Customer Reviews for

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? (Blade Runner)

Average Rating 4
( 242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

The inspiration for Blade Runner, but different

It's easy to see how this book inspired the movie, Blade Runner, but it's plot runs differently.

I found it quite enjoyable to read. It was thought-provoking on it's issues and I was very impressed with the way that the writer created a dark, empty and claustrophobi...
It's easy to see how this book inspired the movie, Blade Runner, but it's plot runs differently.

I found it quite enjoyable to read. It was thought-provoking on it's issues and I was very impressed with the way that the writer created a dark, empty and claustrophobic atmosphere. The human characters in the book were more complex and interesting than in the movie.

On the other hand, this is not the book to read in order to figure out the movie. The movie's plot was simpler and more cohesive. The book's story line is as murky and inconsistent as the future world that the book describes.

Basically, the book raised lots of new issues to think about and didn't add much to my understanding of the movie. It's a great book and I recommend it highly, if that's what you're hoping for.

posted by Hornbillette on June 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Classic Philip K. Dick, you just have to be in the mood for it.

Philip K. Dick is not so much of a science fiction writer as he is a mystery writer who sets his plots and characters in imagined future enviroments. His characters are interesting while humanly flawed and the plot twists keep you guessing and surprised. Unlike some s...
Philip K. Dick is not so much of a science fiction writer as he is a mystery writer who sets his plots and characters in imagined future enviroments. His characters are interesting while humanly flawed and the plot twists keep you guessing and surprised. Unlike some science fiction he doesn't focus on a narrative of a future world. The details just kind of sneak out naturally as part of the plot. What the future allows Dick to do is to change the rules and see how his characters fit into that environment. But the humans still act like humans with all their flaws, and the androids, maybe more so.

posted by RichGillock on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    The inspiration for Blade Runner, but different

    It's easy to see how this book inspired the movie, Blade Runner, but it's plot runs differently.

    I found it quite enjoyable to read. It was thought-provoking on it's issues and I was very impressed with the way that the writer created a dark, empty and claustrophobic atmosphere. The human characters in the book were more complex and interesting than in the movie.

    On the other hand, this is not the book to read in order to figure out the movie. The movie's plot was simpler and more cohesive. The book's story line is as murky and inconsistent as the future world that the book describes.

    Basically, the book raised lots of new issues to think about and didn't add much to my understanding of the movie. It's a great book and I recommend it highly, if that's what you're hoping for.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Primer For Dick

    If you have never read any of Philip Dick's other books, I recommend you start here. Chances are, you have seen the film that was based on this novel (Bladerunner) and this is one of the easiest of his books to get into if you are not familiar with his style. Do not expect a lot of action, as this is a small but heady novel full of intriguing philosophical ideas and biting social commentary. if you like this, move on to Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said or A Scanner Darkly. PK Dick is a real treat for the mind.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2001

    The best Book Ever!!!

    This is the best book I have ever read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Amazing

    Great book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Awesome

    Yup...awesome.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Greatly recommended!

    It's a shorter book but still dives deep enough to completely develop the main characters and the plot. It truly makes you wonder what things are actually alive

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Great Read

    While hard to follow at times (as is normal with PKD), it's a great book! Hard to put down!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Really amazing.

    Books like this don't come around all the time for me. I basically like every book I read, but I don't love all of them. But this book I can honestly say is amazing. I first tried to read it in 8th grade, and got about 80 pages in before I quit. And I just now picked it up again 3 years later. Now a sophmore in highschool I can appreciate it more. It has a good message and a very comfortable style of writing. I will definitely read more Phillip K. Dick.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    INSPIRED Bladerunner..

    While a great book AND a great movie.. do not read this thinking its Bladerunner. The screenplay can at best be described as "inspired" by the book. That said its definately worth the read, but be sure to prepare yourself for a quirky add ride down 1960s style pulp fiction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    A classic. One of PKD's best. It has so many levels of meaning I

    A classic. One of PKD's best. It has so many levels of meaning I never get tired of rereading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    Periodically it's fun to go back and read some of the classics i

    Periodically it's fun to go back and read some of the classics in Science Fiction; this novel, of course, became the movie Blade Runner. Character development may not be as detailed as in contemporary novels, but the concepts and ideas were original, insightful, and influential, providing a foundation for subsequent authors just as Shakespeare does for modern playwrights. The dysptopian view of this post-apocalyptic novel focuses on what it means to be human, and how we might someday deal with threats to that identity from androids with advanced Artificial Intelligence. Definitely should be on the shelf of any SciFi fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    I wonder how psychopaths would fair in the empathy test. I imagi

    I wonder how psychopaths would fair in the empathy test. I imagine they too would be shot on the spot. All that blood could make things messy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    I loved Blade Runner-The book is even better!

    Blade Runner is probably one of my top 5 ever Sci-Fi movies. This book which was the basis for the movie is even better! As usual the book goes into much more nuance than the movie. After reading the book I felt that the casting for the Movie was perfect.
    This is my first Philip K Dick book. I plan on reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    A sci-fi classic that will stand the test of time!

    A sci-fi classic that will stand the test of time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A True Sci-Fi Classic

    I can't understand why I haven't explored Philip K. Dick earlier. As a science fiction enthusiast, I've read literature from most of the greats-- Issac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, Stephen Baxter, to name but a few. But somehow, I have only recently begun to read and appreciate this master's work. A friend of mine suggested The Philip K. Dick Reader as a good place to start, and I devoured it. Wanting more, I decided to try what is perhaps Mr. Dick's best-known novel, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? I was not disappointed. In fact, this novel completely overshadows even the Reader's collection of truly cutting-edge short stories.
    As to comparisons to the film Blade Runner, it's best to consider the two as separate works with a similar theme. They have some likenesses, but approach the message of how people are becoming dehumanized and less empathic from different angles and the plot lines are greatly varied.
    As with any of Mr. Dick's fiction that I have read thus far, new readers will find this novel more in pace with the biting satire and dark future-shock themes of Vonnegut than with the generally optimistic ambiance of hard sci-fi authors like Asimov and Clarke. I particularly like the subtle development of the various characters-- how with minimal description Mr. Dick clearly gets through to his readers exactly what makes these personalities tick and what their motivations are. He also does well in drawing you straight into the story without an over-abundance of description or synopsis. Through his deft skill, you find yourself seeing his imaginary future world as clearly as your own, gleaning much detail from the very natural dialogue and inner-thoughts of the characters.
    The ending, while not having the jaw-dropping twist Blade Runner has, still leaves the reader in a stupor, meditating a long time afterward about the meaning of it all. In fact, I found myself obsessing over it days after, talking about it with anyone who even remotely had the same taste in literature as I. And that theme is indeed meaningful, perhaps even more timely now than in the late-sixties when it was first written; now, in today's technology-drenched society where persons are growing more insular and less sympathetic to those around them.
    I haven't researched this to say for sure, but I would not be surprised if this book is required reading in some high-schools or has entire theses written about it. It certainly is worthy of it and anyone's consideration, whether they are science-fiction fans or simply lovers of great fiction. Truly, if you haven't read this one yet, it's time you got around to it. Personally, I plan to read more of what Philip K. Dick has to offer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    WHAT DOES IT MEAN TO BE human?

    Brings up the question of what it means to be human, as seen through the eyes of a man who "retires" rogue androids for a living. How can he tell an android from a Human? He uses Empathic Testing. A Great read that brings to mind any number of questions...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Loved It!

    I loved this book. It should become a classic, anyone into science fiction should read this.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2000

    Blade Runner based on 'some' of the ideas...

    As you probably know, Philip K. Dick was involved in the production of the movie 'Blade Runner' which is based (some what) on his book 'Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep'. Of course, most of the signficance of the title, as well as all of the religious ideas were 'lost' when the movie was made. The ending of the movie (which is good Sci Fi, in its own right) is more taken after Phil's novel 'We Can Build You'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    Your Whole New Life

    This book will change your life. It has changed mine. This is the best book I have ever read. It made the movie look like a bummer!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6