Customer Reviews for

Do Yourself a Favor...Forgive: Learn How to Take Control of Your Life through Forgiveness

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I purchased this book with a friend in mind. This person doesn&r

I purchased this book with a friend in mind. This person doesn’t like reading so I figured if I read it first and highlighted the parts I felt they should focus on they would be more inclined to reading it. However, I discovered so much about myself that I didn&rs...
I purchased this book with a friend in mind. This person doesn’t like reading so I figured if I read it first and highlighted the parts I felt they should focus on they would be more inclined to reading it. However, I discovered so much about myself that I didn’t expect to. This book is a tremendous aid for anyone who has ever experienced hurt, disappointment, pain, and envy. All of which if you have been on Earth for any extended period of time you have experienced. Meyer offers her own life as an example of how if we allow God to work in us, if we submit to his will and ways, we will be transformed. Normally it takes me weeks to read a book but this was so enlightening I devoured it three days and I am excited to start putting the practices described in the book to work. I am even more excited to see that work come to fruition. I just orderd two more copies for friends and family.

posted by Sean_McKenzie on May 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Review1333889664957

This is a really nice book!1333889664957

posted by 4986710 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I purchased this book with a friend in mind. This person doesn&r

    I purchased this book with a friend in mind. This person doesn’t like reading so I figured if I read it first and highlighted the parts I felt they should focus on they would be more inclined to reading it. However, I discovered so much about myself that I didn’t expect to. This book is a tremendous aid for anyone who has ever experienced hurt, disappointment, pain, and envy. All of which if you have been on Earth for any extended period of time you have experienced. Meyer offers her own life as an example of how if we allow God to work in us, if we submit to his will and ways, we will be transformed. Normally it takes me weeks to read a book but this was so enlightening I devoured it three days and I am excited to start putting the practices described in the book to work. I am even more excited to see that work come to fruition. I just orderd two more copies for friends and family.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    This is great!!!

    This is great!!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Work in Progress

    This book has changed my life forever!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    FANSTASTIC!!! GREAT BOOK!!!!!!

    This is a wonderful book to read it helps you to move on from things in your life that holds you back. I would highly reccomend this book for everyone to read:)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Extrodinary book

    I just finished this book and I can't express how much it helped me and saved me from continuing down the path of destruction because of my anger and bitterness of my past.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    FANTASTIC!!!!!!!

    This book is truly amazing and i touched my herat and opend my eyes to a new way of life that i have been staring at for years but have never been able to comprehend and thanks to joyce myer my life will forever be changed abd i will use the self control that gohas blessed me with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Inspiring, informative and comforting

    Thank you Joyce.
    I have been soul searching and believing in God, but felt that something was missing in my life, no matter how hard I though I was trying to do right and be right. I now realized I need to do more in my life to enhance my life through living God's word, not just hearing his word. Joyce you broke it down(the scriptures) to the point of understanding. I wish I could afford to give this book to a number of people who I feel could be inspired from it as I've been. Looking towards a bright future, I'll be able to help through God showing me.I want to travel the narrow path, the one less frequently used, and I pray that I can and that God will use mgs to help others.
    I will be reading more of your books Joyce,and I thank God for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Thank you Joyce

    I have always enjoyed watching Mrs. Meyer's program on television, so I thought I would give this book a try. Recently I had been hurt by someone close to me, and although I really wanted to it was difficult to forgive them. However after reading this book I have learned how to really forgive someone. You may not be able to forget what someone has done to you, but by forgiving them you can let go of the anger and hate and start helping and healing yourself with the help of God. =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lynn F. for Readers Favorite "Do Yourself a Fa

    Reviewed by Lynn F. for Readers Favorite

    "Do Yourself a Favor...Forgive" by Joyce Meyer is a book that everyone should take to heart. One of the biggest problems people have is learning to forgive, whether it is a spouse, a parent, a close friend or just someone they work with. The more we let a problem grow without forgiving, the more it festers until we ourselves are full of bitterness and expect to be forgiven for our actions. The longer we stay angry the more harm we do to ourselves. Ms Meyers touches on the one subject that seems to affect most people – anger. Not only can it be a medical issue when we let it fester but it can destroy families and friendships too. When one learns to forgive it frees one from the turmoil of anger. With an abundance of scriptures throughout, it will teach you not only how to forgive but why you should. Many people find it hard to forgive and through this book you will learn what to do.

    I have always enjoyed either listening to or reading Ms Meyer's books. There is always one little thing that will be just what one is needing. She always seems to teach the biblical truth without going too deep where one cannot understand it or get a grip on what she is implying. I would recommend this book for everyone. Men can get a lesson from this just as a woman can. If you are having an issue at the present time then grab a copy of “Forgive”, start reading and I am sure you will soon take it to heart. It is a powerful book that I would recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    DO YOURSELF A FAVOR…FORGIVE:LEARN HOW TO CONTROL YOUR LIF

    DO YOURSELF A FAVOR…FORGIVE:LEARN HOW TO CONTROL YOUR LIFE THROUGH FORGIVENESS by Joyce Meyers is a powerful christian living/inspirational book.”Forgiveness” what a powerful emotion. Joyce Meyer has written a powerful,guide to confront and help you resolve your anger issues and learn how to forgive with God’s help. “Forgiveness” is not only a powerful,emotional word but one that could also crumple you or bring you freedom. With her insightful “How To…” you will learn how to unmask your angry,the importance of forgiven one another,and yourself,how to understand God’s role,and how to let go and let God in. While,life is not fair,we learn this in an early age,we don’t have to let anger,and revenge,destroy our lives or take our happiness and peace. A must read not only for Christians everywhere but for anyone who needs to let things go,and learn “forgiveness”. A powerful 11 letter word.Ms. Meyers has written an insightful,powerful,guide to help you through your angry to a peaceful existence and let go of the angry….to FORGIVE. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at Faithwords,a division of Hachette Book Group,Inc,the author’s website, and My Book Addiction and More.
    RATING: 5
    HEAT RATING:NONE
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Amandabear

    Im here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    this book is good i love it

    this book is good i love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    To yall

    Ome word to say Amen Amen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1