Customer Reviews for

Divergent (Divergent Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 8649 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6770)

4 Star

(1130)

3 Star

(355)

2 Star

(123)

1 Star

(271)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

474 out of 539 people found this review helpful.

Stunning!

This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this...
This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this dystopian world she lives in. From beginning to end you find yourself holding your breath in amazement of where this story is taking you. I will be recommending this title to all of my customers!!

posted by me_chelle54 on March 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

120 out of 376 people found this review helpful.

A Warning Before You Waste Your Money

Continuously over the last few months I have head nothing but raves about this book. The next Hunger Games, someone had said, better than the Hunger Games, I was told by someone else. Having read the premise of this book I was not impressed, but surely after so many rav...
Continuously over the last few months I have head nothing but raves about this book. The next Hunger Games, someone had said, better than the Hunger Games, I was told by someone else. Having read the premise of this book I was not impressed, but surely after so many rave reviews and barley any negative this must be an exception novel.

Wrong.

The plot was ill-thought out to the point I was left wondering afterwards if even the author knew truly what 'Divergent' meant. The characters, and I use the term loosely, drastically change to match what is happening in the plot. The author tries to explain why the characters have these dramatic turns, but it seems silly and unbelievable. The main characters constantly confuses strength with bravery, and while Roth acknowledged her character Tris is selfish and ruthless, no one else in the book seems to see this. Tris is constantly told how selfless she is despite there being no evidence to the contrary.

There is nothing to figure out in this book. The 'twists' are so laughable Roth might as well be giving the reader four squares and a circle and hope no one can tell the difference until the end. The romance is one more predictable than that of Twilight, and the writing strays from simple to repetitive.

There is nothing new or refreshing about these characters or this plot, and I think the most exceptional thing about this novel is that it's gotten so far sailing off of the dystopian high the YA genre is on right now.

posted by beforeskylines on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 8670 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 434
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    I LOVE this book, its my new favorite, i don't know how many times i've already re-read it! The characters and the plot were written really well. It was exciting, intense, full of action and it even had some romance mixed in there too. Ms. Roth wrote an awesome first novel! :)

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Not worth the money

    Hearing Divergent's comparisons to the Hunger Games, i must say i expected more from the book. It starts off interestingly enough, and the faction idea seemed fresh and interesting. But as i read on, i saw that divergent is not worth the hype (though i congratulate the author on her success) tris ends up being a "mary sue" of sorts, appearing "plain". But oh, once she gets into dauntless she becomes brave and beautiful! And of course Four falls madly in love with her-- i would expect no less from a cookie cutter heartthrob with a "tragic" past. I could have dealed with the flat characters, dwindling plotline, and cheesy romance if only the ending was good. But it was not. Tris ends up losing many people very close to her (i wont reveal who because of spoilers) unnecessarily. The book, like a lot of YA these days, ends on a cliffhanger. This book left such a bad taste in my mouth that theres no way im purchasing the second book. If i do read it, i may just borrow it from a lendme or library. Its not worth the money. I don't understand all the hype for this series at all. I juat hope that readers will be able to move on to another book with stronger charactera and compelling storytelling. (If you havent read the hunger games already....) i think the people comparing the hunger games to divergent and tris to katniss need to really rethink thwir choice of literature.

    16 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    I havent read it yet so please excuse my rating...

    Is this book good enough for a 13 year old girl?I havent read the hunger games yet so im wondering what the age group is? Is this good?

    15 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Confused

    Ok. I do not say this in disrespect to Roth, or to disregard those who enjoy the book Divergent. Honestly, I did not enjoy it. It had content that did not agree with me. I agree with one who said that what has bravery got to do with getting tatoos and the like. I thought that this was a very worldly book, and so I almost stopped reading it when she mentioned God, the true creator of the universe. My thoughts were "How can this be? It makes no sense to have all this worldly content, and yet mention God?" I did read it to the end, but did not enjoy it. I am sad to say that it did not agree with me. I am a Christian, and that content was not edifying, nor assuring. Such things IS what we are headed towards, however. If you are a Christian, I do not think that this is the book for you. Any of you, really. In my opinion, it taints yourself, and the worst parts of the book you can never forget. Please, read it if you will, but "As for me and my house, we will serve the LORD!"
    "For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ!" If you wish to know who I am, I will give you my first name, and the name of my church.
    Name: Madeline
    Church: Forest Meadow Baptist Church

    15 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Divergent

    It is an adventure within a love story trapped with things you would never believe!!!! I live for Divergent!!!!

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    One of the biggest things people said about it before I bought i

    One of the biggest things people said about it before I bought it was that it was similar to Hunger Games. Let me share that my family has not read the Hunger Games series, nor seen the movies so I cannot compare the two, except in what I have heard.

    With that said, here are my thoughts and opinions based on the fact that I only read ONE-THIRD of the book…yes, that is correct…I did NOT finish the book. My reasons for that are shared throughout this post.

    Let me start with a small amount of personal background. I was raised in a non-Christian, highly dysfunctional family. I have had a lot of negative in my life. But to my relief, the Lord saved me just before my 30th birthday. I have seen, personally, the changes that can happen to a person based on their thought life.

    Let me say that not all of what I have read of this book is bad. There are many things that could easily compare to today’s society and many things that could be discussed as a family. These are similar to what I heard people saying about Hunger Games. HOWEVER, IN MY OPINION, this book has a very negative undertone…which are the main thoughts and feelings that are felt while reading the book.

    Yes, it is very well written and you want to continue reading because you are hoping good wins over evil. However, once I put the book down (after reading for quite some time) and what I had read had time to sink in – I felt disgusted at what I had been reading. So, with that, I decided I did not want to continue reading to finish the book.

    Yes, the book has camaraderie and love of family and unconditional love but even more it has to do with doing whatever you want, doing whatever it takes to getting what you want (even beating up your closest friends), winning is the only option regardless of what you have to do to get there. THESE are NOT what we are told in Scripture. Which is my main point…our family tries to change our life to do what we are told in Scripture (not that we are perfect about that IN ANY WAY…but we do try) in all areas of our lives.

    My overall opinion of this book is that it goes against THIS very important verse. This verse has been HUGE in my life for changing my thought life (which in turn has changed the rest of my life). Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

    I am sure that many are rolling their eyes about now but I personally have seen the difference of when I choose to think on negative things compared to when I choose to think about positive things. These things are “small” and seem “insignificant” but then we come to a thing called “desensitization” and well that is an entirely different post in itself.

    I am not here to convince anyone of anything. I am not here to change your thoughts. The Lord is the only One who can do things like that. I am only here to share MY thoughts and opinions. I will not be finishing this book nor will I be reading any of the others in the series.

    Have a wonderfully blessed day!

    14 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Anonymous

    I LOVED the Hunger Games so much and was devestated when i finished them. I was looking for a similar read and found this, i havent bought it yet because im deciding whether to buy this or legend....? Is this like the hunger games, worth reading, and better than legend? Please help! Thanksss!!!(;

    13 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVED this book! It was AMAZING. It does have a hunger games f

    I LOVED this book! It was AMAZING. It does have a hunger games feel but I thought this book was better! I loved the Hunger Games and didn't think I'd find something as unique, interesting or well executed as it was but this book was. The charaters were amazing, the plot was amazing. It blew my mind! You have to read this book you won't regert it! Best book I've read in a long time!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Great read! A definite MUST READ!!!

    FIVE STARS!!! If you are a fan of dsytopian novels i.e, the Hunger Games trilogy, Matched, Crossed, Delirium, you won't be disappointed. It has a bit of everything from romance and drama to fast paced action adventure. For a new author, Roth did a wonderful job in developing the characters and creating the five factioned Chicago society. You, as the reader, become one with the world, engaged by Beatrice, aka Tris. Her voice resonates within us, any reader whether male/female can relate to her inner "emotional" struggles, as well as, her physical challenges she faces during her rites of passage.

    If you loved Catniss Everdeen, Tris, will win you over two fold. I was skeptical about her character when I first read about the book, but once I read it, I found her to be real. She's no superhero, she's no martyr, she's conflicted on many levels, but she makes sense.

    I am really excited for this new young author and I look forward to reading more...

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The next Hunger Games.

    When I read The Hunger Games, I knew I was reading something excellent, inventive, fresh and a story worth continuing. When it became a much merited success, it was only a matter of time before there would be clones written in hopes of cashing in on THG fanfare. A friend asked me to read this novel, I was promised: its size was not a true indicator of how quickly it could be read, and I would enjoy it. The opening pages revealed that I was reading the first in the (soon to be?) flood of “THG wannabes,” the surprising discovery was just how good the story already was. The next 480 pages were to support the openings promise, the finale was too tidy, but laid the ground work for the follow-up in this promised trilogy.
    Beatrice Prior is a 16-year-old member of the Abnegation Faction in a future Chicago after “The Great Peace.” There were five factions [Abnegation (selfless service), Dauntless (bravery), Amity (sustaining peace), Candor (truth telling) and Erudite (learning)] developed after the conflict that caused the world to stop and Chicago to have a fence surrounding it. When an individual turns 16, they are tested for aptitude and then choose what faction they will become – a choice that will determine the remainder of their lives as, in this world, “faction before blood” is taken as law. This book focuses upon “Tris,” the name Beatrice chooses after she selects Dauntless as her faction, as she is trained to be fearless, vicious and everything her Abnegation up-bringing has taught her not to be.
    During the aptitude testing, Tris is revealed to be “divergent,” she does not fit neatly into any of the five factions, rather has abilities in three (erudite, dauntless and abnegation). As her training progresses, she becomes aware that being divergent is something profoundly different and is seen as a danger to the Dauntless faction by its leaders. She is told to keep this knowledge a secret and to work toward it not being revealed in the simulations used as part of dauntless training, if this part of her is revealed it could cost her life. She grows to become the best of her Dauntless initiation class, being inducted into the faction just as a horrific secret plan is unleashed.
    The book is written as a Young Adult novel. As such it contains no sexual situations but is violent in places, albeit not graphically so. I read this lengthy book in less than four days. It is well written, with characters that are sufficiently developed as to cause the reader to care about them, even if they are not nice people. The description of a Chicago after a devastating war is particular enough to identify specific locations while being vague enough for the reader’s imagination to create a world that is frightening in its familiarity.
    The book asks questions of relationships, family, commitment and trust that are firmly rooted in present day existence. The “factions” noted are easily recognized from the daily news, the tensions between them is expected and predictable while not detracting from the story. The climax is expected, the sides are clearly defined, and the anticipation of the second in this series is great. This book succeeded in its launch of a new trilogy.

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    MUST READ-One of my favorite books!

    I could not stop reading this book, I read it in less than 48 hours, you have to read this!

    9 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Amazing!

    Here's a short, sweet, and to the point review:

    Loved it.
    Loved the characters.
    Loved the setting.
    Loved 4
    Loved Tris
    Loved the story
    The plot
    The idea

    Read the book, you will not be disappointed. Read it and you'll love it. You will not put it down. You will not easily forget Divergent.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    ehh its good

    it is a good book and all but i wasnt really that into it if i really like it. i would recomend the maze runner series. i really liked those. i would still read this though if you like acation/adventure

    9 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Quit wasting your time reading reviews and read this book!!!

    I LOVED this book!!! So different and fast paced! Love, love, love....

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Tris and tobias are amazing!!!

    i love this book, but if this is the future...lets just say, we're all screwed :)

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Is human life really this cheap?

    The description of this book didn’t prepare me for the level of violence. I confess that I skimmed many of these scenes throughout most of the book. Just not my cup of tea. Negative atmosphere. Very few likeable characters: self-centered, hateful, and violent. Peer pressure and mob mentality win out. Being "factionless" is a fate worse than death. Sorry, can't support this philosophy.

    8 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Horrible

    The storyline is about as subtle as an atomic bomb and the prptagonist is just as catastrophic. Talk about flat characters and painful teen cliches. The premise was somewhat original and maybe in someone else's hand - you know, someone who understands important things like character development, transition, building suspense, show don't tell, that important stuff - this might have been a book worth reading. But it isn't. Do yourself a favor and do not read it because if you're like me, you will have to buy the second book which has all the other amateur errors of teen dystopian fiction and an even more predictable, cliche, terrible cliffhanger ending.

    7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Wow!!

    Best book I have ever read! One word to describe it: AMAZING!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    ?

    Is it better than the Hunger Ges

    7 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Nope

    Too much like a bad mashup of The Hunger Games and Enders Game. It lacks the depth and social commentary that make both of those books great. The plot is pretty weak, and most of the time it is sacrifced for the sake of a cliche romance. Also, Katniss could wipe the floor with Tris anyday. Just sayin'.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 8670 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 434