Customer Reviews for

Divergent (Divergent Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 9041 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7069)

4 Star

(1179)

3 Star

(375)

2 Star

(136)

1 Star

(282)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

500 out of 566 people found this review helpful.

Stunning!

This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this...
This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this dystopian world she lives in. From beginning to end you find yourself holding your breath in amazement of where this story is taking you. I will be recommending this title to all of my customers!!

posted by me_chelle54 on March 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

125 out of 393 people found this review helpful.

A Warning Before You Waste Your Money

Continuously over the last few months I have head nothing but raves about this book. The next Hunger Games, someone had said, better than the Hunger Games, I was told by someone else. Having read the premise of this book I was not impressed, but surely after so many rav...
Continuously over the last few months I have head nothing but raves about this book. The next Hunger Games, someone had said, better than the Hunger Games, I was told by someone else. Having read the premise of this book I was not impressed, but surely after so many rave reviews and barley any negative this must be an exception novel.

Wrong.

The plot was ill-thought out to the point I was left wondering afterwards if even the author knew truly what 'Divergent' meant. The characters, and I use the term loosely, drastically change to match what is happening in the plot. The author tries to explain why the characters have these dramatic turns, but it seems silly and unbelievable. The main characters constantly confuses strength with bravery, and while Roth acknowledged her character Tris is selfish and ruthless, no one else in the book seems to see this. Tris is constantly told how selfless she is despite there being no evidence to the contrary.

There is nothing to figure out in this book. The 'twists' are so laughable Roth might as well be giving the reader four squares and a circle and hope no one can tell the difference until the end. The romance is one more predictable than that of Twilight, and the writing strays from simple to repetitive.

There is nothing new or refreshing about these characters or this plot, and I think the most exceptional thing about this novel is that it's gotten so far sailing off of the dystopian high the YA genre is on right now.

posted by beforeskylines on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1179 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 59
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    3 reviews . . .  Chrissy's 4-star review Did I enjoy thi

    3 reviews . . . 




    Chrissy's 4-star review




    Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. I read it every free chance I had. The last half had me glued to my book. The first half took a bit to get through. I could put the book down during that and not have to pick it up again.




    Tris is a fantastic heroine. She is up there with the best of them — Katniss and Hermione. (Sadly, I can only think of two right now off the top of my head.) She finds strength, power, knowledge, courage. Finds may be the wrong word. She always had it in her. She just didn’t know it. Her love interest is great. Four is such a gem. I loved the cake comment. (Read the book. You’ll understand.) They aren’t sappy and it definitely wasn’t insta-love. I got to see it develop. It was sweet.




    (This next part isn’t a spoiler but it will be cryptic.) I was surprised by the ending and how fast it all wrapped up. The ending made me sad. I would have loved to know more about some people. I was surprised by the actions of some people. I wasn’t surprised by those of others. But I wish it hadn’t ended the way it did.




    Would I recommend it: Absolutely.




    Will I read it again: Probably, but first I want to read the rest of the series.













    Melissa's 4-star review




    Did I enjoy this book: Yep!




    It’s not the next Mistborn series, but I’d wager Roth’s books will end up ranked among the likes of Twilight and The Hunger Games.  Her writing’s not spectacular but her story is.  Her plotlines aren’t quite original but her characters are.  Her dystopia’s not…um… well, actually it IS.  It’s awesome.  It’s Harry Potter’s Sorting Hat only without the cheering.  It’s dark, and grown-up, and exactly what I was hoping for.  The internet tells me I ought to have low expectations for the second and third installments of Roth’s series, but at this point I’m confident enough to hope for the best.




    Would I recommend it: Yep!




    Will I read it again: No, but I’m off to read book 2 just as soon as I get the chance.





    Belinda's 5-star review




    Did I enjoy this book: Yes.




    Divergent is flawless. Considering the attention the book has received coupled with the imminent blockbuster movie to be released, you probably already knew that.




    This story covers all the inevitable scary issues involved in growing up; separating from our parents, discovering where we belong, deciding who to trust, and learning to thrive in a dangerous and frightening world. Roth has it all. It’s perfect . . . for a younger crowd.




    I fear there is a huge age gap between those who will undoubtedly be enthralled by this story and those who will say: It’s good. It’s entertaining. It’s a work of art. And I couldn’t relate to any of it.




    Reading this book made me feel like the stereotypical old fart. It’s ok. I like being an old fart. This story reminded me how hard growing up is. I managed to survive all that. Well, I didn’t have to go to war against my own neighborhood, but metaphorically at least, I survived the challenges represented in the book. Shew! Don’t want to do it again; not even in fiction.




    Would I recommend it: Absolutely.




    Will I read it again: No.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Good plot andvery well developed

    Quite an interesting read. I read this after watching the movie and I can't yet decide which one I liked best. There is no question I liked the book though. Very well written. The plot, although predictable at times, is quite something. Probably the best parts are the characters, those are developed close to perfection.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Anonymous

    Good, entertaining read! Easy and quick. Looking forward to seeing the movie. Will read next book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Divergent

    I didn't purchase this book when first came out. I thought it was just another version of Hunger Games. I couldn't have been more wrong. Big difference! If I am not hooked by fifty pages I stop reading it. This rule has never failed me. I quickly got caught up in the story and bought the second . Iam now on third of series. Would have read it sooner but had to wait for it's release date. I don't want to give the plot away. I love Veronic Roth's series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    It's been awhile since I've read anything dystopian. Libby read

    It's been awhile since I've read anything dystopian. Libby read this a few years back, a bit before our blog started up, so my review will be the one to go up. I will say Im glad I read this book. I wasnt expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. It is enjoyable if you like the YA dystopian sub genre type book.

    What I liked:

    I thought the pace matched the book well enough that I wasn't bored for more than a chapter or two. Divergent follows the exploits of a girl named Beatrice, whom lives in an dystopian Chicago, where humanity has separated themselves in "factions" or personality based segregation. When a person turns 16, they go through a rite of passage, where their minds and choices determine whether they stay in their born faction, or choose a different one. The only thing is, once they choose one, they're not allowed to have strong contact with a past faction.

    Beatrice or "Tris" is "divergent", a person whom is stuck between several, which is dangerous and can get one killed. I liked Beatrice. I think she had her faults, but she was much better and much stronger than many teenage girl MC. I think girls should be allowed to be sappy, and Mary sue's but there should be diverse strong ones too to even things out.

    Being "divergent" isn't a super power or anything. It's just someone who cant be controlled. I liked how Tris wasn't anything overtly special,but she worked hard to overcome a lot of her physical faults. I liked that due to her choice of picking "dauntless", she was exercising and filling out her frame in a healthy way. Girls are either skinny or heavy, and it seems novels don't allow the athletic build to shine. I like that Tris promoted a body in motion, one who took fitness seriously.

    The story had good back story, and it distributed it well, and in the places that best fit it. I liked the world building. Im in love with Chicago, and it seemed like a cool place to set a world like this. The world building was pretty good, I wont say that is was excellent or life changing, but it earned the point from me. 

    it's well edited and an industry standard, and the character descriptions are on point. 

    No insta-love. It seemed like it at first, but I wasn't aware until about 3/4 into the book, that'd they'd been training for about 6 months. I think that's enough time to fall for a guy.

    What didn't do it for me:

    There's not a ton of diversity. Any diversity is left for the reader to guess. Two characters close to Tris seem like People of Color, but she never explicitly says so. And even so, they were the only ones, and that's strange considering Chicago has some of the largest numbers of people of color in the United States. As of now it's only 45% White, and only 31% of that is non-Latino. Seriously? I know all the marginalized groups didn't die out. And where are all the disabled people and queer people?

    Another gear that grinded for me? I can tell the author is Christian. This is not an insult to the author, and it is not anything against Christianity. But there is a large history of Christianity "conquering" for power, and it just so happens? Yea, Abnegation, the faction of "self-less" people are the only people in power, and decide all the other factions fates. Hmmm...that doesn't sound like history repeating itself at all. And yea, they're the only ones that believe in God too. Don't know how I feel about that.

    The cover is just ok to me. And the concept isnt out of the realm of other dystopian books. 

    But I loved it. Tris is more like me than let's say a Bella Swan. I have the sequel, and I will read it once I get some other books out my queue.

    Guinevere's Actual Rating: 3.75

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Good Story

    First, you need to know that I am THE biggest fan of the Hunger Games! I like this book alot, because it reminds me of THG--the survival and romance--and it's a great story, honestly. However, I am 10 years old, and that could be the reason why, but it scared me to DEATH!!! Still a great book, you should read it. Although, I hope that you are in at least 6th grade. :-) ;-)
    Anonymous,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Anonymus

    Oh my gosh, I just love this book. Tris is such a great charachter, and I can't wait to read insurgent. But be warned, from the beginning this book is a bit unsettling and I would say dont read it under eleven. Parents should be warned there is a lot of violence, piercings and tattoos are encouraged (and the norm), and killing someone is not considered bad.
    But if you're up to all that: READ THIS BOOK!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    I'm still reading it

    I'm still reding it its awesome but I get a little confused

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed!

    A great young adult series that adults will enjoy, too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Great series

    Loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    This book was fantastic. The plot of the story had me racing to

    This book was fantastic. The plot of the story had me racing to turn the page because of the action all throughout. The characters were very well described and I felt I had a connection with each one. Roth did an excellent job keeping the reader’s attention through the whole book and I was greatly entertained with how the story panned out. Although the whole book was great, the ending was a cliff hanger and left me desperate to know what was going to happen. I have yet to read Insurgent but know it will be just as good as Divergent. Overall, the way the characters were portrayed and the suspenseful climax make this book a must read by anybody.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    Divergent does a wonderful job of painting a picture of this Dys

    Divergent does a wonderful job of painting a picture of this Dystopian society. The thought and detail which goes into the writing paints clear picture which makes it easy to get wrapped up in the story. The author does a good job of mixing action, tension and character development keeping both the reader engaged and the story moving along. Although technically a YA novel it isn’t over powering, making it good for an older audience as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Good...almost great

    The story is very well built but from a guys perspective, to much romance to keep the book from being 5 stars. My wife loves the book and is halfway finished with the second. I will keep reading to finish the story but I do hope they tone down on the love arch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Good Read

    An interesting read and definitely a page turner, I would surely reccomend this book to any avid reader!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    Was 5 stars all the way until the last two chapters. The weakest

    Was 5 stars all the way until the last two chapters. The weakest part of any thrill ride is the end because the mystery as it is revealed in dribs and drabs keeps us chomping at the bit, while the final "this is it, this is what is really going on" is usually a let down - and so it is here as well.

    And yes, this is "The Hunger Games" spun on a different yarn. Not certain if it's better, but it's definitely as good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Ok Book

    This was what I thought to be the next Hunger Games. That series was a very exciting story, that you just couldn't stop reading. This one I feel fell short of that. It was a good book, that took me about two days to read. Just the overall excitement I felt was gone. The plot just wasn't as thrilling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Great concept fantastic execution!

    I was surprised to find this book fresh and engaging with all of the new dystopic novels out lately.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Nookman16@yahoo.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    it was worth a read, and i finished really quickly. i liked the

    it was worth a read, and i finished really quickly. i liked the idea behind the story, it very was catchy.
    i do HIGHLY ADVISE if you are going to read this to understand first what the 5 factions are and what they mean completely...i was very confused until i googled it and really read each one so i understood them, after i did (which was about 1/2 way through) everything made soo much more sense, wish i did it from the beginning

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Easy read. Good and entertaining

    Enjoyed the story line and ease of reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1179 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 59