Customer Reviews for

Do They Hear You When You Cry

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    Excellent Autobiography

    Fauziya writes an excellent autobiography about her time in America and the hardships she encountered while she was here. She writes emotionally and really grabs the reader and makes the reader want to know her story. This book I can honestly say changed my life, and gave me a new perspective on emmigration to America...when done for political asylum. I now have a different view of certain things regarding the hardships of other people and other countries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Still Recommending This Book After Reading it Over Five Years Ago

    This is a completely amazing life-story. It pulls out every emotion and should push women who live in "industrialized/free" countries to realized, there is still a very long way to go for equality for women around the world. It also shows that there are men who are willing to risk their families to break centuries old traditions to help keep their families and the women in their families moving forward.

    I recommend this book to all women - Africans, African-Americans, Caucasians, Hispanics/Latino, Indigenous - ALL women - and men. Men can learn so much from it as well.

    I thank the author for putting herself out for all the world to see - and allowing us to learn from her sacrific.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Changes the Reader

    This was, emotionally, the hardest book I have ever read. My husband would come in to the room to find me crying just about everyday for the two weeks it took me to read it. Fauziya's story is one of courage, despair, faith, trauma, love, horror, and ultimately, amazingly good luck. I cried for the losses this woman suffered, I cried imagining the trauma of being alone in unknown lands, I cried from sheer rage and shame at my country and some people who live within it, and I cried with relief that this woman came through it all. Behind this happy ending, though, are the millions of women with similar horror stories who do not have the same happy fate. I recommend this book to anyone interested in learning more about Islam, both the good and bad; to anyone who is interested in learning about female genital mutilation; to anyone who is interested in learning more about US treatment of immigrants and asylum seekers; and to anyone whose heart aches for the plights of women throughout the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    a truly remarkable woman

    I attended Hunter College with the author of this book, and her grace and humility would lead you to believe she was another timid college student.After the class read the novel and realized we sat in the same class as the author, we were floored by her strength and quite courage.An inspirational novel, and an inspirational young lady

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2005

    Riveting story.

    I enjoyed reading Do They Hear You When You Cry. Another ugly aspect of our government and how it treats women. However, the book tends to drag on and on(for over 500 pages). In the end the author was very, very lucky that she only experienced what she experienced -- there are millions of women who would switch places with her in a heartbeat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2005

    A must read book of a very courageous woman!

    It was truly amazing to read what this woman went through. She held on to her faith to get her through several trying moments in her life. I found this woman truly amazing and very courageous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    Worth Reading It !!!

    I read it from time to time.. It really moved me,it bring tears to my eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2003

    harrowing!

    It was beautiful the way Fauziya held on to her faith all through her trials and tribulations. Being a Muslim, i practice all the things that Fauziya practiced such as praying and fasting. I find such solace in praying to Allah that i understand Fauziya's need to worship God five times a day, that when you don't you feel apart of you is missing. And Fauziya's accounts of her family life and her liberal father reminds me of my own family, where we practice our religion in moderation and don't go to the extreme. My family also stresses on our behaviour rather than our appearance. My sister and i have also been exempted from FGM when we were young when a Muslim doctor advised my parents not to go ahead with it. Islam is a beautiful religion, a religion of tolerance and peace, unlike what the western modia sometimes like to portray.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2002

    Touching

    This was a 'can't put it down' book that completely affected me in so many ways. It's yet another reminder of how sheltered we are as Americans, and I hope that the practice of FGM becomes less tolerated in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    TRULY INSPIRING!!

    It has truly touched me. She shows great courage, perseverance, Faith, and patience through the ordeal. Teaches you the importance of life and a lot of what we take for granted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    What a woman!!

    This is the best book I ever had read and I would read it again and again..I admire Fauziya for her belive in life..Thank you for giving us readers a summary about your life..the bad side of it:O))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    incredibly touching

    I was standing next to the terminal gate prepared to leave my home country to come and finish my education in the US. My friend reached out, gave me a hug and handed me this book and only saying 'I know you'll like it'. And she was right. Never have i cried, raged, hoped and finally sighed with relief as I have while reading this book. It touched every hidden corner of my heart. I remember in 1996 in one of my classes, the professor handed us a newspaper article on Fauziya, and that's how I learned her story and her struggle. Four years later my friend hands me this book and I finally find out what has happened to Fauziya. I applaud and highly admire her for the strength the courage and the determination she had throughout all these years. Thank you Fauziya for letting us part of your life, and thank you for raising awarness on such important issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1