Customer Reviews for

The Doctor's Wife

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    This is a gripping wonderful novel.

    This is a gripping wonderful novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A-Ma-ZING!

    The Doctor's Wife is amazing, truly amazing! The characters relate to life, and the plot is thrilling, suspenseful and keeps you wanting more. I picked this book up for a little light reading while flying, and LOVE it! The topic is controversial and really makes you think of your own views and opinions. It dances on both sides of the fence( on the issue the book revolves around), and makes you think. The way the characters are weaved into each other, and the way that everything is laid out is captivating. This should be the book of the summer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    Best book I have ever read!

    This is such a good book, you don't ever want to put it down! I use to never read fiction books but after reading this one, I read fiction all the time now. All of the main character's were just amazing! I recommend this book for anyone who wants a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    fabulous

    What a great read.....couldn't put it down. She is such a good writer. I was sorry it ended. I am in the middle of her other book "Somebody Else's Daughter" which is totally different but also fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I have ever read

    I have to say, I never read a book comparable with this one. I was thrilled from the very beginning. Lively characters and a writing style, that differentiates. In the last third of the book the tensing is so gripping you can hardly put the book down. My highly approval to the author: I am very much impressed to come up with such elaborated story!!! Recommanded for book clubs. Just bought Brundage's second novel "Someone Else's Daughter" and I am sure, it will not disappoint me. Keep an eye on this author! Wow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME BOOK!!!

    It took me a while to actually get into the book, but once I did, it was hard to put it down. A great psychological thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    Awesome book!

    Finished this book in just a couple days!! It was one of the best books I have read in a long time! I could hardly put the book down even to sleep. I just wanted to keep reading! Really really great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    This was an easy book for me to polish off in a weekend. I was instantly sucked in and couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG

    awesome books kind of a little slow at first but it makes it up. it plays with your mind. keeps you wanting more. it was hard for me to put the book down. read it when i went to sleep and would read it first thing in the morning. its a mystery, psychological, thiller it cant get any better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    Hard to put down.

    I think its a wonderful book. It will keep you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    Page Turner!

    I could not put this book down! What a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    Awesome!

    This book was GREAT! I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes psychological thrillers. Full of twists and turns and hard to put down. I would give the book 10 stars if I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    What a wonderful book!!!

    I just loved this book!Some of the other reviewers wrote that they find the characters horrible, i thought they were wonderful! Who wants to read a book, with nothing but a bunch of goody-to-shoes in it ! Reality is we live in world of disfunction, and some where out there, there is a Simon, Annie, Lydia, and a Michael living among us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    Having completed The Doctor's Wife I highly recommend this book. The author writes sensitively about the abortion issue. She has an impressive control of language and her characters are vivid and believable. I found this first novel riveting and look forward to reading more from this extraordinary new writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    Hard to put down!

    This book was entertaining and very well written. It was frustrating because the characters had almost no backbone! They all just existed for themselves and I found that annoying. There were parts that were not very realistic, but I guess that is the joy of fiction. I am very glad I read this book and I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Avid fiction reader

    I am shocked at those who did not enjoy this book. I am an avid reader and very picky at that. This book was fabulous. A+ to the style the writer used in this book. It kept my attention, kept me interested, and dissappointed me when I was finished reading 'I didn't want the story to end'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    Read this book!

    In times like these, it's great to find a book that grabs you and doesn't let go. This is a different sort of thriller that has a social context,which you don't find all that often. The author takes risks with the characters. I've never read anything quite like it. I just think this is an excellent book and if you're looking for something that's fast and smart, this book's for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    excellent read

    I thought that at the beginning of this book it was slow. Then one i got into the book a few chapters behind me it got really interested I couldnt put it down. I did think that this i definatley a book for an adult I am 20 years old and the language was a little rough. Overall though i really enjoyed this book and i am a very picky reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    Wow! Every word worth reading!

    The first time in a long time I've enjoyed the entire book and was not disappointed at the end! Quick read! Worth every minute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    This Woman Can Write

    I was thoroughly caught up in this novel, which tells the story of two unraveling marriages that get tied together for various reasons. I literally stayed up all night reading it. If you like characters with real problems, if you like stories that take you into a world where nothing is as it seems and where danger seems present in the most ordinary places, this book is for you. I can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2