Customer Reviews for

Divine by Choice (Devine Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I did enjoy reading the rest of this.

    I did enjoy reading the rest of this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    Divine By Choice

    Six months after her entry to Partholon, Shannon Parker has fully embraced her role as Beloved of Epona and wife of ClanFintan. She is even expecting her first child and the only problem in her world seems to be morning sickness. Then, while trying on a ride in hopes of calming her steed, Epi, Shannon is drawn back to her original world by Clint Freeman, her husband's mirror in this world. Although she and Rhiannon, the woman she replaced, are polar opposites, Clint and her cherished centaur are pretty much clones of each other in their souls. He brought her back to Earth, hoping to stop Rhiannon's evil, but what he did was disrupt Shannon's life and the natural balance in Partholon. Moreover, her evil twin has summoned Nuada back from the dead, and he is determined to destroy everyone Shannon loves. Though she must return to her true home, Shannon knows she has to stop the dark mage first, no matter what the sacrifice. ............... ***** I've waited for this story since I read the first version of Divine by Mistake when it was released earlier (which was released originally as Goddess by Mistake in 2001). It was worth the wait. Shannon's story still has humor, but there is a poignance that adds depth to it as well. At one point, Shannon fantasizes about the hero of the Outlander novels, but if I could speak to her, I'd tell her that her story surpasses that series by far. Add this book to your Christmas list A.S.A.P.! *****

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great series

    I really enjoyed the first book in the series, Divine By Mistake. So I was excited to start Divine by Choice. My hopes for it were that it had the same writing style that captured me in to first the story and that the main character would be just as enjoyable. I got all that, plus an unbelievably exciting plot! This book wasn't as long as the first one, but it held just as much action as the first.

    In the beginning, Shannon is enjoying her new life with her centaur husband and ready to start a family. Then she is pulled back into her old life in Oklahoma. I enjoyed seeing more of Shannon's life before Partholon. I love the concept Cast has created of mirror twins. Shannon has only the help of her husband ClanFintan's mirror, a man named Clint. But he isn't just an ordinary man, he is a shaman in our world. At first, I hated Clint. Only because I loved Clanfintan so much in the first book. How dare this new guy come along! But once I got over that, I could see Shannon's dilemma. It would be a hard and confusing thing for any girl to be around your husband's mirror image, especially if you are afraid you may never get to see your husband again. I think the die hard romance fans will become upset at Shannon in some points, but for me Clint added a very exciting element into the story.

    I was glad to have all my questions answered about Rhinannon. It was nice to know how Shannon and Rhinannon became such different people. I still think that Rhinannon is a horrible person that does some evil things, but hearing about her past, I couldn't help but sympathize with her. Parts of her past were very intense to read about, to the point that I was peaking through my fingers while reading it. This book is definitely for adult readers.

    The same monster Shannon has to fight in the story is back, except it is now in our world. Shannon has to stop it before it harms her family. I felt so bad for Shannon, she had to go through so much emotionally in this book. Yes, I really sympathized with her, because that is how emotionally invested I have become in this character. When Shannon was going through something, it felt like I was going through it. I love how Cast can make the characters feel that real to you. Even though Shannon goes through hard times, she still had the same great sense of humor and snarky side that I loved in the first book.

    The ending had me crying and was tearing me up a little inside. But the last few pages made me hopeful Shannon might be able to gain back and keep her happily ever after. I am excited to jump in to the next book and see the conclusion in Shannon's story. Divine by Choice was a fantastic sequel. I usually don't enjoy a sequel more than the first book, but I did here. I have high hopes for Divine by Blood!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Just amazing! I was in tears towards the end of this book, whic

    Just amazing!

    I was in tears towards the end of this book, which held me enthralled all of the way through. I felt as much a part of Shannon, as if I was going through everything with her. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Another homerun...

    As usual PCCast entertains my imagination and evokes emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    I want a horseman!

    Good read! However, i missed Parthalon and Clanfintan!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Must read

    This is the second book in the series and its just as good as the first. I love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    AWESOME

    This series is one of the best I have read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    leaves alot to be desired.

    I didnt think this story was a good flow to the first. This book left me with too many questions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!

    Love this Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    Wonderful...Must read

    you definitely had to read Divine by Mistake to follow this book, i LOVED it, again Shannon Parker one of my favorite characters EVER. If you are into books taking you on emotional trips this is the series for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    Good continuation of the series

    Overall, I find the Partholon series entertaining, funny and romantic. There are only a few things that occasionally annoy me while reading this trilogy...

    1) The repetitive usage of snarky defensive comments in parentheses. I know it's used as a comedic tool in P.C. Cast's writing but sometimes it's a bit much.
    2) The protagonist, Shannon Parker, uses the word "Please" a lot. It makes her sound more like a teenager than a thirty-five year old woman.
    3) I understand that Partholon is a matriarchal world where a goddess is the deity of choice but does that necessarily mean the female protagonist should be so...errr..."loose"? For a jealous middle-aged woman, Shannon sure seems to live a double standard in expecting her husband, ClanFintan, to be utterly faithful to her but yet she can get away with cheating by using the "Goddess made me do it" excuse.

    Like any modern-day woman, I appreciate the strength of Shannon as a female protagonist but sometimes I don't like her much. Zoey Redbird, the female protagonist of the House of Night series behaves in a similar manner in terms of having three boyfriends at once in one of the books. One can be a strong woman with a mind for independent thinking while still being a one-man only woman. If I expect my man to be faithful to me the least I can do is offer him the same degree of respect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    A thrilling read!

    I am currently reading the last book in this series, Divine by Blood, simply because since I started reading this series, I haven't been able to put it down!
    This series contains a twisting and gripping tale of an average English Teacher from Oklahoma who suddenly finds herself thrown into another world that mirrors our own. She finds that rather than being a mundane underpaid teacher, she is now the Goddess Incarnate of Epona, with a generous helping of adoring and worshiping followers. Among other things, she enters into this world to find herself being rushed to prepare for her handfasting ceremony with none other than a centaur. A huge, extremely handsome centaur at that.
    The story continues as love begins to form between her and her centaur husband, who can magically transform into a human man for one night at a time so they can be together as husband and wife.
    What else could you ask for in a book? There are dangerous battles of good and evil, and mystifying plot twists.
    In this second book in the series, I was truly hooked as the story continued. The main character Rhea/Shannon, winds up back in Oklahoma with a man that mirrors her husband from Partholon, whom she has grown to love so deeply. The similarities between the two are striking, and she finds herself battling whether to love her husband look-alike or not.
    Again she is smack in the face of evil, as the dark force that was banished in the first book comes back to haunt her, and everyone that she loves in this world.
    She ends up coming face to face with Rhiannon, her mirror image who switched places with her in the first place. Rhiannon had been flourishing in her new world, while tarnishing Shannon's good name in the process. Rhiannon is also the one who has been calling this dark evil back from the grave, so to speak.
    That is all I can say, I will leave the rest to be found out by the reader!
    My only complaint about this book series, is about the main character, Rhea/Shannon-whichever you prefer to call her. In the midst of a beautiful story unfolding before me, I get very annoyed at times with how rude and crude she can be. I suppose this is the "true Oklahoman" coming out in her. But many of her side comments and self narration of her story contain a plethora of cussing, and to be honest, just straight smut. It's very irritating to be reading a beautiful part of the story of lovemaking between her and her husband, for her to interrupt with the thoughts of hoping that her a** doesn't jiggle too much. Just doesn't seem very fitting for the story at times.
    Otherwise, if smut talk is not something that bothers you, get this series! Besides what I have listed as clearly being a bother to me, I have also enjoyed the twisting tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Fantasy

    In the magical world of Partholon, where creatures of myth and legend exist, Shannon Parker, known as Lady Rhiannon, with the help of her allies has won the war with the demonic vampiric race the Famorians and killing their leader Nuada. Shannon was originally from Oklahoma but the real lady Rhiannon High Priestess Incarnate and Beloved of the goddess Epona created a spell that had the two women change places. Shannon is happy in her new world and in love with her husband the centaur ClanFintan.----------------- She is pregnant with his child and is happy until another spell is cast and Shannon is returned to Oklahoma. The spell caster Clint was hoping to send the real Rhiannon back to her world but that part of it failed. He hates her perverted uses of sex, the murders she has committed, her need to be rich and powerful. Shannon wants to return to her home but she can¿t because in our world, Rhiannon has raised the spirit of Nuada who intends to kill all those she loves. She must find a way to banish him and she hopes with Clint¿s help, they can defeat the dark evil that that Rhiannon has called up.----------------- DIVINE BY CHOICE is a delightful continuation of the adventures of the former Oklahoma schoolteacher and her evil ¿twin¿ (see DIVINE BY MISTAKE). Readers curiosity about Rhiannon is totally satisfied and the love Shannon feels for her husband and Clint takes away from neither because it is blessed by Epona. P.C. Cast is a magical storyteller, a worldbuilder and a creative fantasist.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10