Customer Reviews for

Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 698 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(273)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(128)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(78)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

At some points I felt like I had been doing all the drugs he talked about.

This was an entertaining read. I found myself laughing out loud at some points and at others having so much trouble tracking that I felt I had been taking all those drugs right along with him. I think it delivers what it promises but I think the drug use is evident in...
This was an entertaining read. I found myself laughing out loud at some points and at others having so much trouble tracking that I felt I had been taking all those drugs right along with him. I think it delivers what it promises but I think the drug use is evident in the telling. I was having trouble with my Nook so I had trouble going back to see if I was correct but it seemed in the dialog about writing songs he would talk about writing them say in 1980 or something and then later in the book say he wrote them in 1970 something. I also felt that he wrote this somewhat to defend himself against what ex wives and bandmates had written about him. It was very defensive and it detracted from the book. It felt at some points like a 12 years old child defending bad behaviour or trying at least to justify it although some points he tried to make were actually done quite well. I also felt that he was a bit critical of fans, having not been a rock star I don't know what it's like but when he started complaining about fans telling him how Aerosmiths music played a role in their life I felt that was just bad form. I'm sure that after a while that stuff gets old but hey you have to take the bad with the good and I would think fans telling you how great you are and how much they love your music would be one of the easier things to tolerate.

I liked the book, I thought it worth the money and it did make me want to read the other books he referred to just to see what the others had said that got his tail in a twist. I thought some of narrative was strictly for shock value and not necessary but it didn't bother me enough not to recommend reading this if you liked Aerosmith or Steven Tyler.

And I wish B&N would limit reviews to comment about actual content and not complaints about price.... either you buy it or you don't, if your too cheap to buy it now wait for the price to come down, like you would if you were waiting for the paperback.

posted by gettin_picky on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Sample version missing pages

The sample version was about 20 pages shorter than promised.

posted by Mamaloo on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Sample version missing pages

    The sample version was about 20 pages shorter than promised.

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Lousy Book - Great Title

    Highly dissapointing.
    Disjointed, fragmented and full of meaningless Tyler gibberish.
    No chronology or flow. Lot's of lame Tyler-speak that is hard to get passed.
    Appears the editor rushed to publish to time with his American Idol appearance. More of a marketing gimmick that a well thought out autobiography.
    Pass

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Not what I expected

    I love S.T. And Aerosmith but the book was choppy and sometimes a little hard to follow. Really, not so great.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    How can this be so BORING?

    I guess ol Steve was trying to settle some scores and shed some light but to me it comes off as bitter and disjointed rambling. Save your money

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    To be honest, I accidentally purchased this eBook on my Nook (th

    To be honest, I accidentally purchased this eBook on my Nook (thank goodness it was only $3 at that time!)...I knew Steven Tyler had released an autobiography, but I didn't really have any interest in reading it. Since I purchased it, I figured I might as well read it. I got about 30 pages into it, and I could not read any further. As a few of the other reviews mention, the writing is choppy and hard to follow, and there is no real rhythm to the book (or what I managed to read of it). Unless you are a die-hard fan, I would not recommend this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    Sample does not download correctly

    I hope this only happened to me--please note that the nook sample does not download correctly (I've tried it twice). Even though it says you get Chapter 1, you really only get the prologue. It skips ahead several pages.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Rocker junk

    Bla bla bla- waste of money . Almost no time line. Writing as ugly as the wardrobe.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Short sample

    Why can i get further than pg 36 on the sample?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Far too much profanity...

    if it was all removed, the book would be less than half it's length. While I know this is his persona, much of it was just unnecessary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Not what i was expecting

    What a let down! Not sure where he was going with this but he barely kept my interest to the end of the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    There is nothing in this book even slightly worthy of your time

    There is nothing in this book even slightly worthy of your time or money. What you'll get from this read are the interminable rantings of a narcissistic addict with a case of arrested development. Tyler uses 367 Nook pages, (and the insight of a 16 year old), to pridefully crow about the amount of drugs he's done and the number of women he's had sex with--some underage, by the way--in a bloviating tribute to himself that could have been summed up in perhaps 20 pages.

    Now, I knew not to expect literary genius. But in my younger days I was a fan of Aerosmith's music so I made this purchase thinking maybe I'd learn something about the art of writing music. What I got was the self-important musings of a now 63 year old adolescent with an overblown opinion of his own value to Aerosmith in particular and music as an art form in general. Seriously, don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Terrible

    I love aerosmith but this is the worst rock book out. Sorry Steven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    The noise is definitely bothering Steven sorry to say

    I REALLY wanted to read this book and love it.Steven Tyler has written some of my favorite songs. But, OMG, didn't anyone tell him the book sucked? The first third of it reads like he is high on something? Or since he is saying he is clean and sober now, maybe this is permanent brain damage???

    I never did drugs I am glad to say. I feel sad for him. But he made the choices also. I know we always hear "sex, drugs, rock 'n roll" and the drugs and women are readily available, but there are also consequences, and I am afraid Steven is one mixed-up dude in his head. I read the whole book, but it was not that interesting. It jumps around so much with no focus or design. I know there had to be LOTS of great stories from the band touring, but I guess Steven does not remember them, due to his over-indulgance of drugs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    So, so

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Birthdays in june

    Great book for people with birthday in june

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    Not my kind of book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sample download issue

    A little disappointed that the sample download is really only a few pages long instead of the 66 pages promised :( I adore Steven, though, and will probably buy the book anyway.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    No in store reading

    This book doesn't have a read in store option. Sad.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4