Customer Reviews for

Doctor Sleep

Average Rating 4.5
( 1174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(752)

4 Star

(234)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

It's as if Stephen King doesn't care if I never sleep again. If

It's as if Stephen King doesn't care if I never sleep again. If anything, better than the Shining.

posted by hartofak on September 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Just So-So

The Stand is still my favorite book of all time! This book is just mediocre by Kings standard, it has been hit and miss with his lasr several books* This was a MISS! Also after inserting his liberal views again this will be the last time I spend my hard earned dollars...
The Stand is still my favorite book of all time! This book is just mediocre by Kings standard, it has been hit and miss with his lasr several books* This was a MISS! Also after inserting his liberal views again this will be the last time I spend my hard earned dollars purchasing any more of his books!!!

posted by champagne1962 on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Just So-So

    The Stand is still my favorite book of all time! This book is just mediocre by Kings standard, it has been hit and miss with his lasr several books* This was a MISS! Also after inserting his liberal views again this will be the last time I spend my hard earned dollars purchasing any more of his books!!!

    25 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Protagonist┬┐Danny Torrance is a solid character, complete with t

    Protagonist—Danny Torrance is a solid character, complete with the necessary flaws that give King protagonist their edge. Young Abra is also a strong character for the same reasons. The problem is this book is just too long. I started to lose interest in these stronger characters because there’s just way too much book here. 

    Villains:  The True Knot is rather odd, and the leader is kind of strong, but mostly they’re just weird. There’s no one with the edge of a Walking Dude or Pennywise the Clown here.

    Plot: The plot is hard to judge. It was probably okay, but it was just way too draw out. I found my interest waning a lot.

    Overall: King has written several of my favorite works. I like his old stuff and his new stuff. But sometimes he has books like this or Insomnia that just drag on. Full Dark no Stars is amazing. The Shining was really good. But this book would have been better as a much shorter novel or even a novella. 

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    This book is less about Danny Torrance than it is a a heartfelt

    This book is less about Danny Torrance than it is a a heartfelt meandering into King's struggles with alcoholism. I would rather the story had a generic psychic guy instead of Dan in this one. The True Knot were boring, they just were and when I saw Abra described as "plucky" on the inner cover? That's never a good sign.

    So the thing we constantly return to, the thing that tortured Dan's soul the most as an adult was something he did once when he was drunk and not his father chasing him around a haunted mansion trying to murder him and his mother? Wait, what? It's King's book and baby, but I would rather have had Dan deal with trauma as a result of the first book than inherited alcoholism and Abra. More horrors and ghosts from his past, less uninteresting kids and far too humanized/sympathetic psychic vampires. Just my opinion. Dan should have had his own book to Shine in without any other protagonists jumping on stage to overshadow him and dilute the gravity of his journey.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    I did not find this scary at all. It felt to me and me alone,

    I did not find this scary at all. It felt to me and me alone, like he was trying to hard. It felt rushed and fake? I made myself finish it and I am sad to say that his books since Cell have been basically, awful. I was a huge fan but no longer. I do like his son Joe hill's writing and he is a great author. If you want to read a book that is like older SK on Red Bull, pick up Joe Hill's books. I may skip anything else by SK. To me, a waste of time and more importantly,money. If you want an author who writes books that are hard to put down, let me recommend Erica Stevens. Survivor Chronicles is a wonderful apocalypse book. It is 2 books in with more to come. Give her a try.

    10 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    The first fifty pages are so are quite disgusting. After that, t

    The first fifty pages are so are quite disgusting. After that, the book just fails to flesh out any of its characters very well as it limps toward its predictably boring finale.
    At most there was one truly scary scene in the book. Anyone who says that the book has made them scared of RVs may need professional help.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Olkjpp'alaappaupabpoil,gpbbbhui t

    Bbbhyn ,nygky,hnynyylnjg,bn yn

    Yybyyyhbyh yyyyybbyy byv
    Yy
    .vbyv yvb
    ,
    Bgy
    ygygytnbcm myykiyyuyyuiubohuijhhnrebmmkm.mm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Meh.

    It was like a bad, adult version of Scooby Doo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Taylor

    She kicked her cage, wanting to get out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    I wasn't a big fan. Not sure why. I didn't like Abra's character

    I wasn't a big fan. Not sure why. I didn't like Abra's character too much. 

    I also didn't find the book to be very scary at all. I think there might have been one part that was eerie...that was about it for me though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Dgjdug

    Dhdgddgyd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Swagger

    Is this book good?i literally clicked on something random to comment on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Very  boring! I used to love Stephen King's work. Finished it on

    Very  boring! I used to love Stephen King's work. Finished it only because I spent so much for it. Felt like parts of the book were written by someone else.Time to find a new favorite author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Not as good as i hoped

    I was disapointed :( it was bit comercial for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Repeat and repeat formula

    Is written out and appealed to hard core fans onlt i am not one rsvp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    To: I need help

    Res srands for result. If you what to chat with someone you can say meet me at clone codes res one and you would go to search an type in clone codes and tap on result one. Rp stands for role play. For example if somebody created a group of cats cats wouldnt have nooks. People are pretending to be cats. I hope this helped you :D

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    BOOOOO !!!

    VERY DISAPPOINTING ... No way is this a proper sequel to The Shining ... Didnt care about any of the characters ... The story although it sounds good it was actually boring ... So sad for something that could have been so great ... What happened Steve ??? Can I get my money back on this one ???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Far From My Favorite

    Yes, it's well written, but it is not a King book that is hard to put down. What really bothered me is the theme of kidnapping and torturing of children- it is just over the top sick, even for King. Some things just should not be used as entertainment. Aside from that aspect, the rest of the story is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Doctor Sleep a "sleeper."

    Doctor Sleep is not as frightening as "The Shining." It is very slow in places, very boring in parts. If I wasn't familiar with Mr. King's other novels, I wouldn't read anything else by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Who wrote this book?

    Although the story was entertaining, I couldn't find even a hint of anything that would have led me to believe Stephen King wrote this book.It was wooden and seemed quite mechanical. The intimacy and involvement one feels while reading his books just isn't there. I read in an interview that he was going to try something different this time. Apparently he did! Here's hoping it doesn't happen again.... I miss him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3