Customer Reviews for

Dodger and Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Me and dodger

    So good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Stink

    Awesome book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Fun Book for Boys

    My son loved reading this on his iPad and can't wait to read the book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Theresa L. Stowell for TeensReadToo.com

    DODGER AND ME is the first book in a new series by Jordan Sonnenblick .

    In this book we meet Willie Ryan, self-proclaimed wimp. The fact that Willie is definitely a wimp is immediately evident when he becomes the reason his baseball team loses the first game in the championship series. One might think it is bad enough that Willie can neither catch nor hit a ball, but Willie has more wrong with his life.

    To start, his mother is so overprotective that a simple nosebleed becomes an emergency of epic proportions. If that is not bad enough, his best friend has moved away and asked Lizzie, a British student at his school, to keep an eye on him. Lizzie takes this request very seriously and follows him everywhere, even to the big game where she embarrasses him by cheering him on despite his horrendous playing ability.

    Tired of always following the rules and getting nowhere, Willie takes a shortcut home. Though he imagines his mother's warnings to stay on the beaten path, Willie cuts through the woods. He comes to a meadow where everything is blue, everything but the McDonald's bag that someone left lying in a stream. Always conscientious, Willie picks up the bag to dispose of it. To his shock, Dodger, a huge blue chimpanzee, appears in front of him.

    Dodger sets on a course that is supposed to make Willie's life better. Dodger is going to make Willie's mother less domineering, he is going to make Lizzie go away, and he is going to make Willie a baseball star. Unfortunately for Willie, Dodger's version of wish granting is a little more hands-on than the traditional genie's. Thus follows a series of delightful antics that will make readers of all ages laugh.

    The story shows a clear difference between what we think we want and the reality of that desire in a lighthearted way. Though the plotline is a bit predictable, readers will enjoy seeing how Dodger twists Willie's simple wishes into slapstick solutions. Sonnenblick uses laughter to show original ways to overcome or accept issues that many middle schoolers struggle to overcome on a daily basis: loneliness, athletic prowess, bullying, and the true meaning of friendship.

    DODGER AND ME is such an enjoyable trip that readers will look forward to reading the next installment in this delightful series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Easy-Funny-Down to Earth book

    First drawn by the cover picture, we happily realized that the inside of the book was just as good!
    Very fun story, page turner book that my son read in just one evening!
    Can't wait for the next one to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    dodger and me

    If you are a person who loves imaginary animals, I would recommend Dodger and Me to you. It¿s about a kid named William who doesn¿t have a lot of friends. He is not a baseball star, and his mom does not trust him a bit. I would recommend Dodger and Me to 4th and 5th grade level students. Dodger is with Willy William¿s the nickname in the story. Dodger will grant him three wishes to make his life better, but he gets Willy into a lot of trouble. Willy¿s only friend is Lizzie who came from England. The only people who can see Dodger are William and Lizzie. Jordan Sonnenblik has taught 8th grade English for over a decade. He was born on July 4, 1969 at Fort Leonard wood, Missouri. His current home is Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. In 2006 Scholastic published Notes from the Midnight Driver, a story about drunk driving, lawn gnomes, and divorced parents. Dodger and Me was really good. I enjoyed it and when you read it, you will too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1