Customer Reviews for

Divergent Series Complete Box Set

Average Rating 4.5
( 429 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(298)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

best series, hands down.

this was honestly one of the best series I have ever read. of course many people
had a problem with how it all ended but honestly I thought that it was a perfect
ending and it showed how real it all was. don't listen to what others say about it
you read for yourself...
this was honestly one of the best series I have ever read. of course many people
had a problem with how it all ended but honestly I thought that it was a perfect
ending and it showed how real it all was. don't listen to what others say about it
you read for yourself and you judge it. Veronica Roth created a beautiful story and
I am so happy I was able to read it from start to finish.

posted by MaryD12 on November 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

114 out of 150 people found this review helpful.

Buy all three seperate

If you buy all three seperate it costs less

posted by 18156514 on October 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Buy all three seperate

    If you buy all three seperate it costs less

    114 out of 150 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    First two books were awesome, I bragged on them being bettter th

    First two books were awesome, I bragged on them being bettter than the Hunger Games. Last book was rushed and ended horrribly. Not that I mind the main character thing, but the way it was done was just plain bad. And the whole rushed gov'ment politics ect in the third. Sucked. The change of one POV for the first two, then massively messing up the third with duel pov that was frustrating beyond belief considering I really liked the aurthor beforehand. She should not have rushed it, should not have agreed to the movie until she was done writting. And it could have been a great series instead of a trilogy that cost her a large portion of her fans. Really, look it up. The third book caused a great deal of upset in this set.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Save $ buy the online books separately!

    Book 1:$ 3.99
    Book 2:$ 7.99
    Book 3:$ 11.99
    Total is $23.97 save some money and buy them one by one!

    I am almost done (30 pps left) with "Divergent", I do not like the comparison to "The Hunger Games," it is misleading.

    Trigger warnings for the first book are listed at the bottom.

    I'd call it social science fiction under YA.

    I enjoyed this book's rapid pace and introductive plot, but so far the characters are all cis & het. Character descriptions establish that at least they are not all white--though the main chars appear to be.
    The dimension and depth of each character seems directly propertional to the character's relevance (& time in story) with a few glaring exceptions that make me wonder who dropped the ball on final copy. But oh well for $3.99 it is acceptible.
    The dialogue is average but the delivery of the story is not quite smooth but is slowly improving.
    A little violent, no more so than THG.

    There is possibly triggering material from the first book described below for those that have triggers

    *****SPOILERS**********
    TW: cutting; child physical abuse; sexual harrassment & assault; mind altering drugs; animal death; guns; death of a parent & sibling; & suicide.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    Veronica really connects you with the characters, settings and e

    Veronica really connects you with the characters, settings and experiences. I really enjoyed the first 2 books. I liked the 3rd send was eager to see how it wrapped up the story but I don't agree with killing off the main character. I really felt like this let the series down, it's not the type of story that round have a 'happily ever after' ending but there definitely could have been a better slater native. 

    I'm disappointed. It could have ended so much better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    ?jriy

    ?yr
    ib.goiyjvnruhjgtu ig vn nvtv, .gj gj .ht

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    READ THIS!!!

    Kiss ur hand 3 times, post this in 3 other books, then look under ur pillow!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Just Ok

    The story was interesting and definitely original, however I found the writing and character development mediocre. That being said, I did finish the entire series in only a few days, so the fact that the story kept me coming back for more says something. I felt that the comparison to Hunger Games that everyone kept making was unfounded. Other than the strong teenaged female lead, there was no similarities between the books and I found Hunger Games to be superior in most aspects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Need friends wqnna chat

    Im jake and im14 respond to me plz also can some1 tell me what this book iz about?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Divergent

    This book is NOT i tell you NOT better then the hunger games!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    !!!!! Johnking4226@gmaicom !!!!!

    Adddd meeeee

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Interesting concept but muddled execution

    The story line behind the book is interesting but is perhaps too complex and is somewhat muddled.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    *SPOILERS*!!! Fantastic series except for the ending when the ma

    *SPOILERS*!!! Fantastic series except for the ending when the main character dies which made the whole book seem really sad and
    gloomy. And that sucks cause the rest of the series was really awesome so the ending kind of ruined the whole experience of reading it.
    It was like the author couldn't find any other way of ending the book so she had to make it end tragically. But otherwise, I loved the plot 
    and the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Great trilogy but flawed

    I loved the first two books but the third book felt like Veronica Roth ran out of ideas so she chose to use (spoiler) the U.S. Government. I would have rated five stars if all the books didn't feel so rushed. Tris was never a good fighter nor was she a good shot. Everything happens within a month timeframe and although it was heartbreaking that (spoiler) Tris dies, it was a meaningful death. She and Four deserved to be happy in the end...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Wonderful Reading

    I originally purchased this set as a xmas gift to myself -- great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    good books but dont buy this

    Wonderful books but the ending is realky sad in allegiant and you can buy them seperately for $20.97, not sure why they put them together in one volume

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2