Customer Reviews for

Divergent (Divergent Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 8450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6620)

4 Star

(1104)

3 Star

(344)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(261)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

461 out of 525 people found this review helpful.

Stunning!

This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this...
This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this dystopian world she lives in. From beginning to end you find yourself holding your breath in amazement of where this story is taking you. I will be recommending this title to all of my customers!!

posted by me_chelle54 on March 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

116 out of 359 people found this review helpful.

A Warning Before You Waste Your Money

Continuously over the last few months I have head nothing but raves about this book. The next Hunger Games, someone had said, better than the Hunger Games, I was told by someone else. Having read the premise of this book I was not impressed, but surely after so many rav...
Continuously over the last few months I have head nothing but raves about this book. The next Hunger Games, someone had said, better than the Hunger Games, I was told by someone else. Having read the premise of this book I was not impressed, but surely after so many rave reviews and barley any negative this must be an exception novel.

Wrong.

The plot was ill-thought out to the point I was left wondering afterwards if even the author knew truly what 'Divergent' meant. The characters, and I use the term loosely, drastically change to match what is happening in the plot. The author tries to explain why the characters have these dramatic turns, but it seems silly and unbelievable. The main characters constantly confuses strength with bravery, and while Roth acknowledged her character Tris is selfish and ruthless, no one else in the book seems to see this. Tris is constantly told how selfless she is despite there being no evidence to the contrary.

There is nothing to figure out in this book. The 'twists' are so laughable Roth might as well be giving the reader four squares and a circle and hope no one can tell the difference until the end. The romance is one more predictable than that of Twilight, and the writing strays from simple to repetitive.

There is nothing new or refreshing about these characters or this plot, and I think the most exceptional thing about this novel is that it's gotten so far sailing off of the dystopian high the YA genre is on right now.

posted by beforeskylines on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 344 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    ehh its good

    it is a good book and all but i wasnt really that into it if i really like it. i would recomend the maze runner series. i really liked those. i would still read this though if you like acation/adventure

    9 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The next Hunger Games.

    When I read The Hunger Games, I knew I was reading something excellent, inventive, fresh and a story worth continuing. When it became a much merited success, it was only a matter of time before there would be clones written in hopes of cashing in on THG fanfare. A friend asked me to read this novel, I was promised: its size was not a true indicator of how quickly it could be read, and I would enjoy it. The opening pages revealed that I was reading the first in the (soon to be?) flood of “THG wannabes,” the surprising discovery was just how good the story already was. The next 480 pages were to support the openings promise, the finale was too tidy, but laid the ground work for the follow-up in this promised trilogy.
    Beatrice Prior is a 16-year-old member of the Abnegation Faction in a future Chicago after “The Great Peace.” There were five factions [Abnegation (selfless service), Dauntless (bravery), Amity (sustaining peace), Candor (truth telling) and Erudite (learning)] developed after the conflict that caused the world to stop and Chicago to have a fence surrounding it. When an individual turns 16, they are tested for aptitude and then choose what faction they will become – a choice that will determine the remainder of their lives as, in this world, “faction before blood” is taken as law. This book focuses upon “Tris,” the name Beatrice chooses after she selects Dauntless as her faction, as she is trained to be fearless, vicious and everything her Abnegation up-bringing has taught her not to be.
    During the aptitude testing, Tris is revealed to be “divergent,” she does not fit neatly into any of the five factions, rather has abilities in three (erudite, dauntless and abnegation). As her training progresses, she becomes aware that being divergent is something profoundly different and is seen as a danger to the Dauntless faction by its leaders. She is told to keep this knowledge a secret and to work toward it not being revealed in the simulations used as part of dauntless training, if this part of her is revealed it could cost her life. She grows to become the best of her Dauntless initiation class, being inducted into the faction just as a horrific secret plan is unleashed.
    The book is written as a Young Adult novel. As such it contains no sexual situations but is violent in places, albeit not graphically so. I read this lengthy book in less than four days. It is well written, with characters that are sufficiently developed as to cause the reader to care about them, even if they are not nice people. The description of a Chicago after a devastating war is particular enough to identify specific locations while being vague enough for the reader’s imagination to create a world that is frightening in its familiarity.
    The book asks questions of relationships, family, commitment and trust that are firmly rooted in present day existence. The “factions” noted are easily recognized from the daily news, the tensions between them is expected and predictable while not detracting from the story. The climax is expected, the sides are clearly defined, and the anticipation of the second in this series is great. This book succeeded in its launch of a new trilogy.

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    This book had an interesting premise and a lot of potential to b

    This book had an interesting premise and a lot of potential to be a great series. Beyond that, however, there wasn't much.
    The whole idea of Divergent was intriguing, and I was eager to step into Roth's universe. When I did, however, I could tell where Roth had become bored with her writing and gotten lazy with her descriptions. There was so little description about life in this new dystopian world, and I had a really hard time picturing it. Most of the supporting characters in the beginning of the book seemed that they were just there because the author had to create some sort of friends and siblings for Tris and served absolutely no purpose. It also did not explain Tris's strange attraction to the Dauntless; I never really undertsood what the root of her longing to join them was. The descriptions were weak and I had no clear picture of what was going on in my head at all. The fact that we know Tris is going to choose Dauntless takes away from the anticipation, confusion, and excitement of the moment when she has to make her choice.
    Luckily, things got better when Tris began her training in Dauntless. The characters began becoming more rounded and developed, you started to feel some connections with Tris's new friends. Certain sequences, usually the ones involving romance or action, were well written and clearly painted a picture of the situation. Other parts, however, seemed that they were only written because the author needed something to fill the space with. The steps of Tris's training were interesting, and they were basically all that kept me reading, to find out how she was going to be challeneged next. The romance should not have culminated so quickly in this book. If the author really wanted to reel in her audience, she should have taken a leaf out of the books of Patrick Ness and Suzanne Collins and have the romance take awhile to get started, giving the readers some "will they, won't they" drama to cling to rather the obvious "they will". I also felt a bit queasy at the thought of Four being Tris's teacher. I kept thinking, isn't this illegal? To be making out with your students? Apparently in dystopian Chicago, the normal boundaries don't apply.
    The climax of the novel was satisfyingly fast-paced; there were a few points that felt contrived and didn't really add to the story, but added to the action. The killing off of the most likable character of the bunch certainly didn't help matters, because none of the characters were developed quite enough to make you feel actually sad, but if Roth had kept the character in the series longer, their death would have made you cry (imagine it like if Finnick died in Catching Fire instead of Mockingjay. You would've been sad, but you definitely were way more heartbroken when he died later on).
    Long story short, it was a mediocre book with an intriguing premise that could have been way more developed and detailed. It doesn't matter what Veronica Roth should have done, what matters is what she did and it wasn't as great as it's hyped up to be. It's a promising series, but Roth needs to step it up if she wants to keep me with her until the end.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Plot is great but writing is poor. She barely uses any descripti

    Plot is great but writing is poor. She barely uses any descriptive language and hardly any similes or metaphors. The characterization is cliche, the main character is weak, and the only time she starts getting better is when the guy tells her what to do. Poor book for Hunger Games fanatics. She's completely opposite of a strong feminine role

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Good story. Okay writing.

    Just finished Divergent. It was a page turner for sure. Predictability notwithstanding (of course those who were Divergent, were so... it was entirely obvious and would've been more of a twist if they weren't), the story is refreshingly new(-ish). The writing is minimalistic and meaningful, without straying on self-indulgent tangents as authors tend to do. In all, it was a solid, 4-star read.

    However, a writer's quirks can distract away from the story. Veronica Roth is OBSESSED with cheeks. Hot cheeks, wet cheeks, my cheeks are wet and hot, hot face, my face is hot, the heat in my cheeks, hot cheeks, hot cheeks, hot cheeks, hot cheeks, OMG SHE SAID "HOT CHEEKS" AGAIN! At least every 5-10 pages, something about hot face or cheeks. Usually, hot cheeks. Once I noticed it, it got so distracting I almost just quit reading, but I decided to see it through.

    The book had the kind of ending that you'd expect from something intended to be a trilogy. It ends with a whimper, not with a bang. You can almost see where Roth erased the last line that once read something like "To be continued..." or "Next week on Divergent..."

    I'll read Insurgent, but I hope she eases up on the cheek imagery.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Good-ish

    I felt overwhelmed at first when reading this book because it lacked background information. Also, i felt disconnected to the main characters friends and ultimatley led the book to lack emotion in many important parts. There should have been more detail about the setting, how it came to be, and the relationship between Tris and her friends for me to understand/get connected with the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Possibilities

    Divergent follows the adventures of a girl named Bestrise, or Tris as she is later renamed in the series.

    The story is set in a dystopia where every person belongs go a single group (called a faction in the story) and each person works in the faction that they are born in until they reach the age of sixteen. At age sixteen, the young men and women of the society are tested in order to reveal which faction they are best suited for. After this test, the teenagers recieve their results and are allowed to make a decision about which faction they wish to belong to for the rest of their lives.

    In the story, readers observe as Tris goes through drastic changes once she decides to abandon her family in favor of a new begining in a new faction. Throughout the book, the audience watches as Tris is put through some very difficult situations and begins to make her transformation from child to adult. Tris discovers some great friends, terrifying enimies, and a sweet romance as she adjusts to her new life and begins to overcome some very difficult challenges. As she adjusts to her new life and home, trouble begins to stir and only Tris has the ability to stop it before chaos overwhelms her society.

    Overall, Divergent's concept was something truly unique and the beginining was written beautifully. However, there are some major problems with the plot that continually get worse as the story continues. Although I immensely enjoyed Divergent, I felt like it was missing something very important and upon finishing, I was left rather unsatisfied and slightly confused about the direction of the story by the time I finished the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    This is not a Hunger Games

    Divergent was an interesting read, but there are just too many similarities to Hunger Games for it to be truly original. I found it difficult to develop much sympathy for any of the characters because the aren't not well fleshed out. About half way through the book it became more interesting, and I did read the second book with a bit more enthusiasm. I am looking forward to the third because I always enjoyed a good soap opera.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Disappointing... )-:

    The book is somewhere between Hunger Games (good) and Witch Girl (bad). It started well, yet it became predictable and half way through it feels as if the author stopped trying and went over the cliches of the genre. I am not sure if I will read the next book in the series.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Let me start...

    Ill start off by saying that this was a decent book, however i dont think it deserves the amount of attention it has. The setting and background does not make any sense, as apparently after a war all humanity around the surviving area(which is apparently Chicago) decides that they're going to make a system in which everyone is doing exactly what these 5 faction groups tell them to do, and that only a few people have different personalitys other then the five factions, which will get you killed if you are. This just doesnt make sense here, and also i dont know why the city hasent been rebuilt after this "war" for 100 years. The characters arent especially interesting to me, and the romance is obvious. There wernt many big "twists" and pretty much the outcome of the story is shone at the start of the book. I was hoping through the book that there was going to be some "third" party group that would show up from outside the area,since it seems illogical that the rest of humanity would be dead already, and not notice the city of Chicago being inhabited. There isnt much action other then the training and fighting at the end, and not much advanced technology either other then simulations. So im not sure if this really counts as a scifi dystopian series, but more of a drama/romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    D:

    Just don't read the very end of the LAST book!!!! I have warned you!!!!! I actually cried the ending was so bad!!!!! Just make up your own ending... anything will be better than what Roth has written... Other than that... I was ADDICTED!!! Great series until I got to the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Hard to Suspend Disbelief

    I am older - almost 60 - and devoured the Hunger Games Trilogy. I was expecting the same for Divergent.

    But, alas no.

    The story requires more suspension of disbelief that I could muster. Its plot and characters are a tad too juvenile for me.

    I did enjoy it, but its not a book I would want to read more than once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    I love this book and musttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo goooooddddd! Read the book first before you see the movie. They leave out alot of important details that u need to know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Half and half

    When i read this book it wasn't that interesting but i could not put it down, everytime something happens i can't wait to see what it will result in

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Just ok

    It was an "ok" book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Engaging read, but no Hunger Games

    This book was an entertaining page-turner that I finished in two days. I have been on a dystopian kick and this book was on my list of must-reads. It was interesting and unique, but I just didn't find Tris as captivating and complicated a character as Katniss. The mind-control storyline is a lame cop-out for not coming up with a better motivation to get characters to fight each other. I will read the other two books just to find out what happens. I will probably see the movie as well. But I just don't feel the same excitememt for Four and Tris I did for Katniss and Peeta. The angst and tension between K and P carried over until the very end of the HG series. Any tension between Four and Tris already seems over. We' ll just have to see.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Confuzzeled

    Is this series just like the hunger games? If it is please tell me, if not please tell me what it is about. Ive heard this a good series so tell me what this is about!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was a bit disappointed

    It was a good book overall. It had some great emotional impact and put you squarely in the heroin's shoes.
    What it didn't do as well was flesh out this brave new world. There are few "nuts and bolts" about this society or how it really functions. There are also a lot of technical errors and contradictions. It's one of the few times I can say the movie might actually be better than the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    If you're looking for something to snack on after you've finishe

    If you're looking for something to snack on after you've finished The Hunger Games, I'd say read Divergent. It doesn't live up to Suzanne Collins' children-killing-children theme, but it does ease your Hunger Games hangover. While the books are fairly thick, I read through them quickly because of the simple sentence structures and the vague denotation. The plot was just exciting enough to keep me reading, though it left me questioning and overall being annoyed with the character for making stupid decisions. Was Tris ever described as idiotic? No. She should've been, but she wasn't. She was constantly being told that she "was brave" and "selfless" but honestly she was a Katniss-wannabe that just ended up getting herself (spoiler alert) killed.
    Overall, Veronica Roth's storyline was rather intriguing with its dystopian society meets phsycology aspect, but it could've been executed far more better. Give the idea to Collins, and let her write it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I decided to read Divergent because a friend recommended it to m

    I decided to read Divergent because a friend recommended it to me and said that it was way better than The Hunger Games. Upon finishing the book, I was sorely disappointed. It was not the thriller that I was expecting. With that said, along with the weaknesses that I found in the literature, I enjoyed many parts of it as well.

    I truly feel like Veronica Roth did a very good job of helping the reader identify with the emotion that the protagonist was feeling throughout the story. The book is based in a futuristic, dystopian society where the people are split into different groups, or factions as referred to in the book. These factions represent key personality characteristics that all of the members of said faction possess. I think that Roth does a good job of describing the different factions and the type of people that belong to each and also allows the reader to identify personally what their own faction would be.

    The story was entertaining, but I thought that it seriously lacked a definitive plot. Throughout almost the entire book up until the last 30 pages or so, I consistently found myself wondering where the author was trying to take the story. It simply lacked substance.

    Bottom line: I would recommend this book to a friend, but there are many others that I would recommend before it. I found myself reading this book out of a feeling of obligation to finish it rather than wanting to see how it ended.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 344 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18