Customer Reviews for

Divergent (Divergent Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 8456 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6624)

4 Star

(1104)

3 Star

(344)

2 Star

(122)

1 Star

(262)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

461 out of 525 people found this review helpful.

Stunning!

This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this...
This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this dystopian world she lives in. From beginning to end you find yourself holding your breath in amazement of where this story is taking you. I will be recommending this title to all of my customers!!

posted by me_chelle54 on March 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

116 out of 360 people found this review helpful.

A Warning Before You Waste Your Money

Continuously over the last few months I have head nothing but raves about this book. The next Hunger Games, someone had said, better than the Hunger Games, I was told by someone else. Having read the premise of this book I was not impressed, but surely after so many rav...
Continuously over the last few months I have head nothing but raves about this book. The next Hunger Games, someone had said, better than the Hunger Games, I was told by someone else. Having read the premise of this book I was not impressed, but surely after so many rave reviews and barley any negative this must be an exception novel.

Wrong.

The plot was ill-thought out to the point I was left wondering afterwards if even the author knew truly what 'Divergent' meant. The characters, and I use the term loosely, drastically change to match what is happening in the plot. The author tries to explain why the characters have these dramatic turns, but it seems silly and unbelievable. The main characters constantly confuses strength with bravery, and while Roth acknowledged her character Tris is selfish and ruthless, no one else in the book seems to see this. Tris is constantly told how selfless she is despite there being no evidence to the contrary.

There is nothing to figure out in this book. The 'twists' are so laughable Roth might as well be giving the reader four squares and a circle and hope no one can tell the difference until the end. The romance is one more predictable than that of Twilight, and the writing strays from simple to repetitive.

There is nothing new or refreshing about these characters or this plot, and I think the most exceptional thing about this novel is that it's gotten so far sailing off of the dystopian high the YA genre is on right now.

posted by beforeskylines on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    Entertaining enough, but poorly written. Check out Am@zon for mo

    Entertaining enough, but poorly written. Check out Am@zon for more in-depth reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    I had been hearing a LOT about this book, everyone was raving ab

    I had been hearing a LOT about this book, everyone was raving about how great it is, and so I decided to give it a shot. I'm an avid reader, reading all genres and was honestly not impressed with this book. Sure the storyline/plot in intriguing but honestly that was were it ended for me. The Author does a great job of laying the groundwork for the book and explaining the government and characters.  However it is a slow read. Nothing particularly interesting happens for the first 200+ pages of this book. I like books that you can get into and that keep you reading, and this wasn't one of those books. I even went so far as to read the second novel in this series hoping it would be better.  I wish I could say it was better, but it isn't a book i would recommend.  If you want some great authors I would highly recommend Kiera Cass  and Patricia Briggs and Illona Andrews. They write some fantastic novels that will keep you reading into the wee hours of the night. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Please reply

    Is this book good for an 11 year old is there anything inapropriate? Respond to tigergirl thanks. Ps this book sounds awsome!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Ok

    This book was good, but not recommended for younger readers. Has innappropriate content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Meh -_-

    This book was mediocre. I've read so many dystopian books and this one doesn't stand out or anything. I found Tris to be an annoying character without much personality. Tobias was a little better (considering he actually has a past). The writing style wasn't good. If the book didn't have "mature content" I would think that it was written for elementary school kids. I had such high hopes about this book after all the good reviews. The plot was predictable and unoriginal. I would not recomend this book to anybody. Tris and Tobias's relationship can be viewed as shallow with no depth or real feeling, or they are addicted to eachother and madly, stupidly in love. This was, over all, a stupid book (Ages 14+) ( though I would not recomend this book to anybody).


    The Book Bandit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    The first two books in the series are really good. The third on

    The first two books in the series are really good. The third one is ok. The entire ending was horrible and left me feeling crappy and with many questions. If you like crappy endings and sadness read it. Otherwise, read the first two and then imagine yourself how you want it to end...guaranteed to be better than the last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Good effort for a highschool student

    This story is very solid. The writing ,not so much. I have read Divergent and Insurgent and at the end of the second book I was so let down by the poor delivery. This is one book that the movie will probably be better as long they use a different author for the screen play. Not reading the last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Wasted Potential While Divergent certainly caught my attention,

    Wasted Potential

    While Divergent certainly caught my attention, the book began falling steeply downhill at an unbelievable rate. The plot-- an legitimate idea of a dynamic and interesting dystopian future-- is largely ruined by Roth's disastrous handling of the characters and pathetic manipulation of pacing and conflict.

    The entire plot centers around a grand total of two characters. Only one of them has any substantial characterization, and it isn't the main character. In addition, this also has little or no connection to the surprisingly clear but devastatingly mishandled themes of the story. The main character, while limited characterization had to be established to maintain the integrity of the first-person POV, is often erratic and inconsistent in a fumbled attempt at character development. The remaining "characters" are merely reused names; it would be more understandable if they were called "Dauntless 1" though "Dauntless 10".

    The pacing of the story and handling of the "main" conflict were also major contributors to the story's distatched plotline. For the majority of the story, it is made clear that this book will be about a girl struggling to overcome expectations of her disjointed society with a white-on grey morality scheme and presumably ending in her enlightening everybody to their folly in a standard plot of a dystopian novel. However, the book takes a surprisingly slow pace in order for Roth to make her transparently veiled attempt to grasp a teenage audience, then BAM launches into an unforeseen, unattached, and unforeshadowed conflict that seems to undermine everything that was previously established.

    If this was intended to be a traditional First Act in a typical three-act structure, it failed miserably by constantly taking unacceptable breaks from reality and failing to accomplish anything that a first act is supposed to establish: characters, dramatic premise, conflict, and themes. All absent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    i just found it very hard to get into i couldnt even finish the

    i just found it very hard to get into i couldnt even finish the book and i was more than half way through it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Disappointing

    I had high hopes for this book, but sadly they were not met. I do think the last book in this series is more interesting than the first two. The writing is very basic, the plot is predictable and the characters are unoriginal. However, it might be worth reading the first two to get to the last book if you're a fast reader, as it has some interesting plot twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Excellent- Must read for teens!

    Such a great book. Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Very Good Book.....Highly Recommend

    I wasn't sure how I was gonna like this book. I had heard alot about it from friends, but still not too sure. I purchased the book for my NOOK and I finished it in 2 days. This book is fantastic. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Sad series

    If you dont want to end up balling than dont read the series because there is alot of deaths. Otherwise pretty good series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    I was expecting a lot more.

    Read this book with high hopes, but was some what let down. I need characters that get my emotions going, good or bad, and felt nothing. The story was lacking suspense, you can't have it if the story is predictable. When the story did pick up it ended. Don't plan on getting the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    I don't want to give out any spoilers for this book so I will ju

    I don't want to give out any spoilers for this book so I will just say that you must read it to find closure to the series. Beyond that I cannot make a positive recommendation for reading final book. I know they are making a movie out of this series and hope they give a better depth to the characters that was not found in this last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Sucked should of had more action.

    Yyyyyyyyyyoooooooooooollllllllllllllllllllloooooooooooo
    Jk if you believed in god you should live twice
    Yolt you only live twice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    to whom may concern: i thought it was ok not a fav

    TO whom may concern: i thought it was ok book but not my fav. Best regards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    I thought the books started out great but really bad ending...if

    I thought the books started out great but really bad ending...if I wanted endings like that, all I have to do is watch the news. Wish she considered that when you create characters for a series it would be nice to leave it on a good note not a tragic ending. I'm definitely never reading another Roth book again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Screw this

    I would give it 0 stars but icant read the false prince or the runaway king

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    ***** johnking4226 @t gmail . com *****

    Add me plz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7