Customer Reviews for

Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 698 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(273)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(128)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(78)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

At some points I felt like I had been doing all the drugs he talked about.

This was an entertaining read. I found myself laughing out loud at some points and at others having so much trouble tracking that I felt I had been taking all those drugs right along with him. I think it delivers what it promises but I think the drug use is evident in...
This was an entertaining read. I found myself laughing out loud at some points and at others having so much trouble tracking that I felt I had been taking all those drugs right along with him. I think it delivers what it promises but I think the drug use is evident in the telling. I was having trouble with my Nook so I had trouble going back to see if I was correct but it seemed in the dialog about writing songs he would talk about writing them say in 1980 or something and then later in the book say he wrote them in 1970 something. I also felt that he wrote this somewhat to defend himself against what ex wives and bandmates had written about him. It was very defensive and it detracted from the book. It felt at some points like a 12 years old child defending bad behaviour or trying at least to justify it although some points he tried to make were actually done quite well. I also felt that he was a bit critical of fans, having not been a rock star I don't know what it's like but when he started complaining about fans telling him how Aerosmiths music played a role in their life I felt that was just bad form. I'm sure that after a while that stuff gets old but hey you have to take the bad with the good and I would think fans telling you how great you are and how much they love your music would be one of the easier things to tolerate.

I liked the book, I thought it worth the money and it did make me want to read the other books he referred to just to see what the others had said that got his tail in a twist. I thought some of narrative was strictly for shock value and not necessary but it didn't bother me enough not to recommend reading this if you liked Aerosmith or Steven Tyler.

And I wish B&N would limit reviews to comment about actual content and not complaints about price.... either you buy it or you don't, if your too cheap to buy it now wait for the price to come down, like you would if you were waiting for the paperback.

posted by gettin_picky on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Sample version missing pages

The sample version was about 20 pages shorter than promised.

posted by Mamaloo on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 273 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Excellent...and fairly priced

    I think that this book is amazing and well worth the price. And for you NOOK haters out there, the list price of the hardcover version of this book was 27.99. with tax that equates to roughly $31.00, and you are complaining about spending $15.00 on it? What, were you expecting B&N to just give you the book for free along with a complimentary Venti Latte from their cafe? Please look into all the facts before you write a review, Thank You.
    As I was saying, this is already a terrific book and I highly recommend it to any Aerosmith or Steven Tyler fan. I also recommend Joey Kramer's autobiography as well. Thank You.

    30 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    Well worth the Money, Honey!

    For such a music legend, I would pay double. All in your perspective, I guess. Complaints about the cost should be directed to B&N's customer service dept., not as a review of this wonderful e-book.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    TYLER FEAVER

    IF YOU WANT TO "TAKE A WALK INSIDE HIS MIND" THEN GET THIS BOOK.
    YOU REALLY GET TO KNOW THE REAL STEVEN TALLARICO AND UNDERSTAND HIM MORE. NOW EVERYTIME I WATCH HIM ON AMERICAN IDOL, THERE'S SOMETHING IN THE BOOK (CANT TELL YOU OR IT WILL RUIN IT) THAT MAKES ME LAUGH WHEN I SEE HIM. SO IF YOU WANNA KNOW WHAT IT IS THEN.....BUY THE EFFIN' BOOK!!!
    XOXOXO

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Well Worth The Time

    Steven Tyler has a style all his own and is what made this book such a great read. I especially liked the parts about when he was growing up.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Will definitely buy and Review!!

    Thank you to those that gave an actual review of the book! I will definitely download on my Nook! Thanks for the 'heads up' about Chapter 4. For those that are hung up on the price... so be it! Sounds like you're going to miss a good read!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Great book

    BN doesn't set ebook prices. The publishers do.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Surprised

    I never really followed Aerosmith and I only knew some of there songs and even then not knowing it was them. But after seeing Steven Tyler on American Idol and loving the character he is I had to buy the book. How accurate it is I don't know, it's his accuracy. But it is the most entertaining book I have read in a long time. I would love to meet him and the noise in his head in person. Stay clean.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    OOPS!!

    Dont buy the nookbook! It has an error in it :( Mine was missing the entire 4th chapter. B&N was great, credited my account, now I just have to wait for the hardcover to get here..

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Anonomys

    I'm a Steven Tyler fan and i loved the book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Steven Tyler is a very interesting person. It was interesting to read about things that happened in the 60's & 70's when I was growing up (and sheltered from alot of stuff he wrote about). I finished this book within a week and that was pretty quick for me. I learned some things about him and his crazy rock n roll life. Loved the book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    I think this book is really, really good, especially if you are

    I think this book is really, really good, especially if you are a musician or would like to know about their world.
    Great job, Steven Tyler

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Steven tyler rocks

    Love him

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Awesome!

    Steven Tyler is a character! Very entertaining read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Great read from a rock legend!

    Havent made it all the way through this book yet, but so far i love it. Steven tyler puts his talent as a songwriter into poetic use as an author. This book is every bit as interesting as the man himself! Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    A Must Read!

    Loved it...loved it....loved it....saw a whole other side to the man who IS AEROSMITH!
    Deeply intelligent, deeply spiritual, deeply loving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Crazy

    I see alot of peeps complain bout prize when it isnt BnNs fault. If the nook wasnt out u would buy the book so whats the big deal. It isnt like u read it once n lose it. So either gey it or wait for a sale. Maybe go n half with a friend who has a nook n maybe u can lean it to each other. Am sure some peeps waste more money on beer or wine.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Love him

    I love steven and i never thought about him this way, he is a lot more rocker and sweet than i thought. He has a whole nother personality than i would imagin him to have,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Ayyyyyoooooo t love ll

    I havent read it yet but is he gay? Someone please tell me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Great story of a rock legend!

    A colorful tale of Steven's beginnings and life with (and without) Aerosmith. Very enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    I think you're gonna like this

    When reviewing an autobiography, there are really two things being reviewed; Do you like the author? Do you like the book? In this cse, I would say yes to both. It's hard not to like Richards. He is dissarmingly candid, and he pulls no punches. He can be contradictory, but that's also part of his charm. Who ,after all, does not have contradictions inside of them? It's very human and authentic. One minute, he's slamming Jagger as a control freak, and ripping his solo albums to shreds. The next, he tells of how kind and patient Mick was with him when he was out of control with addiction, and talks about the alchemy that the two of them have....as best as that kind of mysterious thing can be described. He comes accross as a good guy.....not a womanizer, and surprisingly emotional , for such a legendary ' bad boy'. And he possesses a wealth of musical knowledge that is amazing and impressive. Anyone who plays guitar has got to read this book. Richard's love of that instrument, and of music in general, is contageous. And he's funny! He laughs at himself, and doesn't sugarcoat his part in some of the stuff he did. I loved this book. Thanks, Keith.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 273 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14