Customer Reviews for

Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 699 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(273)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(128)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(79)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Excellent...and fairly priced

I think that this book is amazing and well worth the price. And for you NOOK haters out there, the list price of the hardcover version of this book was 27.99. with tax that equates to roughly $31.00, and you are complaining about spending $15.00 on it? What, were you ...
I think that this book is amazing and well worth the price. And for you NOOK haters out there, the list price of the hardcover version of this book was 27.99. with tax that equates to roughly $31.00, and you are complaining about spending $15.00 on it? What, were you expecting B&N to just give you the book for free along with a complimentary Venti Latte from their cafe? Please look into all the facts before you write a review, Thank You.
As I was saying, this is already a terrific book and I highly recommend it to any Aerosmith or Steven Tyler fan. I also recommend Joey Kramer's autobiography as well. Thank You.

posted by 8104430 on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Lousy Book - Great Title

Highly dissapointing.
Disjointed, fragmented and full of meaningless Tyler gibberish.
No chronology or flow. Lot's of lame Tyler-speak that is hard to get passed.
Appears the editor rushed to publish to time with his American Idol appearance. More of a marketing gim...
Highly dissapointing.
Disjointed, fragmented and full of meaningless Tyler gibberish.
No chronology or flow. Lot's of lame Tyler-speak that is hard to get passed.
Appears the editor rushed to publish to time with his American Idol appearance. More of a marketing gimmick that a well thought out autobiography.
Pass

posted by Sabru on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Excellent...and fairly priced

    I think that this book is amazing and well worth the price. And for you NOOK haters out there, the list price of the hardcover version of this book was 27.99. with tax that equates to roughly $31.00, and you are complaining about spending $15.00 on it? What, were you expecting B&N to just give you the book for free along with a complimentary Venti Latte from their cafe? Please look into all the facts before you write a review, Thank You.
    As I was saying, this is already a terrific book and I highly recommend it to any Aerosmith or Steven Tyler fan. I also recommend Joey Kramer's autobiography as well. Thank You.

    30 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    Well worth the Money, Honey!

    For such a music legend, I would pay double. All in your perspective, I guess. Complaints about the cost should be directed to B&N's customer service dept., not as a review of this wonderful e-book.

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    TYLER FEAVER

    IF YOU WANT TO "TAKE A WALK INSIDE HIS MIND" THEN GET THIS BOOK.
    YOU REALLY GET TO KNOW THE REAL STEVEN TALLARICO AND UNDERSTAND HIM MORE. NOW EVERYTIME I WATCH HIM ON AMERICAN IDOL, THERE'S SOMETHING IN THE BOOK (CANT TELL YOU OR IT WILL RUIN IT) THAT MAKES ME LAUGH WHEN I SEE HIM. SO IF YOU WANNA KNOW WHAT IT IS THEN.....BUY THE EFFIN' BOOK!!!
    XOXOXO

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Well Worth The Time

    Steven Tyler has a style all his own and is what made this book such a great read. I especially liked the parts about when he was growing up.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Will definitely buy and Review!!

    Thank you to those that gave an actual review of the book! I will definitely download on my Nook! Thanks for the 'heads up' about Chapter 4. For those that are hung up on the price... so be it! Sounds like you're going to miss a good read!

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Lousy Book - Great Title

    Highly dissapointing.
    Disjointed, fragmented and full of meaningless Tyler gibberish.
    No chronology or flow. Lot's of lame Tyler-speak that is hard to get passed.
    Appears the editor rushed to publish to time with his American Idol appearance. More of a marketing gimmick that a well thought out autobiography.
    Pass

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Thank you!

    To all those who actually reviewed the book, I wasn't sure since I don't normally read biogaphies. It sounds like Tyler's book is worth reading, so thanks to those who stayed on topic.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    To be honest, I accidentally purchased this eBook on my Nook (th

    To be honest, I accidentally purchased this eBook on my Nook (thank goodness it was only $3 at that time!)...I knew Steven Tyler had released an autobiography, but I didn't really have any interest in reading it. Since I purchased it, I figured I might as well read it. I got about 30 pages into it, and I could not read any further. As a few of the other reviews mention, the writing is choppy and hard to follow, and there is no real rhythm to the book (or what I managed to read of it). Unless you are a die-hard fan, I would not recommend this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    I think this book is really, really good, especially if you are

    I think this book is really, really good, especially if you are a musician or would like to know about their world.
    Great job, Steven Tyler

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    A Must Read!

    Loved it...loved it....loved it....saw a whole other side to the man who IS AEROSMITH!
    Deeply intelligent, deeply spiritual, deeply loving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    There is nothing in this book even slightly worthy of your time

    There is nothing in this book even slightly worthy of your time or money. What you'll get from this read are the interminable rantings of a narcissistic addict with a case of arrested development. Tyler uses 367 Nook pages, (and the insight of a 16 year old), to pridefully crow about the amount of drugs he's done and the number of women he's had sex with--some underage, by the way--in a bloviating tribute to himself that could have been summed up in perhaps 20 pages.

    Now, I knew not to expect literary genius. But in my younger days I was a fan of Aerosmith's music so I made this purchase thinking maybe I'd learn something about the art of writing music. What I got was the self-important musings of a now 63 year old adolescent with an overblown opinion of his own value to Aerosmith in particular and music as an art form in general. Seriously, don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Maybe it's just me, but this book was just OK. Unless you really

    Maybe it's just me, but this book was just OK. Unless you really, deeply love Steven Tyler, this book is too much like a twitter blog of some narcissistic celebrity. A lot of bragging and pity talk. But other than that, the sex, drugs, and Rock N Rock are great. Have fun with this book, as it can be a little slow at some points.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love Steven's eccentric style. Amazing life story, glad he is st

    Love Steven's eccentric style. Amazing life story, glad he is still around to tell it. Love ya Steven!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful noise!!

    I grew up with Aerosmith and had a mad crush on Steven. Always found the style of writing and music to be a step up on many others. I never realized just how much the drugs factored in...that was as bit of a shock, but I am really glad he survived and has been able to write about it all. I found the really personal parts of his story to be pretty funny....glad to know my fantasies were pretty spot on! Now to be able to see him on A.I. and have a little more insight makes watching even more fun. Rock on sweetie....one of a kind. And thank you for all of the wet memories!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Not what I expected!

    I loved reading this book and was pleasantly surprised! Steven Tyler is so humble and honest, I almost forgot he's my rock & roll hero. His words reminded me that he's human, has problems & issues he needs help with, and is still trying to figure it out just like the rest of us. This was a great book and I can't wait to see him in concert again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    Steven Tyler has a big, flashy personality and his book is no different. He tells it like it is, holding nothing back. We learn about his childhood, his personal life, the making of Aerosmith, his relationship with its members (particularly Joe Perry), his addictions and his songwriting process.

    Occasionally Tyler wanders off topic and offers personal insights on life. I noticed this bothered many of the other reviewers who wanted a linear, professional autobiography. Unlike those reviewers, I thoroughly enjoyed his meandering. For me, his writing style and (sometimes) lack of structure felt more personal. We're given a glimpse into the real Steven Tyler, the man behind the lead singer persona. He has packed a lot of living into his 60-plus years and has a lot to say.

    I found the book entertaining, sad, silly and poignant. Steven Tyler is far more intelligent than most people give him credit for. He's also over-the-top crazy at times. But isn't that what we love about him?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Just Amazing!

    There are so many things I can say about this book. Steven Tyler most defenitly holds back no thoughts, he speaks his mind!The book is VERY well written, and is perfect for the Steven Tyler/Aerosmith fan. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Would you say that Steven Tyler likes to talk? Well, he does and he leaves nothing out. He can get on a topic and it seems like he can go on forever, BUT he keeps you interested. I think it's a very good biography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Funniest Book that I have ever read!

    This book is absolutely hilarious. My family was so sick of hearing me giggle as I read it I really think they would have "chunked" my Kindle (sorry B&N) if they could have found the opportunity. Everyone on my Christmas list is getting a copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    LOVE IT! LOVE HIM!

    I have been a fan since '76! I loved reading this glimpse into the life of Steven Tyler. I watched Idol for the 1st time just to watch him. He is a Rock GOD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3