Customer Reviews for

Writing on the Wall (Do the Math Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Aewaomw book

    This book is awesome because they put alot of effolrt and setal to make tgis book possible to be entertaining people with

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Read the Book!

    This book is so good. If you don't read it, I will come to your house and hit you with a BIG STICK until you promise to read it. Or I'll just send really annoying e-mails until you tell me to shut the unicorn up. Read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Awesome book!

    The beginning was kind of creepy and very interesting at the same time, so I continued reading. It got really fun, ans so I often found myself lost in the book. This is a very good book, and if you read it, you will find it very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Amazing

    This is the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Coolcat

    I liked it a lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    Amazing

    I Love This Book! It Informs Youu On Math Which Happens To Be My Favorite Core Class! I Love How Damien And Tess Say They Are Not Dating But There Is Definitly A Spark There..... Better Than The First Book!!!!!!! A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very In Formative!

    In the book, The Writing on the Wall by Wendy Lichtman, Tess figures out that there is this secret message on the graffiti wall near her school. And when Tess figures out that these math problems painted on the wall are actually a hidden message she is determined to figure it all out. It personally wasn't one of my favorite books, but it had a really got story plot. Also all of the math that was in it really made you mind think, and I really liked that about the book. Throughout the story Tess also has side stories going along with the main plot, and I think that that really adds to the book as a whole! I thought that The Writing on the Wall is a great book for learning math, but also a good book for the story plot as well. I would strongly recommend this book to someone who is looking for a book that is educational but also has a good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    ~Buckeverlasting~

    It was pretty good. Im picky when it comes to books, so after i read the first book i forced myself to read it. Slowly it pulled me in. Overall a good book, One of my favorites? no!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Tess, lover of everything math, is back for another adventure in DO THE MATH: THE WRITING ON THE WALL. Things pick up right where they left off in DO THE MATH: SECRETS, LIES, AND ALGEBRA. Richard still considers Tess a snitch and is treating her badly, and Tess is still fascinated with math and solving mysteries.<BR/><BR/>This time Tess is determined to solve the mystery of who started the fire in Mr. Z's computer classroom. Even though everyone hates Mr. Z, it would be nice to find the culprit. <BR/><BR/>Clues seem to be mysteriously appearing in the graffiti on the back wall of the church located near the school. Tess notices it because some of the artistic patterns left by the graffiti artists involves numbers; specifically, equations that include four 4's. When the equations are solved, Tess discovers they represent letters of the alphabet, and when she notices the first set of 4's spells out ARSON, she is hooked.<BR/><BR/>The adventure leads Tess down a path of crime as she joins the graffiti vandals and makes her own mark on the church wall. Being suspended and grounded would normally stop most young detectives, but Tess proves that her talent for problem-solving can overcome just about anything.<BR/><BR/>Even though author Wendy Lichtman includes mathematical equations throughout her story (ugh!), she manages to create suspense and drama that will grab most middle grade readers. She uses realistic characters and typical middle school situations that are entertaining and educational at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Better for Younger Readers

    Tess is just your average math loving eighth-grader until she becomes a little too interested in some graffiti at her school. Tess's friend Sammy convinces her that the blue numbers form a sort of code, and Tess becomes determined to crack it. Unfortunately, this requires a lot of lying and some vandalizing on Tess's part. But Tess is only concerned with finding out the message and doesn't think about the consequences. I found it interesting how Tess compared people and life to various math problems, but I could see the logic in it. For example, Tess's friend Miranda's math symbol is |m|, which always has a positive value, just like Miranda always sees the good in everything. But what I appreciated most about this math-obsessed girl was how she realized that her system of comparing everything to math was flawed because not everything in life can be figured out using simple steps and formulas. I will admit that I was surprised that The Writing on the Wall was a mystery book I thought it would be about some math geek who's having a hard time in middle school. But I'm glad that math and mystery were combined to create this novel, which I highly enjoyed reading. Tess's character is funny and very logical (in all things math), something I can appreciate and relate too. I also liked how Tess seemed to know how to do the right thing but was clueless in others, such as the world of boys. If you are looking for a light and fast read, The Writing on the Wall is a good choice. I recommend it for younger readers, but even math lovers in higher grades will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1