how some people deal with tragedy, and how people are capable of doing very hurtful things.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I ended up really really enjoying this book! The summary actually didn't sound too great when I first picked it up, but I ended up loving it. It is a sweet and complex tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    i loved this book so much that i re-read it right after i finish

    i loved this book so much that i re-read it right after i finished it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Love

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Definitely Worth a Read

    Despite the fact that some readers cannot move beyond the fact that Carrie is selfish and did an 'awful' thing, I believe 'The Dive from Clausen's Pier' is a triumph that tells the story of a protagonist who is a human being in the most raw, real sense of the word. Indeed, Carrie is fundamentally flawed. In my opinion, this makes her a character who is accessible to any reader who understands the depth and complexities of the human condition. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to question what it means to be a 'decent' and 'real' human being, for ultimately, this book poses this muddied question to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2006

    Real Life

    I found this book to be very true to life in alot of instances. Most of the time it is easier to run from the terrifying unknown, especially when you didn't ask for it to begin with. Hide someplace where the past can't find us. But, in real life as in this book, the past always eventually catches up with us. And we finally realize as did Carrie, that we have to face our past before we can move wholeheartedly into any kind of real future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Good read

    I thought this book was good although I found the ending to be anti-climactic. I couldn't decide whether to hate the main character or to love her. I found her to be very brave and she followed her heart and did what was right for her, even though it seemed a cold hearted choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    an open-minded opinion

    I enjoyed this book and agree with Carrie Bell's decisions. I feel that staying with her fiance would have been lying to him and to herself. She wanted to leave and find herself way before he dove off the pier. If they had gotten married anyway she would have dreamed of what she could have had and not even love him. She would have been unfair to them both. She needed to leave and find herself first. She didn't need to be with him out of pitty and didn't need to rush into another relationship with the other guy. She needed to follow her dreams and her heart and one day settle down with the right man,whomever that may be, and love them and love herself. I would rather someone marry me out of love than pitty. I think she made the right decisions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    A real story in a world of fake ones....

    This was a good book, plain and simple. It's not meant to leave you with a warm and fuzzy feeling---in fact, it leaves you wanting more---wanting to know what happens to Carrie and Mike later in life. To those who think the plot is not feasible---have you ever tried dealing with a difficult situation like the one in this book? Everyone says they would be there for the long haul, but that's simply too easy to say and hard to do. The book leaves a lot of questions unanswered, but that is the beauty of it---not having everything laid out in black and white!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    Really Good

    I read A LOT and rather liked this book. I wasn't sure how well the author would handle the premise, but I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    No Neat Package Adds Up to Good Reading

    I am a book-lover and someone married for years to a man with chronic disabilities. I liked this book, and I ended up liking Carrie Bell. For me, there was something so human about her vagueness (her shrugs and ¿I don¿t know¿ responses) and torn-ness between different lives and different kinds of love. I didn¿t interpret the ending as Carrie leaving an exciting, adventure-filled life in Manhattan for a dull, sexless existence in Wisconsin¿.I saw her more as having learned something about herself, returning to home and longtime friends with a new awareness of her own ¿ and their ¿ complexity and potential for growth, despite the seeming ¿sameness¿ of things. I liked the author¿s presentation of Carrie¿s changed perception of Mike as someone that she could continue to learn new things about, as she watched him cope with the new conditions of his life¿And recognize that Kilroy, part and parcel of world¿s most sophisticated and opportunity-filled place, was in some sense ¿stuck¿ and unable to move on¿and her very real love for each.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    A great read!

    I found this book to be incredible. It captured my attention and I could hardly put the book down. It was a great depiction of a girl trying to break free, only to realize that that alot what she had was really what she wanted all along. More often than not someone must branch away to figure out their lives. This book was very enjoyable and I reccomend it. My only issue is that I feel as though people in their twenties would find the book much more enjoyable than anyone older might. The entire book is based around characters that are 23 years old and are just getting engaged and graduating from college. I think that the reason I enjoyed the book so much was because I could relate to the characters and what was going on in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    The type of book everyone should read

    Although 'The Dive from Clausen's Pier' was not the best novel I have ever read, I did enjoy it. This novel is the type of novel that makes you think about life and how it can crumble before your eyes in a single second. When I first read the inside flap of this novel, I knew I wanted to read it.This novel deals with a younger couple having to deal with a tradgic accident. Accidents happen but it's how we deal with them that shows our true character. I definatly think Carrie Bell (this novel's protagonist) showed her true colors. At times I hated her but at times I had the utmost respect for her. If you have not read this book it is definatly worth a read, if you have read this book read it again and make sure to put yourself in Carrie's shoes. Making that comparison and really thinking about it makes the novel so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    FRIENDSHIP IS A POWERFUL FORCE

    This was a great book. Really made me think and I just couldnt wait to find out what Carrie Bell decided to do with her life. The challenges she faced were very thought provoking. Friendship is a very power force in her life. It was the first time in a long time that I was so tempted to just flip to the end to find out what was going to happen. The last 100 pages I read in one night. Ann Packer definitely has a way with words and is very descriptive in her writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    Liked the book, hated the protagonist

    This was the first book I have read where I liked the book, but didn't like the main character. Although I found her incredibly selfish, I thought her willingness to say what no one else would was fantastic. The honesty of the character made her very real. I liked the fact that I found it hard to forgive her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    I Loved this book

    I really enjoyed this book. I really feel like I got to know the main character and feel what she was feeling. The ending was not what I wanted but it was still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2003

    A lovely book

    Ann Packer sets down her tale with care and precision. Unlike some reviewers here, I think the ending is perfect, astonishingly so. Carrie comes to rest in herself, as much as a human being can, though there will always be shreds of herself left behind by her actions. The year has come full circle and there are possibilities before her. Not the ones she once expected, but that is true of life. She is back with the circle of people who are truly hers. It is a tighter circle, but a more sound one. She can move forward with what she has gained, and I think she will. When I finished the book and set it down, I could feel myself vibrating, it was so resonant. I was still for the longest time afterward, as though I¿d just gone through a real-life passage. I haven¿t been able to shake the effects yet, a day later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    Couldn't Put It Down!

    I really could not put this book down. I was pulled right in to Carrie's world and felt like I traveled along sider her through the story. At times I was sad for her, happy for her and even angery AT her. But the whole time I trusted where she would take us. Wonderful book, Highly Recomended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    Great Book!

    This is a great book- the cover alone brought me in. From the time I started reading the first page- I couldnt put the book down. Im not much of a reader, Im actually starting to try to read... this book hooked me. I didnt want to put it down. Its so easy to fall in love with the characters- to feel the pain of Mike, to truly understand what Carrie is going through- and at the end, you feel great. This book was amazing from, start- to middle and to end... Its definately a favorite on my bookshelf!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2003

    Delicious!

    This first novel by Ann Packer was truly consuming. I could not put it down, forever aching to be there as Carrie grew into herself and came to recognize her place in the world. The overriding theme, of responsibility to self vs. responsibility to others, is one that is universal and to which many readers will relate. This novel was just delicious, and I cannot wait for Ann Packer's next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3