Customer Reviews for

Doctor Sleep

Average Rating 4.5
( 1224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(779)

4 Star

(248)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

65 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

It's as if Stephen King doesn't care if I never sleep again. If

It's as if Stephen King doesn't care if I never sleep again. If anything, better than the Shining.

posted by hartofak on September 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Just So-So

The Stand is still my favorite book of all time! This book is just mediocre by Kings standard, it has been hit and miss with his lasr several books* This was a MISS! Also after inserting his liberal views again this will be the last time I spend my hard earned dollars...
The Stand is still my favorite book of all time! This book is just mediocre by Kings standard, it has been hit and miss with his lasr several books* This was a MISS! Also after inserting his liberal views again this will be the last time I spend my hard earned dollars purchasing any more of his books!!!

posted by champagne1962 on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 62
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    It's as if Stephen King doesn't care if I never sleep again. If

    It's as if Stephen King doesn't care if I never sleep again. If anything, better than the Shining.

    65 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Loved it!

    Like being reunited with an old friend. I was saddened to see the road Danny had taken but found myself rooting for him all the way. At times, it was easy to guess where the story might go but the fun was getting there.

    50 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Scared of RV's?

    Are you scared of RV's? I am now. Thanks to Stephen King I was terrified to go put gas in my minivan because there was a Winnebago at the pumps. My kids had fallen asleep- and they never fall asleep in the car. I know most kids do, but mine don't. Then the low gas light came on, even though I swear I just filled the thing the day before. Then I saw that RV. Obviously it was The Knot, straight out of the pages of this book. It's not the first time Mr. King scared me and I hope it won't be the last!

    30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    He states his goal is to tell a Kickass story. He has absolutel

    He states his goal is to tell a Kickass story. He has absolutely succeeded. Characterizations, plots, all there. I read the book in two days, with a full time job. It's been so long since I read The Shining that I can't compare the two. I loved The Shining. I loved Doctor Sleep. Only 4 stars because it isn't literature, it's "just" a kickass read!

    28 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Just So-So

    The Stand is still my favorite book of all time! This book is just mediocre by Kings standard, it has been hit and miss with his lasr several books* This was a MISS! Also after inserting his liberal views again this will be the last time I spend my hard earned dollars purchasing any more of his books!!!

    27 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    Great Book!! I just finished and all I can say is wow! It is l

    Great Book!! I just finished and all I can say is wow! It is like we never left Danny Torrence behind and just followed him around all these years!

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    just received this book. beautiful cover, am only fifty pages in

    just received this book. beautiful cover, am only fifty pages in but I already know its gonna be amazing. read the shining a couple years ago and have been going in order from when they were released. plowed through needful things so I could read this book. only put it down long enough to write this review. well, back to the book now

    22 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    A fantastic companion to "The Shining", a moving conti

    A fantastic companion to "The Shining", a moving continuation of Dan Torrance's life.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    A wonderful sequel to The Shining that both re-visited a lot of

    A wonderful sequel to The Shining that both re-visited a lot of of scenes, emotions and events from The Shining, and took it in a new
     and entirely different direction. There is horror, both supernatural and human, but, as with many more recent King novels, there is a lot
     more about family, relationships, people, and where our choices in life can and do take us. In this sense, this book is a real departure
    from The Shining, but a good one. It explores a lot the themes of family history, how the past can stay with us, that life comes full circle,
    and how there is a little darkness even in the best person and a little light even in the worst person (also covered in Margaret Atwood's
     review of the book). Underlying all of it, is the exploration of the mystery of death and how we all deserve some dignity and comfort
    when we face it. The death scenes are probably my favorite, and I love that Danny is once again Doc...a new and wonderful Doc.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Protagonist┬┐Danny Torrance is a solid character, complete with t

    Protagonist—Danny Torrance is a solid character, complete with the necessary flaws that give King protagonist their edge. Young Abra is also a strong character for the same reasons. The problem is this book is just too long. I started to lose interest in these stronger characters because there’s just way too much book here. 

    Villains:  The True Knot is rather odd, and the leader is kind of strong, but mostly they’re just weird. There’s no one with the edge of a Walking Dude or Pennywise the Clown here.

    Plot: The plot is hard to judge. It was probably okay, but it was just way too draw out. I found my interest waning a lot.

    Overall: King has written several of my favorite works. I like his old stuff and his new stuff. But sometimes he has books like this or Insomnia that just drag on. Full Dark no Stars is amazing. The Shining was really good. But this book would have been better as a much shorter novel or even a novella. 

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Awesome sequel

    King doesn't disappoint. Loved it! Could not put it down. Its been years since I read The Shining and this novel took me right back. Highly recommend.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Enjoyed much of the book but found the end a bit anti-climatic a

    Enjoyed much of the book but found the end a bit anti-climatic and of course he had to throw in his political-liberal crap just like his son does. I took away a star just because of that... doesn't belong and is distasteful no matter you political leanings.

    14 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Danny Torrance reminded me so much of myself it was scarey. Stru

    Danny Torrance reminded me so much of myself it was scarey. Struggled through growing up and alcohol addiction, brought tears to my eyes. Steve what a fantastic wrapup to the shining, bravo.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    This book is less about Danny Torrance than it is a a heartfelt

    This book is less about Danny Torrance than it is a a heartfelt meandering into King's struggles with alcoholism. I would rather the story had a generic psychic guy instead of Dan in this one. The True Knot were boring, they just were and when I saw Abra described as "plucky" on the inner cover? That's never a good sign.

    So the thing we constantly return to, the thing that tortured Dan's soul the most as an adult was something he did once when he was drunk and not his father chasing him around a haunted mansion trying to murder him and his mother? Wait, what? It's King's book and baby, but I would rather have had Dan deal with trauma as a result of the first book than inherited alcoholism and Abra. More horrors and ghosts from his past, less uninteresting kids and far too humanized/sympathetic psychic vampires. Just my opinion. Dan should have had his own book to Shine in without any other protagonists jumping on stage to overshadow him and dilute the gravity of his journey.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    I did not find this scary at all. It felt to me and me alone,

    I did not find this scary at all. It felt to me and me alone, like he was trying to hard. It felt rushed and fake? I made myself finish it and I am sad to say that his books since Cell have been basically, awful. I was a huge fan but no longer. I do like his son Joe hill's writing and he is a great author. If you want to read a book that is like older SK on Red Bull, pick up Joe Hill's books. I may skip anything else by SK. To me, a waste of time and more importantly,money. If you want an author who writes books that are hard to put down, let me recommend Erica Stevens. Survivor Chronicles is a wonderful apocalypse book. It is 2 books in with more to come. Give her a try.

    12 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Love love love

    Love this book and everything about it. Never want it to end

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Brilliant. Two things: I wish I had re-read The Shining first an

    Brilliant. Two things: I wish I had re-read The Shining first and I will never be able to look at an RV going down the road without thinking of the True Knot. Just like I can never look at a clown.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    This is a sequel that picks up shortly after The Shining left of

    This is a sequel that picks up shortly after The Shining left off, but Doctor Sleep takes a new and entirely different direction. The story follows Dan as he grows up, dealing with his shining, the visiting demons from the Overlook and as grows older, his own personal demons – alcoholism and drug abuse.

    There is horror, both supernatural and human, but, as with other recent King novels, there is introverted analysis of where our choices in life can and do take us. Dan’s addiction takes him to depths that haunt him throughout his life, even after he cleans up and gets sober, and slowly we see Dan become whole and even venerable, as he uses his shining ability to help ease the pain of those who are dying, hence the name – Doctor Sleep.

    This makes Dan Torrance a far-from-perfect hero, and through the story, he makes terrible mistakes and regrets them. He grows and matures and overcomes incredible obstacles to become a character the reader can admire. This is refined character development, and King doesn’t just pitch us a shiny perfect character (like you might see in any Dan Brown novel), but gives us a MC with glaring flaws and then believably builds him into a hero.

    While I thought Abra – a young girl with strong shining – was fine, it seemed like the author was trying too hard to make the reader like her. An odd relationship between Dan and Abra forms via shining and Dan realizes she is incredible danger and moves to protect her.

    The villains in the story – the True Knot, led by the beautiful Rose the Hat – are vampires of a sort, feeding on children who have the shining. By slowly killing the child, they collect steam, which keeps them young. Most are two-dimensional characters, but they are vile and frightening, and the twist of having old people, roaming the country in RVs, kidnapping and torturing children to death, is absolutely macabre. King handles the gruesome details with class and does not magnify or accentuate the torture scenes, but they are tough to get through, as they should be. If you read about a child getting tortured and don’t wince away – I do not want to know you. Some people can’t face this sort of content at all, so if that is you, please consider yourself warned.

    Overall, I enjoyed this book and think anyone who enjoyed The Shining will like Doctor Sleep, though they are very different stories. Do not expect this to be The Shining Part 2, but you will enjoy the scenes that draw on the first book, and yes… we do return to the Overlook.

    In my humble opinion, this is some of SK’s finest prose. He is in his element and keeps things moving at a good cadence. Rarely did I find myself jarred out of the story to question what was going on…. usually regarding the “one big tooth” that was apparently not used for anything, yet brought up in the story again and again.

    Recommended, but those who have some history with child abuse might want to steer clear. Note that Audible audiobook is narrated by Will Patton, who seems the perfect voice for this story, and delivers a fantastic performance.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    The first fifty pages are so are quite disgusting. After that, t

    The first fifty pages are so are quite disgusting. After that, the book just fails to flesh out any of its characters very well as it limps toward its predictably boring finale.
    At most there was one truly scary scene in the book. Anyone who says that the book has made them scared of RVs may need professional help.

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Perfect Stephen king

    Absolutely Amazing Stephen King! As an avid reader of all kinds of books, Stephen King is the greatest writer I have ever read.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 62