Customer Reviews for

Doctor in Petticoats (Sophie's Daughters Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    Wonderfully delightful!

    DOCTOR IN PETTICOATS (SOPHIE'S DAUGHTERS) by Mary Connealy is a wonderfully delightful Inspirational Historical Romance set in Texas and Montana in the 1879's. This is the first in the Sophie's Daughters series.It is well written with depth, detail and humor. It has faith, family, romance, redemption,and forgiveness in one's self. The plot has two stories weaving together in reference to Sophie's daughters. We see characters from some of Ms. Connealy's other stories reappearing. The characters are strong, determined, full of faith, independent, selfless,and witty.The hero is a doctor who is guilt ridden by the war and it atrocities. He walks away from military life wounded physically and emotionally after a devastating event, unable to doctor due to nightmares and such. The heroine wants to be a doctor, she is strong and full of faith. They meet on a stagecoach which happens upon another stagecoach on the road that has been in an accident with injured passengers. The heroine helps the hero, he leans on her and as they say the rest is history.The secondary characters are just as intriguing, their story is wonderfully written. I would highly recommend the story. I can hardly wait for the next installment. This book was received for review from Net Galley and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Barbour Books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Yet another GREAT book by Mary!  -   I have never read one of M

    Yet another GREAT book by Mary!  -  

    I have never read one of Mary's books that I didn't love and this one is no different. I have had this series on my TBR list for a while and finally got started on them, I should have done so sooner. I really enjoyed they way the characters connected with their eyes, I could just imagine myself looking on when this was happening and admiring the love they felt in order for one to gain strength from the other just through the eye contact. Oh yes, this looks like it will be another 'must read' series for Christian/Fiction/Romance book lovers. Thank you yet again for another great book Mary!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    Amazing books, as always from this wonderful author. I loved Bot

    Amazing books, as always from this wonderful author. I loved Both Alex and Beth. They may be some of my favorite characters from Mary Connealy. The plot was great and very unique. Humor was in every chapter, so it was definitely not a disappointment. The second half of this book was just as amazing as the first, and I definitely recommend it. 

    Sadly, I have a copy of the next book in the series, Wrangler in Petticoats, BUT I CANNOT FIND IT AND IT MAKES ME SAD. I really want to read it ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Great!

    Another great, fun, light fead from Connealy. You just gotta love her style!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Recommend!

    Sweet love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I laughed the whole way through the book - I was laughing out loud before I was finished the second page!

    Beth's attitude was so much fun! I loved her. Mandy was adorable. Many times I read Mary's books and feel like I'm being told my father's memories. They seem completely real and familiar but are so much fun you have to wonder if they're really true. Thanks so much for another fun time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Doctor In Petticoats

    This book starts out fast, just like a runaway stagecoach, and doesn't slow down until the end!

    Beth McClellan is on her way home to see her sister Mandy marry, she has been away from home studying to be a nurse, She is headed home on a stagecoach, and one of the passengers is a stinky man that she assumes is a drunk. When they happen upon an accident where there are injured people Beth demands that the drunk help her, boy is she surprised when it turns out he "Alex" is a doctor.

    Alex Buchanan is a doctor who is a wanted man. There is a bounty hunter looking for him, because he deserted from the army after witnessing so much death and misery. Heartsick he abandons his medical profession, and tries to keep it a secret that he is a doctor. When he and Beth arrive in Mosqueros he wants nothing more than to work on the McClellan ranch. When the community finds out he is a doctor, he is soon set up with an office and several patients. The only way he can practice medicine is if Beth is by his side, he draws strength from her, so the solution is to marry her. Will Beth marry a stranger so that she can achieve her goal of practicing medicine, and can Alex face his demons and find solace in Mosqueros?

    This was such a fast paced story that I didn't put it down, reading it in one sitting. I loved the character of Beth she is a self assured lady who also has a quick wit. I found myself laughing out loud on several occasions. I also enjoyed how the book bounces back and forth between the sisters. When Mandy realizes her marriage is a mistake, she feels like she has to honor her wedding vows and stick it out.
    If your a fan of fast paced, historical christian fiction then you are going to love this book. This was my first time reading anything by Mary Connealy and she now has a new fan in me. I am anxious to read the next book in the series.

    Book provided by Netgalley and Barbour Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    romance in the west continues

    Great follow up of Petticoat Ranch and finding out what has happened to Sophie's daughters. Loved revisiting Clay and Sophie. Loved even more the adventures and romance of her daughters. Mary Connealy once again pleases us with a fast-paced, lively, fun, romantic and full of the west novel. Her women are exciting and truly western women. The romance is believable and touches your heart. The characters are so compelling you love when they come back again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't read if you hate laughing.

    I dare you to read the first two chapters of Doctor in Petticoats without chuckling, but if you're like me, you'll laugh out loud. Mary Connealy is known for writing romantic comedies set in the Old West, and Doctor in Petticoats might be her funniest yet.

    This novel follows the lives of Beth and Mandy McClellan, who we first met as children in the novel Petticoat Junction. Beth and Mandy have grown up and married, and their parents are less than enthusiastic about either of their husbands. The men have something else in common besides not winning Sophie and Clay's approval.

    During the course of the novel, each of them commits what amounts to a cardinal sin in the Old West...they cry. But that's where the similarities end. The author deftly turns one of these tortured souls into a beta hero, and the other into a slime ball.

    Connealy plays to her strengths in this novel. Humor is her strong point followed closely by her action and adventure scenes. The romance is light and sweet and the story is definitely entertaining. Since this is the beginning of a new series, we are left with one unresolved storyline, but that did not diminish my enjoyment of the book. Actually, I highly recommend it. If you've never read a Connealy novel, this would be the perfect place to begin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Get to know Sophie's daughters!

    When Beth McCellen first meets Alex Buchanan, it is anything but love at first sight. The two of them narrowly escape a coach accident, and while helping those who were injured, realize they are both doctors. As important saving people is to Beth, she knows this means she will miss seeing her sister Mandy off with her new husband, Sidney. Mandy, meanwhile, does not take long to discover her married life is not exactly what she thought it would be. With the aid of Belle Harding (familiar, anyone?), Mandy finds the strength to seek the truth and follow her heart. And through the strength they arouse in each other, Beth and Alex come to chase away the ghosts of the past and create a bright future of helping people together.

    Those of you that follow this blog will know that I am a fan of Mary Connealy. So it should not be a surprise that I totally liked this book. In fact, it may be my favorite story from Connealy yet! With the family I fell in with from Petticoat Ranch, this new series gives the reader another chance to get to know Sophie's daughters more deeply. Beth is an inspiring, strong, career minded woman. I loved reading about the patients and the sophisticated doctoring Beth and Alex could do, even in 1879. I wasn't sure my stomach was going to be strong enough in some places! A few scenes had absolutely hilarious dialog that I would be awesome to see on the big screen in a movie adaptation of this book. On a last note, I was totally into the simultaneous stories of Beth and Mandy, and couldn't wait to get updates on each. Sometimes when an author writes in this style, one story can stand out more than the other, but Connealy pulls it off with flying colors.

    A great start to a new series, and I am highly anticipating Wrangler in Petticoats, coming out in the fall!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1