BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Divine Misdemeanors (Meredith Gentry Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 727 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(367)

4 Star

(189)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Laurell K. Hamilton shows her great writing talent once again!

They were crowned queen and king of the Unseelie Court by Faerie and the Goddess, but Princess Merry and her bodyguard lover Doyle choose to return to California and set up her own court. Now they live in Los Angeles where they stay together based on love and trust ins...
They were crowned queen and king of the Unseelie Court by Faerie and the Goddess, but Princess Merry and her bodyguard lover Doyle choose to return to California and set up her own court. Now they live in Los Angeles where they stay together based on love and trust instead of pain and intrigue. They earn a living at sleuths at the Grey Detective Agency.--------------

Their latest case is horrible. Twenty demi-elves (small Barbie like creatures with wings who look like angels but are anything but the sort) were killed and posed as if they were in a children's book. The only living witness, a survivor of the massacre of the serial killing of her kind, obviously saw something but flees before the detectives can question her. A few days later, a brownie and her human husband are killed in their home once again posed from another children's story. The two sleuths learn there are two killers, one with wings, bur many creatures have wings in Faerie. Merry and her retinue know only one way to prevent more ritual murders; she is served up as bait.------------

Laurell K. Hamilton shows her talent to make alternate worlds filled with mythological creatures living side by side with humans seem real. Merry is a heroine who avoids the Seelie and Unseelie Courts as she detests the intrigue that flows everywhere like light waves do on earth. The Goddess still favors her and creates a new faerie mound in aptly named Los Angeles in an apropos apartment building. The investigation is entertaining as Merry cannot help her people by offering herself as a potential sacrifice to catch serial killers. Even with that as the prime theme, Ms. Hamilton is at her provocative sensual best in Divine Misdemeanors.--------------------

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Glad I get these from the library and don't waste my money!

Another disappointment. The plot went absolutely nowhere and the author repeats herself so many times that it's almost insulting to the reader. This is the 8th book in the series. We understand who Meredith is and who all the men in her life are. And if you've explained...
Another disappointment. The plot went absolutely nowhere and the author repeats herself so many times that it's almost insulting to the reader. This is the 8th book in the series. We understand who Meredith is and who all the men in her life are. And if you've explained once in detail why Merry wears a knife under her skirt but specifically touching her skin do you then need to do the exact same explanation a few chapters later. It's ridiculous that there's a couple short chapters of plot then Meredith has sex. A small bit of plot then more sex with different people. And the sex isn't even good any more!! How many times did we read about Merry screaming out her lover's name? Has Laurell Hamilton written so many sex scenes between Anita and Merry that she just ran out of descriptive words? I picked up these books when the Anita Blake series turned into purely erotic fiction. Plenty of sex with Merry as well but there seemed to be a really good story most of the time as the men kept coming into their powers and she struggled politically. I have a feeling Merry's series just went right downhill with Anita's. I honestly don't know why I keep reading them at all since I just get disappointed over and over. There are so many other series out there that are smart, thrilling, imaginative and sexy that I don't know why I keep wasting my time.

posted by hlizmarie on January 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 733 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Glad I get these from the library and don't waste my money!

    Another disappointment. The plot went absolutely nowhere and the author repeats herself so many times that it's almost insulting to the reader. This is the 8th book in the series. We understand who Meredith is and who all the men in her life are. And if you've explained once in detail why Merry wears a knife under her skirt but specifically touching her skin do you then need to do the exact same explanation a few chapters later. It's ridiculous that there's a couple short chapters of plot then Meredith has sex. A small bit of plot then more sex with different people. And the sex isn't even good any more!! How many times did we read about Merry screaming out her lover's name? Has Laurell Hamilton written so many sex scenes between Anita and Merry that she just ran out of descriptive words? I picked up these books when the Anita Blake series turned into purely erotic fiction. Plenty of sex with Merry as well but there seemed to be a really good story most of the time as the men kept coming into their powers and she struggled politically. I have a feeling Merry's series just went right downhill with Anita's. I honestly don't know why I keep reading them at all since I just get disappointed over and over. There are so many other series out there that are smart, thrilling, imaginative and sexy that I don't know why I keep wasting my time.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Disappointing!!!

    After the thrilling events of Swallowing Darkness which almost impossibly tied up many questions about Merry and her men, Divine Misdeameanors takes readers on a rudderless and uninteresting ride around southern California. The mystery falls flat, and gives too much time to peripheral characters that don't advance the story line. I fear that this series is dead, if this is the type of story we have to look forward to for Merry. Swallowing Darkness should have been the finale!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Laurell K. Hamilton shows her great writing talent once again!

    They were crowned queen and king of the Unseelie Court by Faerie and the Goddess, but Princess Merry and her bodyguard lover Doyle choose to return to California and set up her own court. Now they live in Los Angeles where they stay together based on love and trust instead of pain and intrigue. They earn a living at sleuths at the Grey Detective Agency.--------------

    Their latest case is horrible. Twenty demi-elves (small Barbie like creatures with wings who look like angels but are anything but the sort) were killed and posed as if they were in a children's book. The only living witness, a survivor of the massacre of the serial killing of her kind, obviously saw something but flees before the detectives can question her. A few days later, a brownie and her human husband are killed in their home once again posed from another children's story. The two sleuths learn there are two killers, one with wings, bur many creatures have wings in Faerie. Merry and her retinue know only one way to prevent more ritual murders; she is served up as bait.------------

    Laurell K. Hamilton shows her talent to make alternate worlds filled with mythological creatures living side by side with humans seem real. Merry is a heroine who avoids the Seelie and Unseelie Courts as she detests the intrigue that flows everywhere like light waves do on earth. The Goddess still favors her and creates a new faerie mound in aptly named Los Angeles in an apropos apartment building. The investigation is entertaining as Merry cannot help her people by offering herself as a potential sacrifice to catch serial killers. Even with that as the prime theme, Ms. Hamilton is at her provocative sensual best in Divine Misdemeanors.--------------------

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I love Laurell K. hamilton but her latest books don't impress me much. I was so excited for the next book of the Meredith Gentry series and normally i can't put her books down but this one i could. It felt like a filler book. Nothing big happened and there wasn't anything really new about the characters you love in this series. The end was really anticlimatic, it reminded me of her other latest book from the Anita Blake series. You read about this powerful bad guy who is so strong and in both books, the bad guy gets defeated in like 2 pages. So in my opinion the book was ok. If you love the series i still recommend to get it but wait until its cheaper or rent it from your local library. I really hope Hamilton gets back on her game, i still have hope yet:)

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Big Let Down

    I think this is the first time I've come across a book that had 352 pages but expanded so little on the overall plot. I was so excited and couldn't wait to read it and all i could think was wow i was excited for this. I suggest borrowing this from the library, Don't waste your money!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a disappointment!

    I have been looking forward to this book for so long and it was such a let down. It lacked all the fantasy, romance and thrills the books before it had. The plot took Meredith back to California, when no one cares about that. We want to know what is going on in the fairy mound with the Queen and some more action! It is almost as if a whole different person wrote this book. Jeez Hamilton, what a way to let down your fans!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What happened?

    The story starts off with a murder scene that she has been called to by the police and here I am thinking, "Oh yes, back to the original formula." Little do i yet know here comes the, "how do you put yourself in danger your pregnant" diatribe for a dozen pages. Talk about start with a bang for two or three chapter then go fizzle, fizzle. The true telling point is when I can skip paragraphs at a time and not miss them in the main story. LKH truly give meaning to filler in much of the descriptions that are plentiful and snooze worthy. And when a conversation between the guards and Merry would get interesting, inevitability there would be an interuption and ruin the section of the book making it disjointed. I was truly disappointed, but then again the big triumph was in the last novel, so perhaps my expectations were too high. If you are a fan of the series none of this will matter and you will read the book and get your fix. But to all you first timers or those slightly interested, i recommend the library or to skip it. I long for the stories of the 1990s that LKH once wrote and I'm in mourning for trees that had to die to produce this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    Blah Blah Blah

    "Blah, blah, blah..." is what I kept thinking to myself as I was reading this book. I love the Meredith Gentry series, but this one was so disappointing that I'm angry that I even bought this book instead of borrowing it from the library. I was reading Chapter 42 when I felt like this book was still going nowhere in it's plot, which was really sad because I was nearing the end of the book. Even then I had hope that somehow the ending would make up for how badly the rest of the book sucked, but even when I finished the last page, I thought to myself, "That's it?!"

    This book went into so much detail describing every single character that was in it, that I kept forgetting what the story was even about. It also spent a great amount of time recapping all the previous books in this series with very little time creating a story of it's own. I'm so disappointed that I'm not even sure that I'll even bother to continue reading the Meredith Gentry series. If I do, I'll be sure to borrow it from the library rather than spend my own money on it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    are they sure they printed the final draft

    seemed jumpy, switched locations right in the middle of a paragraph. Had a couple areas of repeativeness, almost word for word. Getting a little tired of the whinning. I consider myself a diehard fan of Laurell's work, but it is getting really hard to buy the next book after reading this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    not recommended

    This book seems to have been churned out just to fill a yearly
    book quota. If this is the end of this series, then prehaps its
    for the best. Hopefully, Ms. hamilton can come up with something
    new and fresh.The Anita Blake series and this series had so much
    potential, but far too many similarities shared between them.
    Ms.Hamilton is an excellent writer but, these two series should
    be put to bed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    I would like to see all of the peoplle who didn't like this book

    I would like to see all of the peoplle who didn't like this book...Because it wasn't her best. Come up with your own series, NO, two series, of her quality. I think she has done an excellent job. I can't wait til she comes out with another meridith gentry book!!!!
    YOU SHOULD ALL BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELVES!!!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Just crank out another one.....

    Was there actually a story in here or was this book simply to move the pregnancy along? I was very disappointed. It seems like this book was 1) woo hoo we're pregnant 2) let's have sex everywhere with every character and bring everyone into their 'powers', 3) and maybe solve a murder mystery.

    The ending was like "okay, Merry's pregnant - fast forward to the next book I'm going to write with whatever bizarro sex stuff I dream up for the delivery book".

    I'm just not liking this story line much anymore.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another excellent novel which leads you to want to read more...

    LKH has done a wonderful job again with the newest Merry book. The continuing tale of the self-imposed exile in LA while trying to solve murders by a serial killer(s) and keep her people safe is engaging and hard to put down. As always, I am left with wanting to read more when the book is ending.

    I highly recommend reading the series from the first book before picking up Divine Misdeameanors. If you like this you will also enjoy her other series Anita Blake Vampire Hunter.

    Other authors who are noteworthy: Chris Marie Green, Rachel Caine, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Rachelle Meade, Gena Showalter.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    Worth The Wait

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It was nice to see Merry on the West Coast for an entire book and showing what she does for a living and how her princess status affects her ability to work. I love how the paparazzi played a role in this as well as how integrated the fey were into different aspects of the city. But most of all I enjoyed the doling out of reality she bestowed upon characters and the reading audience. Making the men of her court understand that being royalty doesn't mean there aren't bills to play and people to support. Nor does it mean that they all have a right to her body or getting all of the powers back no matter how much they may want them. And that sometimes love really is the answer.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Permanently in my head

    One of the best escape novels I have ever read.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    I have read most of her book from both series. I already gave u

    I have read most of her book from both series. I already gave up on Anita Blake. This was so dry, so uninteresting, that I am sure I will not buy the next one. I might read it and hope, but I won't waste any more money on her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just okay

    I love both the Merry and Anita series' and was excited for this, the 8th of the Merry series. Since she gave up the crown for love, a number of new issues and concerns will arise. Unfortunately, that was the bulk of the book....issues, new arisings and concerns with no resolutions, just the presentation of the problem. The only resolution is the murder they are investigating for this book. It was almost overwhelming, there were so many unrelated issues brought up, discussed briefly, and then completely dropped. The characters and happenings that should or could have be explored better were not and one character dropped in only for a sex scene that seemed minimally related to the entire book........That being said I did enjoy the book. I believe that it sets up for changes that will be approaching in this new life they are making for themselves. As much as I think too much was presented for the future I am excited to see where it will go. It was not one of the best of the series, but it will probably be an important piece to the overall story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not one of her better ones.

    I was so excited when I got this in the mail and cracked it open and started reading it.... then I was so UNHAPPY! Not sure what happened with this is book, but I did not like it at all. Over all it was just ok to me. It seemed to be missing or lacking something and I just can not put my finger on what it is.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2014

    This book was poorly edited and left a lot to be desired. It wa

    This book was poorly edited and left a lot to be desired. It was obvious that Hamilton got tired of the series and
    simply threw some words together and hoped or the best since she had a deadline. I like the Meredith Gentry series, but this was not even worthy of the title or money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Rumor of more

    Ive heard that laurel k hamilton is suppose to be continuing the meredith gentry series boy do i hope she does

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 733 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37