Customer Reviews for

The Doctor's Wife

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Heavy Read

    Living in Wichita, KS. allows me to relate to the harassment and lunatics that abortion doctors endure. I am not saying I agree with abortion, quite the contrary, but I absolutely do NOT believe in killing or harassing someone who does. There are religious groups that do act as though they are the judge and jury and their actions, "In the name of Jesus Christ" appall me. Some reviewers feel that this representation in the book is far fetched, believe me it is not.

    The Doctor's Wife is a very heavy, disturbing but thought provoking novel. It is a very well written book with suspense and the ever prevalent "one bad choice after another", and would make for great for a book club discussion due to the various subject matters.

    I was really excited to read this book but just didn't love it. I think it was just due to the heavy subject matter and the lack of connection with the characters.

    If you are looking for a happy read, this is not it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Plot, but full of profanity

    The plots jumps around and keeps you guessing, which definitely keeps your interest. In fact, I found myself re-reading the book just so I could make the pieces fit.
    I did not like the language or some of the graphic descriptions of violence and sex. I especially did not the oft-used "evil preacher" who did such awful things to so many in the name of God.
    Overall, I would NOT reccomend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Will Stir Your Emotions!

    I thought this book was great. Suspenseful and dramatic. Very defined character personalties. Whether I liked them or not, I still wanted to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    This is a gripping wonderful novel.

    This is a gripping wonderful novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    This book is an interesting page-turner that keeps you reading p

    This book is an interesting page-turner that keeps you reading past your bedtime, lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Thought provocking theme!

    A book that can make me fustrated, intrigued and angry at the characters is a good book! Would have liked more of an ending. Felt like there was alot left unsaid about where these characters lives were left at the ending. Definately recommend reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    suspenseful page-turner

    A good read for a rainy day. Believable characters, some more liked than others. An abrupt and quick ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Psychological suspense-a good read!

    The cover of the book drew me into the world of these conflicted people...educated, uneducated, liberal, conservative, seemingly normal, dillusional...the author wove an interesting story and I wasn't sure the final outcome. The characters' lives were irrevocably woven together and there didn't seem to be a happy conclusion for any of them. Life has a way of doing just that...sometimes there are no true winners. If you like psychological suspense, give this a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    mixed feelings about this book

    The ending I certainly did not like. It was an easy read and there were parts when I could not put it down. I would recommend reading because the plot is quite original and the characters were very memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Great book

    Enjoyed the book. Could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Strange, sad yet addicting tale

    In The Doctor's Wife the lives of four people intertwine which leads to a cataclysmic conclusion. Michael is an OB/GYN who has a very good practice, but when asked to help out a former friend with an abortion clinic, he chooses to help. He becomes a target of a Christian group that has been harassing the clinic. Annie, his lonely and neglected wife finds refuge in the arms of a once famous artist, Simon. Simon's wife Lydia suspects the affair.

    First off, The Doctor's Wife is not exactly a romance, although the relationships between two couples is the focus of the book. I found myself very intrigued by the story. The words and phrases the author uses paints quite a picture, sets quite a setting. The mood of the overall story comes across as very gloomy and tragic. I like that the author starts at the ending first and then works back to the beginning. It is a technique that really catches the readers' interest.

    For me, I found the story very well written. I thought that the author had a certain way with words and phrases which really drew me into the story. The characters were very well portrayed, enough so that even though there is clearly a bad guy there are also shades of grey with all of the characters. All the characters made mistakes but I felt they all were also redeemable. In my book group not all of us agreed on the likability of the characters. Some of us felt that certain actions were not redeemable. We all seemed to agree that the ending left certain questions unanswered and wondered if the author wrote another book or if another book was forth coming. As far as I know, none has been written.

    The book is not one that I would have chosen to read if not for the book club. However, once I started the story I was completely immersed in the characters. I am enjoying the book club. It is good to get exposure to books I might not normally read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    WOW???

    The beginning was slow but it was fascinating once I got into the meat of the story. An interesting perspective on fidelity to say the least. The characters were believable to an extent - no self respecting man could view a naked portrait of his wife and several pics of her engaged in the lewd sex acts with another man and be so forgiving. Fiction @ its best!! The fact that Simon was a bum that screwed nasty prostitutes, lived in a filthy house and took her to a cheap hotel was disconcerting; yet she loved him and her husband?? Had Simon lived would Annie leave her family? The end was a disappointment; too many unanswered questions. Who actually fathered the child? How did Michael come to terms with her affair? It was disturbing that Annie wept for her lover yet showed no compassion to her injured husband. Have to admit, I am going to have to read it again to put all the pieces together. This book would definitely foster great book club discussion

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A-Ma-ZING!

    The Doctor's Wife is amazing, truly amazing! The characters relate to life, and the plot is thrilling, suspenseful and keeps you wanting more. I picked this book up for a little light reading while flying, and LOVE it! The topic is controversial and really makes you think of your own views and opinions. It dances on both sides of the fence( on the issue the book revolves around), and makes you think. The way the characters are weaved into each other, and the way that everything is laid out is captivating. This should be the book of the summer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    Best book I have ever read!

    This is such a good book, you don't ever want to put it down! I use to never read fiction books but after reading this one, I read fiction all the time now. All of the main character's were just amazing! I recommend this book for anyone who wants a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    fabulous

    What a great read.....couldn't put it down. She is such a good writer. I was sorry it ended. I am in the middle of her other book "Somebody Else's Daughter" which is totally different but also fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I have ever read

    I have to say, I never read a book comparable with this one. I was thrilled from the very beginning. Lively characters and a writing style, that differentiates. In the last third of the book the tensing is so gripping you can hardly put the book down. My highly approval to the author: I am very much impressed to come up with such elaborated story!!! Recommanded for book clubs. Just bought Brundage's second novel "Someone Else's Daughter" and I am sure, it will not disappoint me. Keep an eye on this author! Wow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME BOOK!!!

    It took me a while to actually get into the book, but once I did, it was hard to put it down. A great psychological thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    Awesome book!

    Finished this book in just a couple days!! It was one of the best books I have read in a long time! I could hardly put the book down even to sleep. I just wanted to keep reading! Really really great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    This was an easy book for me to polish off in a weekend. I was instantly sucked in and couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG

    awesome books kind of a little slow at first but it makes it up. it plays with your mind. keeps you wanting more. it was hard for me to put the book down. read it when i went to sleep and would read it first thing in the morning. its a mystery, psychological, thiller it cant get any better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4