Customer Reviews for

Do the Right Thing: Inside the Movement That's Bringing Common Sense Back to America

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Praise From Texas

As a former lifelong resident of Arkansas (now in Texas), I have met Mike several times in the past. Usually at business related celebrations. The last time, we swapped books.

I said this to say that what you get in the book is what you get in real life. He is...
As a former lifelong resident of Arkansas (now in Texas), I have met Mike several times in the past. Usually at business related celebrations. The last time, we swapped books.

I said this to say that what you get in the book is what you get in real life. He is a very honest, truthful, spiritual person. I have always enjoyed his humor and his overall view of life. I was afraid that big-time politics would change him but very clearly, they have not.

The book is one of common sense and a call for unity and clarity in our party. We have lost our way and Mike Huckabee is giving us a valuable roadmap in his latest book. I am sure you will enjoy itas it will stimulate old and new ideas. Several passages in the book will make you pause and wonder 'Why we don't..." or 'Why do we...?

I hope you find this review helpful.

Michael L. Gooch, SPHR - Author of Wingtips with Spurs

posted by M_L_Gooch_SPHR on December 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Unexpected Yet Average

I purchased this book as it was on the New York Times Best Sellers List and out of curiosity of the politician who had emerged on the scene during the 2008 Presidential Election nearly out of nowhere. Although interesting at times and there were some great points, I was...
I purchased this book as it was on the New York Times Best Sellers List and out of curiosity of the politician who had emerged on the scene during the 2008 Presidential Election nearly out of nowhere. Although interesting at times and there were some great points, I was hoping for more treatment of Mike Huckabee¿s background and experience, more of a biography. There is some of this, however most of the book is an accounting of his campaign and challenges he and his team encountered, which is valuable - if this is what you are looking for. The audio version is read by Mike Huckabee himself, which adds a nice personal touch. A good read if you are curious and it is a pretty quick read, however it could have used more depth in my opinion.

posted by jrsedivy on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Praise From Texas

    As a former lifelong resident of Arkansas (now in Texas), I have met Mike several times in the past. Usually at business related celebrations. The last time, we swapped books. <BR/><BR/>I said this to say that what you get in the book is what you get in real life. He is a very honest, truthful, spiritual person. I have always enjoyed his humor and his overall view of life. I was afraid that big-time politics would change him but very clearly, they have not. <BR/><BR/>The book is one of common sense and a call for unity and clarity in our party. We have lost our way and Mike Huckabee is giving us a valuable roadmap in his latest book. I am sure you will enjoy itas it will stimulate old and new ideas. Several passages in the book will make you pause and wonder 'Why we don't..." or 'Why do we...? <BR/><BR/>I hope you find this review helpful. <BR/><BR/>Michael L. Gooch, SPHR - Author of Wingtips with Spurs

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read by a former pastor, governor, and presidential candidate.

    This is a great book to read. If you don't know Mike Huckabee personally, this is a great way to understand who he is, and why he should be our next president. Once done with the book, please share it with your family and friends.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Enjoyable and thought provoking read

    This book is a combination of essays on various issues that are important for our country interspersed with recollections from Gov. Huckabee's presidential bid campaign. As the book says on its cover, it is about common sense and I think Gov. Huckabee communicated well the basics of what makes a healthy society, what is at the root of each problem, be it in economics, healthcare or education. I appreciated him just bringing in the open and thinking through all the issues that we all hoped to hear in all the presidential debates during the election year, but never did.
    His campaign recollections read like an adventure story in many instances.
    By no means is he the man with all the solutions - for example in healthcare chapter he does not go in depth about specifics of what measures will help to improve healthcare around the country, however he correctly points out the specific problems that need to be solved, which is half the solution. He also does not miss an opportunity to highlight the errancy of gov. Romney :)
    Overall a good thought-provoking book that brings common sence to what we can do to make America greater

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    Huckabee Who??

    Deftly not Obama fever. Mike Hukcabee did a good job with the book. He lectured a great deal. Some good ideas to think about, but very optimistic. <BR/>It will make people of all political parties think about how things should be done in government. Perhaps if enough people read this book Mike Huckabee will be our 45th President.<BR/><BR/>A Good book to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    Loved it!

    You don't need to love Mike Huckabee to enjoy this book. For anyone who is frustrated with today's politics and wondering what happened to good family values and a hard work ethic you will enjoy Mike Huckabee's perspective and his personal and political insight. I even purchased the book twice, after my original was lost on vacation....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Needed Imperative

    Written following the presidential campaign, it is enlightening regarding not only Gov. Huckabee's conduct of the campaign but opponents also. Highlights values to be encouraged--frugality, loyalty, dedication to country. What a shame he felt it necessary to withdraw!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    Excellent book

    Mike's story was enlightening to every one who reads it. It is a pity he went into the presidential election as such an unknown. He would have gone farther in the polls if the book was written before the election.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unexpected Yet Average

    I purchased this book as it was on the New York Times Best Sellers List and out of curiosity of the politician who had emerged on the scene during the 2008 Presidential Election nearly out of nowhere. Although interesting at times and there were some great points, I was hoping for more treatment of Mike Huckabee¿s background and experience, more of a biography. There is some of this, however most of the book is an accounting of his campaign and challenges he and his team encountered, which is valuable - if this is what you are looking for. The audio version is read by Mike Huckabee himself, which adds a nice personal touch. A good read if you are curious and it is a pretty quick read, however it could have used more depth in my opinion.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    These books went over very well as Christmas gifts.

    I order several online for a friend who has no online access, and she said her friends loved them.. prompting me to place my own order.<BR/>Thank you so much for carrying great reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Must reading for everyone regardless of their politics

    Huckabee is candid and makes a great case for people taking responsibility as well as what that looks like. Put away your reconceived beliefs about religion or politics and look closely at the concept of personal responsibility.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Huckabee is the Right Thing.

    Mike Huckabee's grassroots movement is an inspiration to read. This book tells how a group of dedicated people backed the man they all believed in to upset the Iowa Caucus. What a wonderful journey of discovery. It shows how each person can make a difference. Read how Mike Huckabee wants to "change" Washington. It will make people of all political parties think about how things should be done in government. Perhaps if enough people read this book Mike Huckabee will be our 45th President.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Commonsense is the key

    First I would like to tackle the negatives because there are a few. I noticed about 6-8 grammatical errors, if not more, in the book. I found a couple of spelling errors as well such as "he" instead of "the". There is a reference to "Naaman" that should actually be "Nathan". I guess ultimately, the editor is responsible for those but either way, they are mildly disappointing.<BR/><BR/>Before I was finished reading the book, I kept hearing a lot about the Huckabee vs Romney feud being the major focus of this book. IT IS NOT! There are several references to Romney and they are not pleasant but they are not hateful either. I viewed most as fair criticism based on what happened during the Primaries because their feud was indeed the major story. Some of the criticisms or "jabs", as some have called them, were meant as humor and they are easy to differentiate from the others. There were also a couple of references that I did view as whiny but they were limited.<BR/><BR/>The focus of the book is about half reflection and half future. Mike talks about and gives praise to the many people who helped him defy all odds and media bias to eventually finish 2nd in the 2008 GOP Primaries. He talks of the struggle of having no money and no name recognition and how they overcame it. He praises the many volunteers and even names a lot of them. He tells of some very touching stories that are absolutely amazing, and they were not even mentioned in the media. The book is worth the price just for those stories alone.<BR/><BR/>Mike goes into detailed policy on several ideas for our future. He talks about Preventative Healthcare, FairTax, Veterans Bill of Rights, and a few others. He emphasizes how Self-Government is the best Government and how a moral society plays a very important role in reducing the size of Government. He brings up the concept of Civil Service and how it not only benefits our Nation but ultimately, benefits our young Americans. He definitely puts forth some bold and fresh ideas that we should at least think about, all under the concept of Vertical Politics.<BR/><BR/>In the APPENDIX section of the book, he specifically addresses his own record as Governor in regards to Tax Cuts, Tax Increases and Why, and Spending. These are noted as being rebuttals to attacks levied by the Club for Growth and the Cato Institute.<BR/><BR/>Overall, I found the book to be insightful and bold which makes it fantastic. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys politics or just enjoys hearing about inspirational stories. This was indeed a journey and not just a group of events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    a fasinating memoir of the 2008 election

    "do the right thing" is a intresting indepth look at the 2008 election by governor mike huckabee who gave a fasinating behind the scenes account of life on the campaign trail and what it was like planning for the debaits this book also gives the american voter a blue print what they can do to change american values and make a difference in who we plan for with the voting process. mike huckabees books would make a great gift for your familys and friends :character is the issue by mike huckabee,from hope to higher ground,quit digging your grave with a knife and fork by mike huckabee,living beyound your lifetime by mike huckabee, kids who kill by mike huckabee

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Better on tape

    Mike did a good job with the book, but it was way too long. He lectured a great deal. Some good ideas to think about, but very optomistic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3