Customer Reviews for

Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 694 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(271)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(126)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(78)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

At some points I felt like I had been doing all the drugs he talked about.

This was an entertaining read. I found myself laughing out loud at some points and at others having so much trouble tracking that I felt I had been taking all those drugs right along with him. I think it delivers what it promises but I think the drug use is evident in...
This was an entertaining read. I found myself laughing out loud at some points and at others having so much trouble tracking that I felt I had been taking all those drugs right along with him. I think it delivers what it promises but I think the drug use is evident in the telling. I was having trouble with my Nook so I had trouble going back to see if I was correct but it seemed in the dialog about writing songs he would talk about writing them say in 1980 or something and then later in the book say he wrote them in 1970 something. I also felt that he wrote this somewhat to defend himself against what ex wives and bandmates had written about him. It was very defensive and it detracted from the book. It felt at some points like a 12 years old child defending bad behaviour or trying at least to justify it although some points he tried to make were actually done quite well. I also felt that he was a bit critical of fans, having not been a rock star I don't know what it's like but when he started complaining about fans telling him how Aerosmiths music played a role in their life I felt that was just bad form. I'm sure that after a while that stuff gets old but hey you have to take the bad with the good and I would think fans telling you how great you are and how much they love your music would be one of the easier things to tolerate.

I liked the book, I thought it worth the money and it did make me want to read the other books he referred to just to see what the others had said that got his tail in a twist. I thought some of narrative was strictly for shock value and not necessary but it didn't bother me enough not to recommend reading this if you liked Aerosmith or Steven Tyler.

And I wish B&N would limit reviews to comment about actual content and not complaints about price.... either you buy it or you don't, if your too cheap to buy it now wait for the price to come down, like you would if you were waiting for the paperback.

posted by gettin_picky on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

How much???

ILL READ IT IN THE STORE.....TO EXPENSIVE FOR A DOWNLOAD

posted by 8521329 on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    At some points I felt like I had been doing all the drugs he talked about.

    This was an entertaining read. I found myself laughing out loud at some points and at others having so much trouble tracking that I felt I had been taking all those drugs right along with him. I think it delivers what it promises but I think the drug use is evident in the telling. I was having trouble with my Nook so I had trouble going back to see if I was correct but it seemed in the dialog about writing songs he would talk about writing them say in 1980 or something and then later in the book say he wrote them in 1970 something. I also felt that he wrote this somewhat to defend himself against what ex wives and bandmates had written about him. It was very defensive and it detracted from the book. It felt at some points like a 12 years old child defending bad behaviour or trying at least to justify it although some points he tried to make were actually done quite well. I also felt that he was a bit critical of fans, having not been a rock star I don't know what it's like but when he started complaining about fans telling him how Aerosmiths music played a role in their life I felt that was just bad form. I'm sure that after a while that stuff gets old but hey you have to take the bad with the good and I would think fans telling you how great you are and how much they love your music would be one of the easier things to tolerate.

    I liked the book, I thought it worth the money and it did make me want to read the other books he referred to just to see what the others had said that got his tail in a twist. I thought some of narrative was strictly for shock value and not necessary but it didn't bother me enough not to recommend reading this if you liked Aerosmith or Steven Tyler.

    And I wish B&N would limit reviews to comment about actual content and not complaints about price.... either you buy it or you don't, if your too cheap to buy it now wait for the price to come down, like you would if you were waiting for the paperback.

    33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    coolest guy in the planet!

    Took a minute to get the feel of this book. However, I love his ' Steven-isms'. He's definately one of the rare ones in this world. I would love to spend a few hours picking his brain. There are too few like him! I feel like I understand him a little better. I'm so glad he exists in the universe with us!

    23 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Thank you!

    To all those who actually reviewed the book, I wasn't sure since I don't normally read biogaphies. It sounds like Tyler's book is worth reading, so thanks to those who stayed on topic.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Libraries often have free ebook nook downloads

    Stop complaining about prices and use and support public libraries. Good modernlibraries have these titles.on loan or through free ebook downloads. I have reserved my copyandwill reportback oncontent asap! Sorry to use content time toremind folks of great options. If your publiclibrarycannotget this book it istime to lobby for modern libraries with adequatefunding so you rarely cannot find a book or periodical! My typing sucks inthis nook, sorry

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    I u e

    Cif hu

    3 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    A must for any Aerosmith Fan!

    You can hear clearly hear Steven from begining to end in this autobiography. His sense of self is on every page and there is no doubt that he wrote this book. If you need to have a linear read from point A to point B you won't like this ride, however if you can handle the time jumps, the emotions and the memories this is a fantastic read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    recommended for steven tyler fans

    I love Steven Tyler! I have met him in Starbucks and he is a very down to earth guy! I have to say at times i get dizzy in his book but for the majority of it i love it!! I have about 40 pages left and i am HOOKED!! If you are a steven tyler fan def check this out!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Highly Recommend if You Are a true Aerosmith Fan

    The 1st 100 pages are very hard to follow. It is very scattered in it's time line of events. Like Steven Tyler himself you almost need to have a buzz on to get through it. If you push on from there it settles down and gets very ineresting telling what made Aerosmith a truly iconic Rock band. The last 100 pages leaves you wanting more detailed information which it unfortunately omits. If you love Aerosmith though it's worth the read. Seening how amazing a true musical genius was able to put together such grea hits while clearly huger than a kite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    I enjoyed it

    Its a bit choppy but its almost like hes talking to you. It has his personality in every sentence. Hes cockly and lewd and tender att times. Sort of what you knew of him through his music.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    St

    I really got to learn about him better a d I got to understand him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I have a renewed appreciatio

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I have a renewed appreciation for Aerosmith and the musicality of the songs. Steve Tyler is, as I always thought, a true musician and has an appreciation for the art, in spite of the wild lifestyle. The stories are fun, honest, and show the dark side of celebrity and being a true Rock Star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Good

    A little "all over the place", but all in all, a good,funny read.Guy pulls no punches about the bands on again/off again relations,and how it actually fueled some of their songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    S'alright

    Doesnt really cover anything that isnt already puiknoedge or wasnt told already in aerosmiths autobiography "walk this way". It does expand on some of those stories tho. A good autobiography written by one of rocks most enigmatic frontmen tyler writes exactly how he talks so if you have ever had a problem understanding him then this book might not be for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love Steven's eccentric style. Amazing life story, glad he is st

    Love Steven's eccentric style. Amazing life story, glad he is still around to tell it. Love ya Steven!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Great

    Surprisingly interesting. Steven Tyler has a wonderful sensenof humor, and a great story to tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Rude, crude and quite entertaining!

    Sex, drugs and rock and roll..that's what this book is all about. Steven Tyler lived it large and it almost killed him. This book is rude and crude just like the man, but quite well written and entertaining. If you can't take raunchy language and graphic descriptions of drugs and their results, then this book isn't for you. It's written as if Steven Tyler is sitting next to you and just telling his story. It jumps around a bit and is highly irreverent, but also highly entertaining at times. The book delves into his childhood, youth and ends up the year the book was published. I recommend this book to those of us that grew up with Aerosmith and those who've come to know Steven Tyler on American Idol and want to know more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    I Love Steven Tyler !

    Great book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Very Interesting Life!!

    Watching Steven Tyler on American Idol made me curious to read this book. I enjoyed every aspect of his life.....even the ADD, lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Loved it!!!

    As someone who was not a big Aerosmith fan, I was curious about the life of a hard living rock star. This book did not disappoint. The writing style was like sitting in your living room have a conversation with one of the greatest rock stars of our times. Would recommend to anyone who loves music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Recommend

    I wasn't an Aerosmith fan in the 70s, 80s...anytime. But having seen Steven on American Idol, this Babyboomer was impressed by him and his apparent kindness toward people, and his ability to be supportive and direct in a sensitive manner. Funny, too. So I decided to read his book. It is raw, sometimes stream of consiousness, funny and poignant. And, while I recognize that it is his perspective on events that others in his life may dispute, it made me a big fan of his. I'm going to buy some music and will feel like I know the back story behind it. I'm so happy that he lived through "it all" to be with us today - full of often self-deprecating wisdom about life, love, "the spaces between the notes", and the whole cosmic thing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8