Customer Reviews for

The Doctor's Wife

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Will Stir Your Emotions!

    I thought this book was great. Suspenseful and dramatic. Very defined character personalties. Whether I liked them or not, I still wanted to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    This book is an interesting page-turner that keeps you reading p

    This book is an interesting page-turner that keeps you reading past your bedtime, lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Thought provocking theme!

    A book that can make me fustrated, intrigued and angry at the characters is a good book! Would have liked more of an ending. Felt like there was alot left unsaid about where these characters lives were left at the ending. Definately recommend reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    suspenseful page-turner

    A good read for a rainy day. Believable characters, some more liked than others. An abrupt and quick ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Great book

    Enjoyed the book. Could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Strange, sad yet addicting tale

    In The Doctor's Wife the lives of four people intertwine which leads to a cataclysmic conclusion. Michael is an OB/GYN who has a very good practice, but when asked to help out a former friend with an abortion clinic, he chooses to help. He becomes a target of a Christian group that has been harassing the clinic. Annie, his lonely and neglected wife finds refuge in the arms of a once famous artist, Simon. Simon's wife Lydia suspects the affair.

    First off, The Doctor's Wife is not exactly a romance, although the relationships between two couples is the focus of the book. I found myself very intrigued by the story. The words and phrases the author uses paints quite a picture, sets quite a setting. The mood of the overall story comes across as very gloomy and tragic. I like that the author starts at the ending first and then works back to the beginning. It is a technique that really catches the readers' interest.

    For me, I found the story very well written. I thought that the author had a certain way with words and phrases which really drew me into the story. The characters were very well portrayed, enough so that even though there is clearly a bad guy there are also shades of grey with all of the characters. All the characters made mistakes but I felt they all were also redeemable. In my book group not all of us agreed on the likability of the characters. Some of us felt that certain actions were not redeemable. We all seemed to agree that the ending left certain questions unanswered and wondered if the author wrote another book or if another book was forth coming. As far as I know, none has been written.

    The book is not one that I would have chosen to read if not for the book club. However, once I started the story I was completely immersed in the characters. I am enjoying the book club. It is good to get exposure to books I might not normally read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2007

    DIFFERENT AND INTERESTING

    Tired of reading the same old stuff, I picked this up for something different. It definately was and I was not disappointed. It starts off at a past pace and maintains that all the way through the book. The characters seem realistic to me as well as fustrating. Poor Lydia, uneducated, abused, neglected and exploited all before turning 25. No wonder she cracks! Overall a very good read. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was due to the ending. I too, felt it was rushed. I was also hoping Annie would not be so sentimental about Simon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Good Read

    I found this to be a good debut novel by this author. Although the novel went from present to past at various times, it was enjoyable and kept my interest. A good psychological thriller. Made great lunchtime and evening reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2006

    A very good read, indeed!

    This book was really well written. Not your typical chick-lit read, but not terribly hard to follow - an easy read. Keeps you interested until the end. I agree with a few of the other reviewers though that the ending was a little rushed. Well worth the time invested though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    A great read

    It started out slow but then builds momentum.I couldnt put it donw and this author has a beautiful way with words.What a great first novel.I am looking forward to her next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2005

    good read

    I thought the beginning was a bit slow, but when I got into the book, it all came together and I didn't want to put it down. I think it's a great study of relationships, morality and judgement. A lot to think about! Excellent writing and very good characters. Not your typical 'relationship - chick lit' book at all. Loved it. I'll be waiting for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    solid moral thriller

    In the Albany, New York area, anyone who knows the Knowles believe this family is living the American dream. Michael is a highly regarded OB-GYN practicing at St. Vincent's Hospital his wife, Annie is a popular professor who teaches creative writing at St. Catherine's College. They have two precocious children who seem happy and adjusted. --- Their idyllic life changes when Michael joins a clinic that provides abortions. His already filled to the overflow calendar is booked even more leaving Annie abandoned and lonely. She turns to painter Simon Haas for solace and more. He welcomes her as his spouse Lydia hides in bed for days when she is not worshipping Reverend Tim. At about the same time pro-lifers begin a nasty campaign to drive Michael out of the clinic threatening to kill his family. Reverend Tim leads protests against the clinic, teaches Lydia how to use a gun, and has her enroll in Annie's class. --- The tale grips the audience as the two sides of the abortion debate stay on the fringe focusing on the radical sides of the issue. The misnamed pro-lifers are willing to kill practitioners and their families under the religious zealousness of the Ten Commandments but blithely ignore the plight of the young once born the pro-abortion side ignores educating the young on other options and the post trauma under a so-called scientific first amendment right. Thus, the cast are overly stereotyped to enhance the extreme and cause confrontation but weaken the possible nuances of what could have been a cutting edge moral thriller such as the economics in an outlawed abortion society (the wealthy to Europe the middle class to Canada or the Caribbean the lower class to butchers). --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2