Customer Reviews for

Divine

Average Rating 4
( 1146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(490)

4 Star

(264)

3 Star

(177)

2 Star

(98)

1 Star

(117)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Thank you B&N

I know there will be some who will bash B&N for making an inspirational novel a free book, but I want to thank you! There are so many trashy romance novels that are free on the nook. I am so glad to see that something with good values is offered as well. Please cons...
I know there will be some who will bash B&N for making an inspirational novel a free book, but I want to thank you! There are so many trashy romance novels that are free on the nook. I am so glad to see that something with good values is offered as well. Please consider making more like this available. There is a large amount of people that like to read good wholesome stories too!

posted by rakess70 on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

offensive

inappropriate proselytizing. read like a religious tract left in a truck stop mens room

posted by Zerhackermann on April 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 490 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Thank you B&N

    I know there will be some who will bash B&N for making an inspirational novel a free book, but I want to thank you! There are so many trashy romance novels that are free on the nook. I am so glad to see that something with good values is offered as well. Please consider making more like this available. There is a large amount of people that like to read good wholesome stories too!

    40 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Must Read

    This is the best book I have read in a long time. I cried and cried - it really hits home and I would be willing to guess it will hit home for most of us. I love the way it shows that God loves us no matter what and that he has his hand out to all of us. The story was so well told - I could not put it down. Thank you Karen for writing this and also for letting us have it for free.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You will love this!

    I have loved every single book I have read by this author! This is good quality reading with morals and ethics and a terrific storyline. Thank you Barnes and Noble for giving us Karen KIngsbury this week, you have made my day!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    couldn't put it down!

    this book gives hope. no matter what we do or how many times we give up, God will always be here for us.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Wow, a religious fic freebie!

    Karen Kingsbury is a great author. Its too bad people react so harshly to any writing with religious messages. Those who don't like it should just let it be, and read whatever it is they like, instead of trash talk it. There's no need to blatantly soapbox to get a cut in on those of a religious mind.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    Excellent read!

    Haven't read a book that has pulled me in like this in a long time. I hate that I have to go to work and put this book down. So, far not a dull moment. I'm more than half way done and can't wait to see what happens next. Highly recommended for anyone going through any hard times

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific modernization of Mary Magdalene

    In the DC area at one of her women¿s shelter, Mary Madison is briefed by her receptionist Leah Hamilton that her newest resident Emma Randall looks suicidal and ready to bolt. Battered and with no hope, the twenty-three year old Emma considers herself unworthy and ready to flee now that her two young children are safe from their abusive father Charlie. However, Leah softly gets Emma to meet with the legendary Mary while four years old Kami and two years old Kaitlyn play with dolls. --- Mary shocks the frightened Emma by asking if she should like to hear her story not just the media account. Hesitantly Emma agrees so Mary explains how Jesus loved her and saved her. She was a little girl when her hooker mother took them to stay with her maternal Grandma Peggy who gives the little girl a purse with scripture inside. However, her mother immediately removed them back to the streets. When she scores a three day job with out of town Johns, her mom leaves Mary with her pimp the last time they saw one another. From that moment Mary battled the seven demons that lead to sin and helplessness until she meets a believer who introduces her to Jesus. --- This is a terrific modernization of Mary Magdalene living in Washington DC and using her story to encourage other people especially women that hope lies with Jesus. Mary¿s tale is told in flashbacks, which enhances how far she has come. Karen Kingsbury provides a deep character study of how one woman with help overcame seven contemporary demons (drugs, prostitution, etc.), but also makes no apologies that the author believes the path is with Jesus readers who want a clear split between state and religion may find the religious message overbearing, but everyone will agree that Ms. Kingsbury provides an entreating parable starring a modernized Magdalene. --- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    thank you

    thanks for making clean books a free choice. love karen kingsbury!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    loved it

    i downloaded this book because it was free and loved it. It was VERY inspirational and an old story a modern day twist. Everybody has a sad story, it how you grow from it that matters! I will defiently look for more by Karen Kingsbury.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Read, read, read

    Easy to read and really touches your heart. I had doubts about how much I would enjoy this book but I fell into it quite easily. It's a love story that emphases God's love for us and our love for each other. Try it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Recommended

    Thank you B&N for making this book available. It is good to know that you choose inspirational books. I don't like to read anything that has bad language so this one I can read through.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This book is awesome. It is the first Karen Kingsbury book that I read & I didn't want to put it down. Modern Day Mary Magadelene story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Great book!

    One of her finest novels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Word 4 Word

    What a story. Turning tragedy in to triumph. Couldn't put book down. Would definitely recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Divine

    Love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Awsome!!!!!!

    All I can say is WOW! Talking about being a witness - God had wonderful plans for this lady. A must read! Held yur attention from the very beginning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Moving

    Great Great book ....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Kingsbury's best work as a storyteller

    If you are seeking a lighthearted romance this is not it. Kingsbury's selection of characters and plot was daring in her mainstream readers. Her development of characters was superb. In particular the chronology of Mary's reasoning, intellect, spiritual awareness and emotions is genius. Not only because of the wide span of years but also because often the scene was sensitive for a child and therefore difficult to describe how Mary felt or what she thought. The use of storytelling was genius and keeps both timelines active for reader.
    I would recommemd for adult readers. Material is so much grapbic as it is heartwretching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    loved it, but......

    I bought this book, started reading it and realized I had already bought this for my nook and read it last year, so I was very disappointed in myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have been a Karen Kingsbury fan for a while now, but this book

    I have been a Karen Kingsbury fan for a while now, but this book stands out from the rest. I really enjoyed the story and the lessons that were expertly woven into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 490 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 25