Customer Reviews for

Divergent (Divergent Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 9024 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7055)

4 Star

(1176)

3 Star

(374)

2 Star

(136)

1 Star

(283)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

500 out of 566 people found this review helpful.

Stunning!

This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this...
This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this dystopian world she lives in. From beginning to end you find yourself holding your breath in amazement of where this story is taking you. I will be recommending this title to all of my customers!!

posted by me_chelle54 on March 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

125 out of 393 people found this review helpful.

A Warning Before You Waste Your Money

Continuously over the last few months I have head nothing but raves about this book. The next Hunger Games, someone had said, better than the Hunger Games, I was told by someone else. Having read the premise of this book I was not impressed, but surely after so many rav...
Continuously over the last few months I have head nothing but raves about this book. The next Hunger Games, someone had said, better than the Hunger Games, I was told by someone else. Having read the premise of this book I was not impressed, but surely after so many rave reviews and barley any negative this must be an exception novel.

Wrong.

The plot was ill-thought out to the point I was left wondering afterwards if even the author knew truly what 'Divergent' meant. The characters, and I use the term loosely, drastically change to match what is happening in the plot. The author tries to explain why the characters have these dramatic turns, but it seems silly and unbelievable. The main characters constantly confuses strength with bravery, and while Roth acknowledged her character Tris is selfish and ruthless, no one else in the book seems to see this. Tris is constantly told how selfless she is despite there being no evidence to the contrary.

There is nothing to figure out in this book. The 'twists' are so laughable Roth might as well be giving the reader four squares and a circle and hope no one can tell the difference until the end. The romance is one more predictable than that of Twilight, and the writing strays from simple to repetitive.

There is nothing new or refreshing about these characters or this plot, and I think the most exceptional thing about this novel is that it's gotten so far sailing off of the dystopian high the YA genre is on right now.

posted by beforeskylines on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Not so hot.

    After hearing so many rave reviews about this book and how it was so much like the Hunger Games, I was pretty excited.

    Then I read it.

    It's not that great. Not enough development where needed. Good plot, mediocre execution. I disliked the main character who I felt was weak and lacked depth. I also think that she was a sort of 'wannabe' in a way. She does change however the change from weak to 'tough as nails' wasn't quite so believable. I didn't connect. Cheesy romance. Predictable. Quick read.

    For people who liked the Hunger Games, I think some will like it and some will be disappointed like I was.

    For a debut novel, Roth didn't do a horrible job but it was amazing either.

    Bottom line: good not great. Not something that will withstand the test of time. A throw-away, something you'll forget about in a couple of months.

    94 out of 297 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Is human life really this cheap?

    The description of this book didn’t prepare me for the level of violence. I confess that I skimmed many of these scenes throughout most of the book. Just not my cup of tea. Negative atmosphere. Very few likeable characters: self-centered, hateful, and violent. Peer pressure and mob mentality win out. Being "factionless" is a fate worse than death. Sorry, can't support this philosophy.

    8 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Overrated

    Hunger Games, it is not. Total melodrama. Very meh.

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    An enjoyable page turner but a lot of problems.

    I'm not sure what I expected when I bought this book but it was definitely not what I thought it was going to be like. That in itself isn't a bad thing and I wouldn't even mention it except that the book turned out to be something I just didn't like. In Divergent there are 5 factions where the people each hold one trait superior: Abnegation, selflessness, Dauntless, courage, Amity, peace, Erudite, knowledge, Candor, honesty. Whenyou turn 16 you decide what faction you want to be apart of or you can stay in the faction you are born in which is advised unless you want your family to hate you...umm ok... One small thing I had an issue with at the beginning...why was the only time Abnegation could look in the mirror was when their hair was cut? Someone else is cutting their hair. They don't need to see themselves. Since they're so worried about selflessness why not just get rid of mirrors all together! Which brings me to another problem I had with Divergent. I did not like the portrayal of the different traits that made up the different factions. Abnegation who are supposed to be selfless wear ugly clothes and climb the stairs instead of using the elevator. Amity, the peaceful are farmers. Really? If I was a pacifist or something I'd be sort of offended by that... Dauntless, the brave all have tatoos and peircings. Erudite, the wise, all wear glasses and live in a library. I don't remember much about Candor just something about wearing black and white clothes as a symbol of truth and lies or something like that. The reason I have a problem with this is that I feel the author is focusing more on the superficial and stereotypical features of these traits rather than worrying about the true essence of what it is to be brave or selfless. And now on to Beatrice, or excuse me "Tris." I did not like Tris at all and unfortunatley since the story is written from 1st person and in present tense (which I really dislike) I was stuck with her. Other characters kept on telling me that Tris was brave, and selfless and I didn't see that at all. I found Tris cruel, self centered, thrill seeking and just unlikable. I did not find her a "strong female heroine." So about the whole "divergence" thing...If you don't want to be spoiled about what divergent is please skip this part. But trust me when I say it is very anticlamatic.SPOILER ALERT When Tris takes her test it is discovered that she is not suited for 1 faction like most people, she is suited for 3!(if I remember properly) This is called divergence and is very dangerous for some reason or another. I'm still not exactly sure why. I just know the government hates them or something. Tris is special because unlike most people she can't be defined by one trait....but...isn't that all people. It's human nature to be complex and therfore everyone would be divergent! It just doesn't add up to me. END SPOILERS There are probably more things in this book I could rant about for hours like the the poor worldbuilding, the pointless jarring violence or how Al's character really confused me BUT instead I will move on to the positives. The POSITIVES?!?! Yes, there were things I liked about this book or I would have given it 0 stars. I found it very intriguing, gripping and it kept me reading. Things bothered me as I read but I found the book exciting and definitely enjoyable. It's a fun read but I just don't understand why people like it sooo much. It just wasn't quite satisf

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    The book bore no resemblence to the Hunger Games whatsoever. It

    The book bore no resemblence to the Hunger Games whatsoever. It was enjoyable during the first segment, but later got very boring and predictable. In my opinion, Veronica Roth focused so much in detailing the differences between the factions that she didn't allow any sort of real plot to kick in.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Lame

    I agree but i dont like romance i thought this was stoopid the idea was good the factions and all that but it disapointid me its a copy of hunger games and hunger games was my ferst reall book but this is trash not worth the money are the time i feel betrayed by it im not reading any more stuff about this book cause it sucks

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Slow, poor characterization

    I couldn't finish this poor. None of the characters were likable and they were all flatly drawn. No depth. The different factions were not believable and the history of the world was not well developed. I guess simply saying that the entire book was shallowly developed sums it up. I tried to want to finish but it seemed like it would be a waste of my time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    At best, okay. Definitely doesn't stand up to "The Forever

    At best, okay. Definitely doesn't stand up to "The Forever War", and other better crafted novels of the genre. The pacing is clunky and the character progression is, at places, a stretch. The main character reads mostly as a two-dimensional caricature that adjusts based on what the plot requires her to be at the time. Not compelling.

    Also, does anyone else notice a suspicious similarity with My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic? The honest? The generous? The peaceful? Really? Were you going to give them symbols like an apple, a lightening bolt, and three diamonds? Mrs. Roth, you could have at least cited Lauren Faust.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Just ok

    Not as good as I thought it would be reading the other reviews. It is not a bad book. Just a little cheesy and predictable. In this genre the author needs to be much more imaginative

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Better than The Hunger Games

    I don't know how this book got any bad reviews. I read this directly after reading The Hunger Games series, frankly I liked this book better. It was hard so hard to put down. I find myself recommending this to everyone I meet. Never in my life have I finished a book and immediately had the urge to re-read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    I am a HUGE fan of hunger game, catching fire, and mocking jay s

    I am a HUGE fan of hunger game, catching fire, and mocking jay so I decided to read this because of so many great reviews... I have to say that I am disappointed with this book. The story is okay, characters are good; unfortunately, I don't feel any connection with them. I feel its pace is so much slower than hunger game. I mean, if you want me to sum up about hunger game vs divergent. I can easily sum divergent in 20 minutes or less, but hunger game- it is impossible because you have to explain each character's background because it all come together in the end. You know so much more about them than characters in Divergent. For example, I know a bit about Tobias' background because his father beats him when he was a kid (and why his nickname is four. that's it); however, I don't know others because we supposed not to know their full identifies, except we know the faction where they are from. In other word, we don't get to learn their personalities either, just faction where they are from. For example, if someone said an insult, then that person must be from candor. That's all I can learn about them.

    I had to force myself to read throughout the book to see if there is a twist or finally speed up.... Unfortunately, it still feel too slow for me. I decided not to purchase second one because this book did not worth my time.

    I personally love hunger game because of Katniss who is strong and independent unlike whiny Bella in Twilight. In this book, Tris seems to be strong too, but I feel she is more vulnerable and confused. I know she's only 16 years old, and Katniss is also confused at some moments, but I believe it is accurate if one of us in Katniss' situation. But still..I don't find myself wanting to be Tris.

    This book might be the one for you if you're a young teen girl who hasn't experience a relationship, but want to have a boyfriend so badly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2015

    Not very good :( I barely finished this book.

    Divergent was interesting, but it was also pretty boring. I liked some parts, but the gothic content and weird relationships really turned me off. It was very hard for me to relate to this story and the lack of reality gave it a poor story line. This book was not what I expected. My friend said it was really good, so I read it but didn't like it. If you've heard people say "if you like The Hunger Games you will like Divergent", then, in MY opinion, that is wrong. Divergent is not NEARLY as good as The Hunger Games. The main character, Tris, was not very likeable and I found her very dull and insensitive. I'm sorry to have to say so many negative things about this book, but it really wasn't very good! (end of review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    Ethen

    Cdudosjdvdoqfhfvwpqjvspehxhkbhwphcfqjvpccspjbbwpwrrdxkpwhvupscvjspwfbviqpebfbeuwfvddbvsoqpdjfviwpwhfbqpdcfwqffbphbboojcbjzmspwohriejjcvuwpcdkccbwpidffclwp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2015

    #coolgirl

    Hey lets chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    I am Erudite

    I had equal results for Dauntless and Erudite. But I'd die in 10 minutes if I chose Dauntless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Qt

    T vvraf !:%5

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2015

    TO ALL

    Join Dauntless at 'heidi' all reses. Ask for Kat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    out of the last 70 books I have read I could not get past the fi

    out of the last 70 books I have read I could not get past the first hundred and fifty pages. I don't know what is wrong it just is because I usually finish any book I start. I even sent it to the cloud first book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Bb

    Gayy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7