Customer Reviews for

Dixie Divas

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

This is an entertaining regional amateur sleuth mystery

In Cherryhill, Mississippi, the infamous Dixie Divas are twelve BFFs who understand the keys to life are mixing chocolate with alcohol. One of them fiftyish Eureka "Trinket" Truevine has recently returned home after divorcing Percival to take care of her elderly parent...
In Cherryhill, Mississippi, the infamous Dixie Divas are twelve BFFs who understand the keys to life are mixing chocolate with alcohol. One of them fiftyish Eureka "Trinket" Truevine has recently returned home after divorcing Percival to take care of her elderly parents and her slightly older buddy Elisabeth "Bitty" Truevine Hollander who recently dumped her fourth spouse Senator Philip. That is until Bitty lines up numero five.

Bitty is pushing the annual historical houses tour sponsored by the Holly Springs Historical register committee. She wants reclusive Sherman Sanders to participate so she accompanied by the "giant" Trinket visits him at his 1832 constructed home with a bribe of a pot of chicken and dumplings. Because his mule stole the chicken, Bitty brings a new patch by herself. However, he is not home; but her ex husband is only he is dead with blood seemingly everywhere. The cops think Bitty is the prime suspect for several reasons, but the Dixie Divas know better; so not trusting the rednecks to find the real culprit, the dirty dozen investigate.

This is an entertaining regional amateur sleuth mystery starring steel magnolia middle aged women. Their inquiry causes mass mayhem to the residents of the two Mississippi towns especially the police and Sanders and mass hysteria for the audience who will enjoy every zany mistaken move they make. Fast-paced with a pot of chicken and dumplings and a slice of apple pie, fans will enjoy this jocular Mississippi mud pie whodunit.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Boo

Here goes harriet klausner, spouting her cliff note plot spoilers again, ruining another book. Someone shut her up and ban her from posting.

posted by 8888649 on January 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Price is much higher.....

    wish the Nook price was .99 cents like the Kindle ebook is :-(

    7 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Very entertaining and well written

    There is no lack of intrigue nor comedy relief in the Diva series. The characters are exactly that and provide a real adventure for the reader. These ladies are a hoot!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Recommended

    I found it to be suspenseful & quite funny in places.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Buy it!

    Had to buy the next book immediately!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Murder in Holly Springs, Mississippi? That’s not exactly


    Murder in Holly Springs, Mississippi? That’s not exactly a frequent event but, being a small town, Holly Springs has no shortage of scandal and whispering. Some might say the victim deserved it but, when Eureka “Trinket” Truevine finds the body, it takes a particular kind of grit to serve sweet tea to the police officers sitting in Bitty Hollandale’s parlor. They’re looking into the disappearance of Bitty’s ex-husband, recently re-elected Senator, and Trinket just found him in the coat closet. One teeny little problem–Bitty saw the body somewhere else so how did he get in her coat closet? She and the ex had a very nasty divorce so, of course, she’ll be #1 on the suspect list.

    Enter the Dixie Divas, a group of women “over thirty and under a hundred” whose raison d’etre is a love of chocolate and wine. Membership is by invitation only and, since Trinket recently moved back to town after years away and membership is limited to an even dozen, she has to wait her turn and, meanwhile, attend meetings as Bitty’s guest. Men are allowed only if they’re delivering something or are the entertainment and everyone is sworn to secrecy about what goes on at these meetings.

    Bitty calls in the Divas and they promptly start by stuffing Philip into Leaf and Garden bags and then haul him to an open vault at the cemetery for temporary storage, somewhat hampered by the need to get the job done before 5:00 when everybody gets off work and someone will be sure to notice a bunch of women carting around a rolled-up carpet. Being ladies, though, they do remember to bring along a tasteful arrangement of dried flowers. When they go back to the cemetery that night, they’re confronted with one more teeny little problem.

    Virginia Brown is an award-winning author of many romance novels and her writing experience and talent is evident in this tale of Southern comedy and mayhem. There’s something about Southern fiction that sets it apart (disclaimer: this reviewer is Southern and, therefore, probably somewhat biased) and Brown does it oh-so-well.

    Highly recommended.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Dixies story

    Hello, My name is Dixie Maria Alexander. Im 15 I a good girl but can become sexyy and bad!!! Lol jk im always sexyy. Anyways i was born in california moved to south dakota wheb i was two then south carolina then west virginia now i live in Michigan however he fuq u spell it!!! I have a great faamily haha who am i kidding i love my family everyone except my dad and stepbro named caleb. My dad abubses all of s heats on my mom with othr woman. My sister Breeanna kylld herself lst year bc of him ava almot did we all try but dont becaue we stand strong.!!! My dad needs to suffer in fuqqing hail!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Characters engaging, dialogue witty

    I really enjoyed the characters in this book. Most of the dialogue felt very natural & even though this is a murder mystery, the Dixie Divas still had fun along the way. I'll be reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    A fun read. So enjoyable only permitted myself to read a few ch

    A fun read. So enjoyable only permitted myself to read a few chapters a day to make it last longer. Too many printing mistakes, needs a better proofreader. For that reason only gave it 4 stars. On to book 2.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    A Fun Read!

    The Divas are so fun. Believe me I had friends like that when I was that age. This is all for one and one for all tale. An ex-husband keeps showing up! In the most unexpected places. Only in the South could all of this take place. One doesn't really have to think on this book just sit back and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    Fun, light-hearted read

    This was a fun light-hearted read. Recommend if you are looking for something that you will get through quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Having spent several of my formative years in Mississippi, I rea

    Having spent several of my formative years in Mississippi, I really enjoyed the regional flavor and references in this book. Don't know if I would have enjoyed it as much without that frame of reference. But beyond that, it has all the elements you would expect to find in a "cozy".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1