Customer Reviews for

Divine by Mistake (Devine Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 243 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Exciting and Beautiful

Having been a fan of P.C. and Kristen Cast's House of Night series, I have to admit that I was a little apprehensive about trying out any of P.C. Cast's other books. For the most part, I love the House of Night series - would I feel the same way about her other books? ...
Having been a fan of P.C. and Kristen Cast's House of Night series, I have to admit that I was a little apprehensive about trying out any of P.C. Cast's other books. For the most part, I love the House of Night series - would I feel the same way about her other books? While I do try to read many of my books in an objective format that allows me to see the good parts in each individual piece, I was afraid that if I became disenchanted with Cast's adult books, it might ruin her young adult ones for me as well.

I am pleased to announce that I should have just thrown my worry to the ground and squished it under my shoe. While definitely having a different feel to them than the House of Night books do, the Goddess of Partholon books are turning out to be pretty spectacular. The first in the series, DIVINE BY MISTAKE follows Shannon Parker, a school teacher loving the freedom of summer break, as she discovers an ancient vase that will turn her world upside down - literally. Where there were once cars, there are now horses. Jeans and a cashmere sweater? Nope, let's try a lovely wrapped piece of silk and some strappy sandals.

I'll admit that the beginning of the book was a little hard to get into. I almost put it down to take a break, but decided to keep on going. You'll remember that I said the same thing about Stephenie Meyer's The Host. The beginning was slow but the rest of the book was phenomenal. In this case, it seemed like the beginning of DIVINE BY MISTAKE almost went by a little too quickly. Some things didn't seem fully explained and other didn't make sense. I had to ignore my mind as it tried to figure out the spatial aspect of the story as it didn't always seem like the shapes and sizes of things in the story were described the same as the way they were used. Once I was able to get past this, however, I realized what a great book this really is.

If there is anything new I have discovered about P.C. Cast's writing it's that this author is incredibly funny. The House of Night series can be humorous, but in general Zoey and her posse follow a fairly dark path. While there were certainly very dark and very graphic scenes in DIVINE BY MISTAKE, Ms. Cast was able to throw quite a bit of humor in their to lighten up the mood of the book. I can honestly say that Shannon is one of my favorite characters in the stories I have read thus far this year. The author has imbued her with a sense of humor, a modern personality that clashes beautifully with the old-fashioned world she has been transported to, and a set of quirks that just make her adorable.

While we're discussing wonderful characters, let's visit ClanFintan, shall we. I can honestly say that I had never read a story that included any form of romance between a centaur and a human. I didn't know how it would work and it if would be weird, but the way Ms. Cast created her world and the way she developed her characters made this aspect of the story one of the best. ClanFintan is like any tall, dark, and handsome man we dream of. Only difference is that he has the hindquarters of a horse. What could be better for those of us that never grew out of our princess and horse-lover phase? The author's descriptions of ClanFintan, his mannerisms, and the personality she gives him really helped to make this one heck of a book.

posted by AJourneyOfBooks on April 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Numbers

What is the order of the series? I want to know so i can read as i wait for hidden to come out.

posted by 11554651 on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 245 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting and Beautiful

    Having been a fan of P.C. and Kristen Cast's House of Night series, I have to admit that I was a little apprehensive about trying out any of P.C. Cast's other books. For the most part, I love the House of Night series - would I feel the same way about her other books? While I do try to read many of my books in an objective format that allows me to see the good parts in each individual piece, I was afraid that if I became disenchanted with Cast's adult books, it might ruin her young adult ones for me as well.

    I am pleased to announce that I should have just thrown my worry to the ground and squished it under my shoe. While definitely having a different feel to them than the House of Night books do, the Goddess of Partholon books are turning out to be pretty spectacular. The first in the series, DIVINE BY MISTAKE follows Shannon Parker, a school teacher loving the freedom of summer break, as she discovers an ancient vase that will turn her world upside down - literally. Where there were once cars, there are now horses. Jeans and a cashmere sweater? Nope, let's try a lovely wrapped piece of silk and some strappy sandals.

    I'll admit that the beginning of the book was a little hard to get into. I almost put it down to take a break, but decided to keep on going. You'll remember that I said the same thing about Stephenie Meyer's The Host. The beginning was slow but the rest of the book was phenomenal. In this case, it seemed like the beginning of DIVINE BY MISTAKE almost went by a little too quickly. Some things didn't seem fully explained and other didn't make sense. I had to ignore my mind as it tried to figure out the spatial aspect of the story as it didn't always seem like the shapes and sizes of things in the story were described the same as the way they were used. Once I was able to get past this, however, I realized what a great book this really is.

    If there is anything new I have discovered about P.C. Cast's writing it's that this author is incredibly funny. The House of Night series can be humorous, but in general Zoey and her posse follow a fairly dark path. While there were certainly very dark and very graphic scenes in DIVINE BY MISTAKE, Ms. Cast was able to throw quite a bit of humor in their to lighten up the mood of the book. I can honestly say that Shannon is one of my favorite characters in the stories I have read thus far this year. The author has imbued her with a sense of humor, a modern personality that clashes beautifully with the old-fashioned world she has been transported to, and a set of quirks that just make her adorable.

    While we're discussing wonderful characters, let's visit ClanFintan, shall we. I can honestly say that I had never read a story that included any form of romance between a centaur and a human. I didn't know how it would work and it if would be weird, but the way Ms. Cast created her world and the way she developed her characters made this aspect of the story one of the best. ClanFintan is like any tall, dark, and handsome man we dream of. Only difference is that he has the hindquarters of a horse. What could be better for those of us that never grew out of our princess and horse-lover phase? The author's descriptions of ClanFintan, his mannerisms, and the personality she gives him really helped to make this one heck of a book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Divine

    I loved this book, it was a funny & fun easy read. I don't know that I would call this a "teen" book but as an adult I thought it was great. The heroine is a 35 year old, under paid, over worked, sarcastic, wine drinkin school teacher with a string of bad relationships. So as a 35 year old sarcastic, wine drinkin', bad realtionship magnet I most deffinately identify. I would like to live in partholon as long as there is t.p. & wine! Oh and the horse bites! Read it & you will get that comment :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    A Must Read!!!!!

    I could not put this book down! It was not only really funny but aslo romantic. Read it you will not regret it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Numbers

    What is the order of the series? I want to know so i can read as i wait for hidden to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2006

    fun mythological romance

    Thirty something high school English teacher Shannon Parker stops at an auction sale where she notices a vase containing a portrait of her on it. She wins the bid with a ridiculously low price tag due to a mysteriously appearing crack inside the vase. On her way home, Shannon is transported from her vehicle to a luxurious temple where her friend Suzanna calls her Lady. She soon learns that the vase was a portal that her ¿twin¿ the High Priestess of Epona Rhiannon used for them to switch places Suzanna is actually Rhiannon¿s slave Alanna. --- Centaur ClanFintan arrives with his ¿horsies¿ to demand Rhiannon complete the hand-fastening ceremony that would have them married for a year. Shannon goes through the ceremony, but refuses to take any lip (or other body part) from a man built at least down there like a thoroughbred. Instead she treats him and others the same way she taught teenage hormonal maniacs in Oklahoma. As the transplanted Shannon and the shapeshifting centaur fall in love, she tells him who she is while they team up to battle the malevolent Famorians, demonic vampire like evil creatures and to prevent the real Rhiannon from returning. --- The first ¿Goddess¿ book is a fun to read mythological romance because the different species of legend seem genuine and the strong heroine is ready to do battle in this case on behalf of her new society and her beloved against her ¿twin¿ and the Famorians using the techniques honed in teaching wars with teenagers. This tale is amusing mostly due to Shannon¿s observations and quips yet it has its¿ serious moments too (for instance the worshipped Goddess learns that teachers are treated with economic contempt). Though the heroine adjusts too easily, fantasy romance fans will cast about seeking the remaining delightful Goddess tales. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Lovelovelove it

    I absolutely adore this book. I read a lot,but I have a select few books that I cannot help but read again and again. This is one of those books. Its a wonderful story and some parts had me laughing aloud in crowded place. Definatly worth while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Amazing series

    First series I actually laughed out loud, covered my mouth in disbelief and cry...really cry. You will fall in love with these characters.Must must must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Mom of 2

    Could not put this book down! Its a great read, it has great charecters! I fell inlove with main man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    A MUST FOR THE HOUSE OF NIGHT FANS

    The Divine Series by P.C. Cast is just as enthralling and
    spell binding as the House of Night Series. I fell in love
    with the the Godess and all of her chosen ones and didn't want
    it to end. P.C. is above all one of my favorite writers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Want more

    I really want to hear more about Shannon and her children we need more books








    Y

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not up to standard - 2 Reviews

    Let me start by saying that I am currently on page 130 of this book (Divine by Mistake). So far I don't like it, it reads like someone babbling aloud and it takes me out of the story. I want to like it but the style of writing is very distracting. The author sometimes describes things through several pages that could be told effectively with one paragraph. It's not suspenseful, it's distracting. That being said, I do like P.C. Cast's Goddess of Summoning books. I've read all of them up to Goddess of Legend and i like them all. I'm hoping this book will get a lot better very soon. Will do another review when finished with book.

    I've just finished the book and I am happy with it. It did get a lot better after i wrote my last review and though the plot of this story isn't flawless I still like the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    not one of pc cast best books but great any way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Has it all

    This book has it all mystery, love story.. couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    It was funny! Not predictable. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    I absolutely loved this book, there were times that I just couldn't put it down, and not just because its a love story but it was funny as well. PC Cast just cracks me up...and the one liners that she comes up with are absolutely hilarious. Ok so she isnt exactly a comedy writer but she has a wonderful sence of humor, one that I totally get! If you get the chance to read this story I recommend it, its quite an interesting take on love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    excellent read, funny & witty

    i love the way P.C. can take mythology and make it her own...i read the goddess series and just had to read more of her work. i love Shannon Parker's character she has to be one of my favorites i would recommend this book/series to anyone who just like to curl up for a couple of hours and escape to a magical world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very highly recommended!

    I absolutely love this series! I enjoyed the first, but was a little disappointed with the open ending for Aine and Tegan. But I ordered the second and am very glad I did! I have been sucked into the world P.C. Cast has created and have a difficult time putting it down. Her words made me laugh out loud and I cried at the appropriate times. I have not yet finished it, bit this book is enthralling. And I cannot wait to read the rest of this series and will be reading it again in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    author makes you habe many emotions!!

    I realy enjoyed this book; after reading many vampire books I didn't think I would be able to enjoy another style but boy was I wrong. It has some adult language....I WAS SICK OF ALL THE TEEN BOOKS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Partholon delight

    This book has a slight twist on the "modern person finds themselves in a fantasy world" trope: The people in the fantasy world are "mirror copies" of Shannon 's friends and acquaintances in the modern world. Shannon and the mirror version of herself in Partholon (Rhiannon) switch places. It turns out that while Shannon and Rhiannon look alike and have similar tastes in jewelry, perfume, etc. that they are quite different personality-wise. Presumably this is due to different life circumstances; Shannon is a high-school teacher, and the daughter of a high-school teacher. Rhiannon is the daughter of a powerful lord (think Scottish clan chieftain) and grew up as the Beloved of the Goddess Epona - essentially treated as if she were the goddess herself, which made her rather spoiled and self-centered. The fact that Shannon already has a defined place in Partholon society, as well as feeling like she knows people already helps my belief in the ease with which she transitions into the new world. I wish, however, that it wasn't only Shannon that had a different personality; everyone she meets that she recognizes from her previous life, behave pretty much as she expects them to based on her acquaintance with their mirror-selves in the modern world. It seems odd to me that it's only Shannon that makes such different choices due to differing circumstances.

    Mostly the plot is the standard "modern person finds themselves in a fantasy world, and must save the world from evil". However, there is a huge romantic element to this book. For me, the love story between Shannon and ClanFintan is the main charm of the book. ClanFintan is even more of a romantic hero wish-fufillment then Colon Firth's Mr. Darcy! I am not at all sure why ClanFintan falls in love with Shannon (when apparently he has every reason to dislike her body-double Rhiannon, and Shannon doesn't tell him that she's not Rhiannon until after they fall in love). The only explanation seems to be divine intervention, which is exactly how the Goddess Epona explains him to Shannon . ClanFintan is truly a dream-come-true as a romantic hero - he's sweet, funny, and incredibly caring and giving. However, it did start to bother me that their relationship eventually felt rather one-sided - at one point he spends the evening massaging and pampering Shannon because she's had a hard day. There is no acknowledgement that his day organizing the war effort was probably just as rough as hers. By the end of the book I was uneasy that it didn't seem to me that Shannon gave back (or was allowed to do so). However, reading about all that caring and pampering makes me completely enamored of ClanFintan.

    The fact that ClanFintan is a centaur while Shannon is human is an interesting one. Especially since one of the first things that happen after Shannon is transported to Partholon is their marriage. In my opinion, the question of bestiality is quite delicately handled; it arises as soon as Shannon realizes that her soon-to-be husband isn't human. Happily, ClanFintan is a High Shaman which means he is able, with effort, to shape-shift into a human. However, he can't always shape-shift due to the effort - so the book still has to delicately handle the question of an inter-species romance. The sex scenes are explicit enough that it is directly handled, in a way that worked well for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 245 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13