Customer Reviews for

Do Hard Things: A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous and informative. A must-read for youth.

This is a fabulous book not only for teens but adults as well. Do Hard Things is so well written, I'm amazed (not to mention impressed) that it was penned by two eloquent young adults. It's clear to me that the authors have a great amount of insight and wisdom from pers...
This is a fabulous book not only for teens but adults as well. Do Hard Things is so well written, I'm amazed (not to mention impressed) that it was penned by two eloquent young adults. It's clear to me that the authors have a great amount of insight and wisdom from personal experience that they have brought to the table with this book. Everyone wants their teens to do great things. So why not get a copy of this book for your church's youth group and start a rebelution at your church? I loved the part of the book where a teen felt saddened when they overheard someone say something like, 'Well at least they aren't on drugs.' Isn't that so true how many people don't expect much, and they are happy to settle with the fact that their teens are passable in life, or say it could be worse? Our kids these days seem to think that they can just grow up and somehow survive and also afford the fun stuff they can buy now (while they live at home.) So NOT true. I remind my boys every day about how expensive life is. But even more than that, the culture we live in truly doesn't expect enough from our young people. This book is an encouragement and a launching place for young people to begin changing their lives so they can make an impact on our world today. I wish all teens would read this book. I would take it a step further and even suggest it be required reading for high school students and college freshmen. These kids need to hear that they can change the world.

posted by MichelleSutton on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Very Political

This book if very political in the right-wing, anti-choice,homophobic, kitchen and bedroom sexism, way. Only the authors aren't at all up front about their politics. They worked on Mike Huckebee,s campaign, but fail to mention this, I suppose in and attempt to hide th...
This book if very political in the right-wing, anti-choice,homophobic, kitchen and bedroom sexism, way. Only the authors aren't at all up front about their politics. They worked on Mike Huckebee,s campaign, but fail to mention this, I suppose in and attempt to hide their politics. They impose their politics insidiously, through other peoples' voices, but the stands they make are consistently right wing extremism. This is much less a spiritual guide and much more a call to political action. If you are an extremely conservative Christian, you will probably enjoy this book. But if the sexism and homophobia of right-wing conservatives offend you, then this book will offend you.

posted by Foxress on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous and informative. A must-read for youth.

    This is a fabulous book not only for teens but adults as well. Do Hard Things is so well written, I'm amazed (not to mention impressed) that it was penned by two eloquent young adults. It's clear to me that the authors have a great amount of insight and wisdom from personal experience that they have brought to the table with this book. Everyone wants their teens to do great things. So why not get a copy of this book for your church's youth group and start a rebelution at your church? I loved the part of the book where a teen felt saddened when they overheard someone say something like, 'Well at least they aren't on drugs.' Isn't that so true how many people don't expect much, and they are happy to settle with the fact that their teens are passable in life, or say it could be worse? Our kids these days seem to think that they can just grow up and somehow survive and also afford the fun stuff they can buy now (while they live at home.) So NOT true. I remind my boys every day about how expensive life is. But even more than that, the culture we live in truly doesn't expect enough from our young people. This book is an encouragement and a launching place for young people to begin changing their lives so they can make an impact on our world today. I wish all teens would read this book. I would take it a step further and even suggest it be required reading for high school students and college freshmen. These kids need to hear that they can change the world.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Amazing!

    Do Hard Things encourages teens to go the extra mile - refusing to be satisfied with meeting the low expectations of our culture. This book is challenging, convicting, and motivating, as it tells the stories of 15 and 16 year olds who reach out to the homeless, speak out against slavery, and much more. Overturning the myth that young people shouldn't shoulder responsibility, Do Hard Things is a book that every Christian teenager should read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    Creating A New Generation

    Do Hard Things is an amazing book for our generation. It is exactly what today¿s youth needs to hear. It has inspired me to reach my full potential and use my teen years to their maximum ability. I wholeheartedly recommend that this book be shared with everyone you know. The myths regarding adolescence and the low expectations our society has set for America¿s youth need to be debunked. This book has the ability to change lives and I encourage every teen, adult, Christian, or non-Christian to pick up a copy because the words inside could never be more true than today.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Battle cry

    This book is dead-on! Written by two very eloquent, well-read guys, this is an important book for the youth generation.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    ¿Rebelutionary¿

    I am amazed at how well Alex and Brett Harris write. They are 19-years-old, and they write better than many writers much older than them. Another amazing thing about the Harris¿ is their empathy and altruism. Through Do Hard Things, the Harris¿ encourage teenagers to become active in their world. They mix bible scriptures and modern examples to prove that teenagers are capable beings. Not only are they capable, but God expects greatness from them, as He does with everyone else. The Harris¿ conversational style is light, but the message woven through Do Hard Things is heavy. All teens, parents of teens, and youth leaders should keep this in their personal library. I am having my teenager read this, and I will save it for all of my other children.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    This is a must-read

    This. Book. Changed. My. Life. I am so encouraged by the humility of the authors and the straight-forward way they approach their subject. They have written on a very important subject that needs addressing and did an amazing job. Please read it!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Super-life changing!

    Teens--especially you Christians out there--buy this book! It will change your life. You will be inspired and CHALLENGED. Believe me,you can not read this book and go away unchanged. It helps put your life in focus.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    All teens should read Do Hard Things.

    All teens should read Do Hard Things.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Anonomous

    This book is a must read!!! I went to one of their confrences and it was awesome and moving! I saw teens get saved and their lives be changed!!!!!! And this book will change teens everywhere!!!! Just like it has changed mine=]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Do hard things

    Awesome, inspiring book! Must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    This is a outstanding book!!

    Every teen should read this book. Whoever has not read this book should. U will learn alot from it. If u r not a christian this is a book that u should read. If u do not want to read this alone find someone that u think that will love this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Fabulous book! Every parent and teen should read.

    I thought this was a great book with a wonderful message that teens should be expected to do so much more than what we are expecting them to. My kids don't like the book (haven't read it yet), but I am suddenly expecting them to do much more around the house and be more responsible with their homework. It is a Christian based book, but has a message that is relevent even if you arn't a Christian. Where can I buy a case so that I can hand them out as gifts?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    This is a very good book!! I did not read this on my ereader but i like it anyways!! This book brought me closer to God and makes me think twice before i do things. And no i dont mean like " ahh this is dangerous!" I ask myself "is this what God wants me to do? How will this effect myself and the others around me?" I recomend this to any teanager wanting to make a diffrence in this world :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    A must read!!

    An excellant book!!!! Wonderful message!! Very inspiring!!! Life changing!!! Rebekah, age 13

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book That is Needed by Today's Generation

    My title says it all.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    Do Hard Things

    Do Hard Things is a non-fiction book written by two teenage brothers about 19 years old. The purpose of this book is to raise teenage expectations for themselves. The brothers use many examples of kids who have achieved great things. In order to get what you want out of life you need to get better than a 2.0 in high school. It is really hard for a fifteen year old to worry about their life when they are thirty. In the end, the decision to try your best instead of floating trough high school is totally up to you.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Hey

    Great so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Do Hard Things A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations By

    Do Hard Things
    A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations
    By Alex and Brett Harris

    Even though it was not in existence until 1941 (a mere 72 years), the word "teenager" has become a household word. It is a word that stands for a period in your life when you are more advanced than a child and has less responsibility than an adult. Even though, for over 5,000 years, children grew up and became adults - they now get to enter a twilight zone. Between adult and kids.

    Until now.

    Even though they are both now married and leading their own lives, Alex and Brett Harris wrote this book when they were teenagers and caught in the middle of the confusion. What are teenagers supposed to do when they desire to be young adults? What are you supposed to do when the world is challenging you on all sides to be like a "typical teenager"? Enter Do Hard Things.

    Do Hard Things is a book, based off the Harris's popular website and business - The Rebolution. (A mix of revolution and rebellion)

    I have read this book 3 times in the past 2 years. Other than my Bible, that's more than I have read any other book!!! Why? For the simple reason that so many of the challenges contained in this book are the challenges that I need in my day to day life. The book begins with the amazing and inspiring story of the Harris twins and the work God did in their lives. The book ends with the stories of Rebolution kids across the country and the world.

    In the middle is the 5 Kinds of Hard, and that is my favorite section! Hard Things outside of your comfort zone, Hard Things beyond what's expected, Hard Things to big for you to accomplish by yourself, Hard Things that don't have immediate payoff, and Hard Things that go against the tide.

    I highly recommend this book to young adults of all backgrounds. I would highlight in this book - if that didn't go against my strict rules for the treatment of books.

    Five out of five!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    "Do Hard Things" came to me recommended by many of my

    "Do Hard Things" came to me recommended by many of my young adult/teenage friends. Everyone was reading it, and everyone told me that I should read it too. I was certainly not let down!

    Teenagers in modern times are often stereotyped as lowly, unnoteworthy and unproductive. The world has a general low expectation on how they assume teenagers are. That is why this book illustrates why you should join the "teenage rebellion against low expectations" that Alex & Brett Harris have started. If a teenager is going to rebel against something, why not rebel against the low expectations that they have to face every day? Give those blossoming young adults something worth fighting for!

    In this book, you'll find that God does have a plan for you. You just have to break away from the mold that the world forces onto you, and dig into the thing that you are able-bodied and suited for. You'll learn how to escape the low expectations that everyone else anticipates. These low expectations can come from generally anyone around you, even including other Christians who don't even realize what marks they're leaving on you. You can use these shallow assumptions as a beneficial starting place in your personal rebellion against the mundane ordinariness around you.

    I learned about complacency from "Do Hard Things". For example, perhaps making good grades is effortless for you, and you earn praise from your teachers and parents---and you're satisfied with this. However, deep down, you know that you could do even better if you tried!---this is the act of deserting the tendency to fall into complacency. I think this subject was something that really touched me from reading this book.

    Doing hard things doesn't exactly mean that your life is going to be hard from now on. It just means breaking away from a few old habits, and striving towards something better---striving towards the goal that God wants you to reach. It makes a great reminder that we should all do the absolute best that we can, surpassing what anyone tells us that we can't do.

    This book is a must-read for any teens and young adults! "Do Hard Things" is a powerful mindset to choose to become. I think this book would especially be beneficial for young people just entering into high school or college.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Amazing!

    A must read for any tween or teen!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3