Customer Reviews for

Dodger

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly Wonderful Book!!

While it is different from Sir Terry's other fiction, this book enamored me from the first chapter. It is a most literate, fascinating, and wonderful! historical fantasy story, set in early Victorian London, with Charles Dickens as one of the main characters. I cannot r...
While it is different from Sir Terry's other fiction, this book enamored me from the first chapter. It is a most literate, fascinating, and wonderful! historical fantasy story, set in early Victorian London, with Charles Dickens as one of the main characters. I cannot recommend it highly enough. I admit to reading his acknowledgments at the end of the book first, which helped give the narrative much more meaning to me. One ought not let the fact that Dodger is not set in Discworld dissuade you from getting this book immediately. It is Fine Literature of the highest degree. Enjoy! ;-)

posted by Wordmistress on October 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

Good book.

posted by 16934099 on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    Incredibly Wonderful Book!!

    While it is different from Sir Terry's other fiction, this book enamored me from the first chapter. It is a most literate, fascinating, and wonderful! historical fantasy story, set in early Victorian London, with Charles Dickens as one of the main characters. I cannot recommend it highly enough. I admit to reading his acknowledgments at the end of the book first, which helped give the narrative much more meaning to me. One ought not let the fact that Dodger is not set in Discworld dissuade you from getting this book immediately. It is Fine Literature of the highest degree. Enjoy! ;-)

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Charmed again

    This is another if Terrys works where the leading characters have won me over with their mischevious personalities and sharp wit. Quitr happy to have this in my collection

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Classic.

    I am a relative newcomer to Sir Terry's catalogue, having consumed the Discworld ouevre in about six months a couple years ago. I was delighted with the other works later, but I would never have categorized any in the absolute top tier of literary work. Entirely enjoyable, yes - nearly, but not classic.

    Dodger, on the other hand, surpasses the rest of his previous output. This novel should be held up as one of the works taught in advanced high school literature classes. It has it all. It is a seminar in novel writing. You MUST read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Very interesting, conceptually, and executed with the flair that

    Very interesting, conceptually, and executed with the flair that i have come to expect from Sir Terry's work over the years. I have always enjoyed his young adult titles as much as his adult fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Always a Good Read

    Terry Pratchett once again charms and delights - this time with an historical fantasy that weaves Victorian London, Charles Dickens and Sweeney Todd (just to mention a few) all through the eyes of that charming rogue the Artful Dodger. Once again Mr. Pratchett comes through with a treet not to be missed. I know this is one I'll enjoy again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Good idea, so-so execution

    The idea about a work on the true Dodger of Dickens fame and the fact this was a period piece drew me to this work. Parts of it were interesting. Parts suspended belief. Parts were predictable. Parts were bizarre. The involvement of various historical characters was okay, added a little to the story, but added to the disbelief on some levels. The elements I liked were the description of Victorian England, the prose, and presentation of the different treatment and attitudes related to class. The parts that were difficult to accept, even knowing this was a work of fiction, involved the developing relationship between a sewer dweller and a "semi-royal", and the constant stream of "fortuitious" circumstances and successful outcomes based in part on the naievete of players.. If Mr. Dodger lived today he would be a consistent lottery winner given the luck described. The prose is quite good. The pace of the book is a little formal, consistent with the pace found in many novels of the era. It isn't high on my recommended list, but it isn't a bottom feeder either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Really excellent

    Some of the slang gets you, but overall, a wonderfully witty read with smart characters you can care about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    another Pratchett hit!

    I have loved all of T Pratchett's work. This one set in England during the time of Charles Dickens is no exception. It abounds in wit, colorful characters and dialect, twist and turns. The plot is an old one, boy saves girl and finds out he is a better man for it. But it is fresh told with Pratchet's style and humor. Sutiable for all ages. Loved it. Hazar

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Good

    Good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    Pratchett is my all-time-ever favorite author and this book did

    Pratchett is my all-time-ever favorite author and this book did not disappoint. I simply love Dodger and hope to read more of his life in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    : )

    It was full of excitement and whimsy. The characters were charismatic and the antics hilarious. Another great book was The Wee Free Men, although they don't seem similar they are both well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Scott's Too Short To Be Useful Reviews

    Pratchett's a treasure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Another Great Work by Pratchett

    A rollicking good time. The only criticism I have is that the climax feels *slightly* anti-climatic. A wonderful read regardless and definitely recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    I fell in love with Dodger in Oliver Twist.......

    So when my most favorite guru of writers came up with Dodger, My heart soared...Once again the Mr. P doesnt let you down. Dodger is nothing you expect and choc full of guest star goodness! My favorite special appearance was Sweeny Todd, who looked like Jhonny Depp.....go figure, Its great fun to read its Terry Pratchatt no worries its golden....oh btw Dodger kinda looks like thr fab Mr. Pratchatt just a few years younger......go figure! Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    DODGER is worth more than one read! Don't miss it!!!

    Pratchett's use of Dicken's Artful Dodger as his main character is inspired! His use of historical figures and fictional ones as well is wonderful. I particularly enjoyed the amount of growth Dodger goes through during the course of the story. A thoroughly enjoyable read, especially if you've read or seen OLIVER TWIST!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    A real good story. Throughout the book carries the tale of Dodg

    A real good story. Throughout the book carries the tale of Dodger, a tosher in England in the time of Charles Dickens. A rollicking story of survival and triumph of an orphan of 17 years that has mastered the arts of street survival. With a wonderful, and lucky, cast of characters the story is great. I just wish the ending had been concluded without a token goodbye to the characters and storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    I admit to a real fondness for Terry Pratchett books, and I love this one! Great writing and a fantastic storyline!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Anonymous

    Amazing. Terry Pratchet has a gift for writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Never read Sir Terry's writings before and was unexpectedly deli

    Never read Sir Terry's writings before and was unexpectedly delighted! The characters are very well developed as are motivations. Subtle humor and engaging protaganist made this a wonderful read. Appreciated the "Forrest Gump-esque" history of Victorian England as told through Dodger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Enjoyable read but a slow start

    It took me awhile to get into this book because the start was slow...setting up the characters and explaining to the audience what "toshing" in the old London sewers was all about. The appearances of historical characters was fun, especially "Charlie" Dickens. The footnotes that are part and parcel to Terry Pratchett are present in the book and is his wit and charm.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3