Customer Reviews for

Divergent (Divergent Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 8676 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6790)

4 Star

(1135)

3 Star

(354)

2 Star

(125)

1 Star

(272)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

476 out of 541 people found this review helpful.

Stunning!

This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this...
This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this dystopian world she lives in. From beginning to end you find yourself holding your breath in amazement of where this story is taking you. I will be recommending this title to all of my customers!!

posted by me_chelle54 on March 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

120 out of 377 people found this review helpful.

A Warning Before You Waste Your Money

Continuously over the last few months I have head nothing but raves about this book. The next Hunger Games, someone had said, better than the Hunger Games, I was told by someone else. Having read the premise of this book I was not impressed, but surely after so many rav...
Continuously over the last few months I have head nothing but raves about this book. The next Hunger Games, someone had said, better than the Hunger Games, I was told by someone else. Having read the premise of this book I was not impressed, but surely after so many rave reviews and barley any negative this must be an exception novel.

Wrong.

The plot was ill-thought out to the point I was left wondering afterwards if even the author knew truly what 'Divergent' meant. The characters, and I use the term loosely, drastically change to match what is happening in the plot. The author tries to explain why the characters have these dramatic turns, but it seems silly and unbelievable. The main characters constantly confuses strength with bravery, and while Roth acknowledged her character Tris is selfish and ruthless, no one else in the book seems to see this. Tris is constantly told how selfless she is despite there being no evidence to the contrary.

There is nothing to figure out in this book. The 'twists' are so laughable Roth might as well be giving the reader four squares and a circle and hope no one can tell the difference until the end. The romance is one more predictable than that of Twilight, and the writing strays from simple to repetitive.

There is nothing new or refreshing about these characters or this plot, and I think the most exceptional thing about this novel is that it's gotten so far sailing off of the dystopian high the YA genre is on right now.

posted by beforeskylines on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 6790 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 340
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Stunning!

    This book took my breath away! It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book it was in my hand everywhere I went. I started this book early in the morning and refused to put it down until finished. I fell into the rhythm of Tris' voice and was surrounded by this dystopian world she lives in. From beginning to end you find yourself holding your breath in amazement of where this story is taking you. I will be recommending this title to all of my customers!!

    476 out of 541 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read

    One of the best books I have read. It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    444 out of 523 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    AWEsome Book

    This book blew my mind. Some people say that this is the new Hunger Games, but I personally think it's better. I have never read a book that literally stunned me, for a minute after I finished reading it i just sat there basking in the amazingness of this book. I loved the characters (especially Four) and the plot was wonderful. My ultimate favorite part of this book was Tris' voice. The way she narrates the book make it unlike any book I have read, but not at all in a bad way. The only thing that bugged me was the ending. The book is about 480-500 pages long, with the ending being about 50 pages. To me the ending didn't seem complete, but that is probably because it's a series and if the ending seems complete then no one will buy the next book. My ultimate favorite part of this book was Tris' voice. The way she narrates the book make it unlike any book I have read, but not at all in a bad way. All in all i can not wait until the next book in this trilogy comes out.

    390 out of 445 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    My Book of the Year

    My thoughts....Wow, Divergent is perhaps one of the most intense, edge-of-your-seat, heart stopping books I have ever read. I got a huge adrenalin rush just reading it.

    I devoured this book. The advanced reader's copy came in just shy of 500 pages and I could not turn them quick enough. Divergent introduces readers to a world where society is divided into factions. You are born into a faction, then once you reach your sixteenth birthday, you have the difficult choice of staying with your family and current lifestyle, or leaving it behind to join another. Sounds easy, right? As fans of dystopian literature know, nothing is ever easy. The heroine, Beatrice, learns this the hard way.

    This book is centered around society and the characters' positions within the society. Readers will meet some people who they would want to call their friends, and others that make you want to watch your back. The heroine, Beatrice is incredibly strong. Her bravery and commitment take readers on a wild ride.

    Divergent in non-stop action. Roth's writing takes readers to the edge and leaves them gasping for air. The world building leaves a vivid image. The plot keeps readers on their toes trying to answer questions. There is also a touch of innocent romance. Definitely something for everyone.

    Read this book, you will not be disappointed.

    271 out of 297 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    One of the best books I've read!

    So my school librarian recommended this book and I looked at the cover and honestly I didn't think it would be interesting (sadly, I judge books by their cover). It was also huge and I just really didn't want to waste my time. But I am SO glad I read it. It was beyond amazing. At first it seemed really similar to The Hunger Games, but it is different and in a good way. I must say The Hunger Games was my favorite book, but this book is now my #1 choice. I love the plot and there is romance (which makes the book 10 times better!!). I promise you will not want to put this book down! I'm so happy I read it but now I must wait for the next book which comes out next year :( Hopefully it's worth the wait!

    139 out of 162 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    The following is a letter I wrote to the author:

    As a 17 year old girl who reads (or tries her best to) read one book a day, I wanted to read something great on Christmas. I HAD NO IDEA WHAT I WAS GETTING MYSELF INTO! Your book was the best one this year. From the beginning when the reader is first introduced into a society when people only look in the mirror once every three months to the acknowledgment to God, I was captivated. When I read the word "the blade is stuck in Edward's eye" I gasped and dropped the book. I rarely read works that evoke such a physical response from me (the last time was when Dobby died). While reading I found myself sorting my friends into factions. I found myself thinking (Insert name of friend here) would be a member of Amity." My parents had to come retrieve my from my room to open my Christmas presents, because I was so enthralled with Divergent.

    THANKS FOR THIS UNEXPECTED GIFT

    100 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book is amazing! I could not put it down! This story grabs you on page ONE! It keeps you guessing but reveals enough though the story that you don't get frustrated with the plot. There is a strong female character that is relatable but has her own personality. I recommend this book to everyone who likes an adventure and plot twist that takes you by surprise. I hope this is followed by a book two very soon in Roth's future.

    90 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book will not disappoint!

    The population of Chicago has been divided into five factions: Abnegation, Candor, Dauntless, Erudite, and Amity. When the age of sixteen is reached, each teenager is subjected to an aptitude test and must then choose whether to remain with the faction they were born into or choose the faction that best suits them determined by the aptitude test. Beatrice "Tris" Pryor has been born into the selfless Abnegation faction. However, Tris has always been in awe of a different faction. Will she have the courage to leave her faction, her parents and the only home she has ever known? I live for the far away places a book can take me, but there are few books that I lose myself in so completely that I become one with the lead character. Divergent was such a book. My own personal upbringing made me feel such a strong connection to Tris and her overwhelming need to break free from her faction, while at the same time maintaining her respect and love for the faction she was raised in. I greatly admired the courage she had when faced with the incredible decision she had to make. Then there is Four. I could devote pages and pages and then a few more pages to Four. Four is the kind of "hero" I love to love. He is confident and strong with an underlying tenderness that leaves you wanting more. I like how Four and Tris relate to each other. The way he believes in her when no one else seems to left me breathless. I love how the book made my heart pound and kept me captivated until the very end. I will issue a Kleenex warning as some parts are quite sad and extremely touching. Long after I finished the book, I could not stop thinking about the world Veronica Roth created or her wonderful characters, and there are plenty of characters to love in this story aside from the lead characters. I can't wait to see what the author has in store for them next!

    50 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Divergent movie

    If you loved the book then u would love to hear this divergent the movie comes out in 2015 it might sound like a long time but its worth it right???

    46 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    I love this book! It's my new favorite.

    I honestly liked this more than the hunger games. Thats just me, so no hating, got it? It has romance, drama, adventure, wit, sassiness, and humor. Must read. I would recomend this to fans of the hunger games, harry potter, percy jackson, twilight, and thirst. I love all of those books, but divergent is my new favorite.

    36 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best Books I Have Ever Read!!!

    I LOVED this book. The words suck you in, and they flow so well together. I'm not even a fan of science fiction, yet the way this book was written left me not wanting it to end. I couldn't put it down. I'm recommending it to every single one of my friends. Read this book. It's breath-taking, exhilarating, exciting, and so much more.

    32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Its amazing

    I loved Divergent it is a great book filled with adventure ad romance through out the whole storry and if that is what you are looking for then i think you will love Divergent. I rated it with five stars because of the action and the romance ad it kept the pages turning for me!

    30 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Excellent Book. Psychology meets Dystopian Society...

    I really enjoyed reading this book and can't wait to read the next... Anyway, I saw that a lot of people were comparing "Divergent" to "The Hunger Games", and I just wanted to put my two cents in. "The Hunger Games Trilogy" were the first books that I ever took a chance on to read about a future "dystopian society". I was pulled in immediately and obsessed (still am). I was depressed when I finished the trilogy. I then read "The Giver", & "Matched" (both dystopian), and a few other books which were not set in the future, but it was not until I read "Divergent", that I was pulled in so much to a book. I don't really think that anyone should compare it to THG as far as story lines go - they are both very thought out & intelligent, but also quite different in their own sense. The similarities between "The Hunger Games" and "Divergent" are simply that they are both books written for YA, and they are both set in a dystopian society. But, that being said - if you liked "The Hunger Games" and need a good read to hold you over until the movie comes out next year - then read "Divergent". I can't wait to read more!

    29 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Love it!

    One of my all time favorites now. Everyone needs to add it to their must read list.

    28 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    I LOVE this book, its my new favorite, i don't know how many times i've already re-read it! The characters and the plot were written really well. It was exciting, intense, full of action and it even had some romance mixed in there too. Ms. Roth wrote an awesome first novel! :)

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Divergent

    It is an adventure within a love story trapped with things you would never believe!!!! I live for Divergent!!!!

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVED this book! It was AMAZING. It does have a hunger games f

    I LOVED this book! It was AMAZING. It does have a hunger games feel but I thought this book was better! I loved the Hunger Games and didn't think I'd find something as unique, interesting or well executed as it was but this book was. The charaters were amazing, the plot was amazing. It blew my mind! You have to read this book you won't regert it! Best book I've read in a long time!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Great read! A definite MUST READ!!!

    FIVE STARS!!! If you are a fan of dsytopian novels i.e, the Hunger Games trilogy, Matched, Crossed, Delirium, you won't be disappointed. It has a bit of everything from romance and drama to fast paced action adventure. For a new author, Roth did a wonderful job in developing the characters and creating the five factioned Chicago society. You, as the reader, become one with the world, engaged by Beatrice, aka Tris. Her voice resonates within us, any reader whether male/female can relate to her inner "emotional" struggles, as well as, her physical challenges she faces during her rites of passage.

    If you loved Catniss Everdeen, Tris, will win you over two fold. I was skeptical about her character when I first read about the book, but once I read it, I found her to be real. She's no superhero, she's no martyr, she's conflicted on many levels, but she makes sense.

    I am really excited for this new young author and I look forward to reading more...

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Amazing!

    Here's a short, sweet, and to the point review:

    Loved it.
    Loved the characters.
    Loved the setting.
    Loved 4
    Loved Tris
    Loved the story
    The plot
    The idea

    Read the book, you will not be disappointed. Read it and you'll love it. You will not put it down. You will not easily forget Divergent.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Quit wasting your time reading reviews and read this book!!!

    I LOVED this book!!! So different and fast paced! Love, love, love....

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 6790 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 340