Customer Reviews for

The Secret Circle: The Divide

Average Rating 3.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I don't care what other people say!

This book was amazing with many twists and turns and a BIG cliffhanger at the end!
All these other reviews are saying "this book is horrible because this is ghostwritten!" WHO CARES? I understand being loyal to an author, but personally i love this series and it did so...
This book was amazing with many twists and turns and a BIG cliffhanger at the end!
All these other reviews are saying "this book is horrible because this is ghostwritten!" WHO CARES? I understand being loyal to an author, but personally i love this series and it did sound a lot like L.J. Smith! If you even remotely like this series DO NOT be discouraged by reading these other reviews!
Read the book if you want to read the book!

posted by matt12VA on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

This is not written by L. J. Smith

This series was taken from L. J. Smith and given to a ghostwriter in a similar way that Vampire Diaries was taken from her. Alloy has no respect for L. J. and I have no respect for them. I will not be buying any books packaged by Alloy. They have a legal right to have t...
This series was taken from L. J. Smith and given to a ghostwriter in a similar way that Vampire Diaries was taken from her. Alloy has no respect for L. J. and I have no respect for them. I will not be buying any books packaged by Alloy. They have a legal right to have the books written by who they like because of the wording of the contract L. J. signed. We also have the right to spend our money and show our support for the party(ies) that we choose. I support L. J. Smith.

posted by Tina78CC on September 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    This is not written by L. J. Smith

    This series was taken from L. J. Smith and given to a ghostwriter in a similar way that Vampire Diaries was taken from her. Alloy has no respect for L. J. and I have no respect for them. I will not be buying any books packaged by Alloy. They have a legal right to have the books written by who they like because of the wording of the contract L. J. signed. We also have the right to spend our money and show our support for the party(ies) that we choose. I support L. J. Smith.

    40 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    I don't care what other people say!

    This book was amazing with many twists and turns and a BIG cliffhanger at the end!
    All these other reviews are saying "this book is horrible because this is ghostwritten!" WHO CARES? I understand being loyal to an author, but personally i love this series and it did sound a lot like L.J. Smith! If you even remotely like this series DO NOT be discouraged by reading these other reviews!
    Read the book if you want to read the book!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Though I have not (and will not) read the book (partly because L

    Though I have not (and will not) read the book (partly because LJ Smith didn't write it, but mostly because ti seems poorly written), I red the expert and I was terribly disappointed. The story line has completely changed. The close friendship Cassie and Nick established is gone. The understanding and connection Cassie and Faye had reached has disappeared. Susan and Deborah are back to being Faye's followers when at the end of LJ Smith's version, Cassie and Deborah had become good friends while both she and Susan had begun to understand that the temptation of power was not worth the risk. Diana's character has even changed. She gave up Adam because she knew they didn't belong together, but embarrassment on her part is mentioned when Adam and Cassie are together.

    What's the worst is that Cassie's character has not stayed true to itself. Cassie was the shy, timid girl who went on a journey battling evil and came out a strong, brave, and confident witch. But at the beginning of the story we see her being intimidated by Faye when in the past, Cassie had clearly overcome Faye and had learned to face her.

    DO NOT READ THIS BOOK. It's not worth the time or money.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Disappointing.

    The book lacks the heart of the originals, ignores character development, and oddly even changes Adam's looks. Clearly a break in the series.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Not what I've been waiting for.

    I read the original trilogy back when it was first released. I LOVED it. My copies were read and re-read so often that the covers were very well worn. I was totally excited to hear that another book had been written, even if it was not written by LJ Smith herself. Unfortunately, this new book was definitely a let down. I found numerous flaws and inconsistencies that just seemed to take over the book. At the end, I felt like I was reading about total strangers, not the characters that I have come to love.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    I am so disappointed to them still feeding us books that are com

    I am so disappointed to them still feeding us books that are completely unlike the fabulous originals that L.J. Smith gave us. The stories easily read like another author wrote them and really piss me off bc it doesn't follow her style or even the plot lines that she had laid out before. These new books have completely ruined both the Secret Circle and the Vampire Diaries lines.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I have read all of L.J. Smith's books and loved them all. I cann

    I have read all of L.J. Smith's books and loved them all. I cannot wait to read more of them.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This isn't even written by L.J. It just gives her credit for the

    This isn't even written by L.J. It just gives her credit for the series. I still can't believe they've done this. So upset, cause I would love to read it.. But I will stay a faithful fan to L.J. Smith!!! Def. NOT purchasing.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Don't be fooled!

    I read the first three novels in this series when I was a young teen and they were favorites! Amazing books that I have read countless times and I have suggested them to many others over the years. This book does NOT measure up! It is very obvious the publisher is trying to capitalize the series popularity given the tv show tie in. However if anyone has read the books and seen the show you know how much of what eas great in the books was lost there. Same goes in this latest book. It is veryclear thatthis is not Smith writing, and doesnt even come close. Dont waste your time if you are an actual fan of the Secret Circle!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Awful

    This ghostwriter really knows how to ruin the secret circle series just as they knew how to crap all over the vamopire diaries

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Omg!

    Can't waitt. It's not by LJ Smith though. It's ghostwritten. Just sayin.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    so what if a different writer wrote this book (Kristin)

    A lot of people thinks just because l.j smith didn't write it. Do u think that the sercet circle is any thing different. To tell u the true i don't think that sercet circle is different , not really they are still fight some kind of darkness but i will say this that the circle is growing up and finding true love and friendship has been tested and betroval has come and go. I geass what ip trying to say must that no happen what happens in next books of the sercet circle i don't reget reading the books. I will amitted that i wish that there was more action but there will alway be the serect circle. U may not like it at first but u might just it by the end.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Loved it

    Cant wait for the next one

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Honestly, I get why everyone says "don't read", but it

    Honestly, I get why everyone says "don't read", but it was actually a really good book. With them cancelling the TV show, I really do what to know what happens next. It gives me a solid ending. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE L.J Smith. She's one of my heroes, but don't rag on the ghostwriter. This book was great, and those who want an ending have to read it, and the next one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Judy

    I've only read part of it....and i felled in love.with it(:
    It's a good book(:

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    BOOOO , why the hell would we read the series if she wasnt going

    BOOOO , why the hell would we read the series if she wasnt going to continue writing them ?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    :o

    Secret square : o

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Publishing?

    On L.J. Smiths web site she said this wasn't getting published.....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Mrb!!!!!!!

    Love the book soo mich

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ou know, I didn't expect to like this book. I really loved the f

    ou know, I didn't expect to like this book. I really loved the first Secret Circle books that I was a bit hesitant to read this one. I was taken away of how well the ghost writer, kept to the story line of The Secret Circle. I was expecting it to go off the grid and add all kinds of nonsense. Instead, I found myself happily in the shoes of Cassie and the circle, ready to do some magic!

    What I loved most about this book is how well the story line didn't derive from what is originally was but still grew. Back in New Salem, the circle has all the original characters (ALL 12) and pick up right from where the last book left off. They're back in school facing yet again, a new darkness, Witch Hunters. I like that this aspect is added to the story just like the tv series, but doesn't sway it too much. It's like as if the story never finished.

    The love interest with Cassie and Adam is what I expected it to be. Cassie is facing some serious insecurities along with major decisions she has to make for the circle. I like that Cassie spark is still there. She is strong yet selfless in her actions. I'm anxious to see how Adam and Cassie will face what is coming against them.

    The Divide is a great touch added to the series. It flows extremely well with added elements of love, lust, and action. Smart and Unpredictable, The Divide is amazing!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4