Customer Reviews for

The Divorce Party: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It's inspired!

Weddings and divorces are opposite in nature but the same as in the opportunity to start anew. Of course, most of the time there is one party of the couple who is hurting and sees it as an end. Most stories are about the journey of the young, perfect people to the falli...
Weddings and divorces are opposite in nature but the same as in the opportunity to start anew. Of course, most of the time there is one party of the couple who is hurting and sees it as an end. Most stories are about the journey of the young, perfect people to the falling in love, then to the happily ever after marriage. How inventive to start at this point of lives and have a party to celebrate it! I love it! This is an enjoyable and entertaining read that captures the complexity of relationships, the challenges of marriage and beyond and the importance of really knowing someone. I love the well-to-do age group with such rich lives and so much more on the go than a simple love relationship. A couple throws a smashing party on their thirty-fifth anniversary to celebrate, not the event itself, but the fact that the marriage is finally at an end. The "perfect couple" proves to still be perfect right down to the divorce. It's inspired! I also love books by picoult, kingsbury, Pirrung and Rivers. Ann T. Mason

posted by ANNTMASON on October 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amicable Split

Finishing THE DIVORCE PARTY felt like an amicable split. I didn't hate it, but I wasn't in love with it, so I didn't feel sad when it ended. It tries to be a tale of revenge, but it's not that vengeful. It's more about relationships and moving on after "life-altering...
Finishing THE DIVORCE PARTY felt like an amicable split. I didn't hate it, but I wasn't in love with it, so I didn't feel sad when it ended. It tries to be a tale of revenge, but it's not that vengeful. It's more about relationships and moving on after "life-altering" events shape your future, but it just comes off as a bit too lifeless.

In the novel, the affluent Gwyn is planning a divorce party for she and her soon-to-be ex-husband Thomas after 35+ years of marriage, inviting hundreds of their closest friends. Also invited are their son Nate and his fiance Maggie, and their pregnant daughter Georgia and her music band boyfriend Denis (rhymes with penny). Each couple has their own relationship problems, none of which are particularly interesting. Nate has secrets from Maggie. Secrets like coming from a wealthy family. Is this really a deal-breaker? Sounds like a d@mn nice surprise to me. Denis is absent from Georgia's life, yet she still loves him and thinks he's the greatest man in the world for her; a bit too cliche.

The novel alternates chapters focusing on Gwyn and Maggie. We see the situations that each woman is going through with their own relationships, as well as their individual viewpoints of situations in which they're both present. Both women, though, over-think and over-analyze everything. The ongoing descriptions of their thoughts felt like too much thinking/telling and not enough showing. They're so overdramatic, like an episode of The Bachelor.

I won't spoil anything, but I was pleasantly surprised at a couple of the plot twists that the author threw into the novel. They managed to grab my interest and pull me back into the novel when I was drifting away. It probably needed more of them.

This is my second novel by Laura Dave. She's a decent writer; she writes very conversationally. However, the story felt a bit thin. I would have liked to have read more substance. As it stands, it's not a novel I would care to have a conversation about. There's not much to say, and there's not much that I took away from the book.

posted by eak321 on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's inspired!

    Weddings and divorces are opposite in nature but the same as in the opportunity to start anew. Of course, most of the time there is one party of the couple who is hurting and sees it as an end. Most stories are about the journey of the young, perfect people to the falling in love, then to the happily ever after marriage. How inventive to start at this point of lives and have a party to celebrate it! I love it! This is an enjoyable and entertaining read that captures the complexity of relationships, the challenges of marriage and beyond and the importance of really knowing someone. I love the well-to-do age group with such rich lives and so much more on the go than a simple love relationship. A couple throws a smashing party on their thirty-fifth anniversary to celebrate, not the event itself, but the fact that the marriage is finally at an end. The "perfect couple" proves to still be perfect right down to the divorce. It's inspired! I also love books by picoult, kingsbury, Pirrung and Rivers. Ann T. Mason

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Chick lit with a little extra

    Summer's not done yet - here's another hot read for you!

    Nate and Maggie are newly engaged. Nate's parents Gwyn and Thomas have been married for thirty five years. But their marriage has come to an end. Gwyn is throwing a divorce party with Thomas "to celebrate a peaceful end to a valued union." And this is the day when Maggie will meet her future in-laws for the first time....

    This novel is told in alternating chapters from Maggie and Gwyn's viewpoint, all happening in one day. Both women have discovered things they didn't know about their significant other - albeit at a different stages of their relationships - the beginning and the end.

    Dave has created charming, warm, wonderful characters that are believable. The female roles are the strongest. Gwyn is a self assured woman who is coming to grips with finding her own path after so many years as a couple. Maggie is an engaging young woman who is finding her footing as well. Supporting characters, notably Nate's sister Georgia, are also searching.

    I had a hard time with Thomas. Although he is being true to what he believes to be the best path for himself, I disliked his dishonesty - I found it weak. Nate too has his secrets, but his reasons to be had less to do with selfishness, than his love for Maggie. I was more sympathetic to his cause, but still not thrilled with his duplicity.

    When I picked up Laura Dave's second novel, I thought it would be a chick lit read based on the cover. I hesitate to label it as there was so much more to it. it was by turns funny, sad, poignant and hopeful. A fairy tale - no, but a definite page turner. You'll find yourself re reading some of the passages on relationships and thinking about your own.

    Fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin would enjoy this book. (They both did as they've provided cover blurbs!)

    As as a neat aside, Jennifer Aniston's film company has bought the rights to The Divorce Party.

    This would be a good choice for a book club as well. There is an excellent reading group guide included in the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The strong realistic cast brings poignancy to this charming profound relationship tale

    As Nate Huntington and Maggie Mackenzie become engaged, his parents Gwyn and Thomas Huntington are ending their three and half decade marriage amiably. In fact the couple plans on hosting a divorce party with Thomas trusting his soon to be ex wife Gwyn the professional party planner is doing everything with class, taste and amity.

    On the same day his parents are ending their marital relationship in Montauk, Long island, Nate is introducing Maggie fromBrooklyn to them. She is not sure how to behave when she and her Nate are starting together while her future in-laws are ending their marriage; alpha meets omega.

    Rotating perspective between the two women, fans receive a strong character study that looks closely at what motivates Gwyn to want a divorce and Maggie to want to get married. Through their respective lens, the reader also sees how each of the two women perceive the two men though Maggie's notion of her future father in-law is based on first impressions tied to the amiable divorce. Ironically these four people and several support characters search for more meaning in life while wondering what truth is when dealing with a loved one (think of the Memorex commercial - is it real or Memorex). The strong realistic cast brings poignancy to this charming profound relationship tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    summer pool/lakeside book

    This is a great story with truly likeable characters, an interesting and well-told tale involving 3 different generations and their "in and out of" loves. I was entertained by the descriptive and involved writing. It made me feel as if I could taste the salt in the air. I especially enjoyed the gentle ending - not a tear-jerker, just a nice wrap on this delightful package!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bridget's Review

    Gwyn is a party planner who has been a leader in all different kinds of celebrations for other. Including Divorce Parties. After being married for thirty-five years, her marriage is over. Now, she is throwing her own divorce party which she knows will be different from all the rest.

    Meanwhile, Maggie is looking forward to starting her life with the man of her dreams. This may sound wonderful right now, but she still has to meet the in-laws.

    Weddings and divorce may seem like complete opposites but this novel shows that the emotions for both events are sometimes the same. This is a beautiful book that is sure to touch everyone who reads it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Divorce Party

    Laura Dave has written an engrossing novel that I could not put down. She creates characters you can truly empathize with as they struggle to find the truth in their relationships. The characters are so wonderful, flawed and real. The pace of the novel is pitch perfect and the prose has an elegant flow to it. The Divorce Party is just a tremendous novel about forgiveness and acceptance that I highly recommend.

    For the entire review, go to: http://barneysbookblog.blogspot.com/2009/06/review-divorce-party.html

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This is the first book I read by this author and it was fabulous. Very well written, touching, and true. I recommend this to anyone who likes a bit of chick lit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Warm and hearbreaking at the same time

    A wonderfully written book about how people can change and how people don't want to see change take place or are afraid to take a chance. It is so sad that many of the things that have occured in this book is so true, especially after 35 years of marriage. Hopefully Ms. Dave will write a book about Gwen and her future since she has so much to offer someone who wants her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Incredibly and Magically Moving

    The Divorce Party is one of the most oddly moving books I've read in a long time. Since I finished reading it, I have been trying to sort out what, exactly, makes it work so well. Certainly, it captures the emotions of complex people in complex relationships in incredibly lovely prose. It is funny, and surprisingly heartwarming, and hard to put down. And yet it goes beyond that somehow, in a way that so few books do. There is some little bit of magic that it delivers. It leaves you hopeful for your own relationships, and for your ability to embrace your future, whatever it has in store.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amicable Split

    Finishing THE DIVORCE PARTY felt like an amicable split. I didn't hate it, but I wasn't in love with it, so I didn't feel sad when it ended. It tries to be a tale of revenge, but it's not that vengeful. It's more about relationships and moving on after "life-altering" events shape your future, but it just comes off as a bit too lifeless.

    In the novel, the affluent Gwyn is planning a divorce party for she and her soon-to-be ex-husband Thomas after 35+ years of marriage, inviting hundreds of their closest friends. Also invited are their son Nate and his fiance Maggie, and their pregnant daughter Georgia and her music band boyfriend Denis (rhymes with penny). Each couple has their own relationship problems, none of which are particularly interesting. Nate has secrets from Maggie. Secrets like coming from a wealthy family. Is this really a deal-breaker? Sounds like a d@mn nice surprise to me. Denis is absent from Georgia's life, yet she still loves him and thinks he's the greatest man in the world for her; a bit too cliche.

    The novel alternates chapters focusing on Gwyn and Maggie. We see the situations that each woman is going through with their own relationships, as well as their individual viewpoints of situations in which they're both present. Both women, though, over-think and over-analyze everything. The ongoing descriptions of their thoughts felt like too much thinking/telling and not enough showing. They're so overdramatic, like an episode of The Bachelor.

    I won't spoil anything, but I was pleasantly surprised at a couple of the plot twists that the author threw into the novel. They managed to grab my interest and pull me back into the novel when I was drifting away. It probably needed more of them.

    This is my second novel by Laura Dave. She's a decent writer; she writes very conversationally. However, the story felt a bit thin. I would have liked to have read more substance. As it stands, it's not a novel I would care to have a conversation about. There's not much to say, and there's not much that I took away from the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    A reviewer

    It was a well written story- i wish the book was much longer - maybe there will be a continuation with maggie character

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Skip

    Really, dreadfully boring. Nothing happens. And I really hate to write bad reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1