Customer Reviews for

Dog Blood

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    A Great Sequel.

    David Moody has managed to accomplish something that very few others can. He has created an outstanding sequel. This book is equal to if not better than Hater (the 1st book of the series). He has managed to evolve the story of Danny McCoyne, keeping true to the original but he has writen a completely new story. By this, I mean he hasn't just rehashed the original story. This is a sequel that adds a completely new dimension to the story. I loved it.

    The sequel finds Danny a changed man. No longer scared of the present or the future. He is now a Fighter. Fighting for his very exsistance in a world that has gone mad with rage. He will do anything and he will kill anyone to succeed in his new environment. He has set himself a task, he will find his daughter and he will free her from the grasp of the unchanged. To do this Danny must not only fight his enimies but he must deceive his comrades in war. In a world that is split into two armies. Danny must be resourceful and brave to achieve his goals. Luckily for him, he has a few tricks up his sleeve.

    I highly recommend this book to everyone who enjoys a thrilling, terrifying read. This book kept me on the edge of my seat from start to end, just like the first book HATER. Once again, David Moody has proved himself as a leading contender in horror fiction.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Wonderful part 2 of Hater Trilogy

    After finishing Hater I was so mad I had to wait almost a year for the 2nd part. Was it ever worth the wait!! Focusing on the protagonist's desire to reunite with his daughter is delivers not only gruesome, graphic infected fighting but also heart. This man has earned top shelf in my library with his ability to make me want to jump out of my chair and shout at a book as if it were a movie!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Best Book of the Series?

    Questionably my favorite. So much happens in this book, so be sure that you've read Haters first. I ran through this book in about 2 days; so if you love a great dystopic trilogy like I do, pick this up ASAP!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Great Read!!

    I loved the first book Hater, this one is just as good. Scary to
    think this could happen on this planet. Read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Well done. This is where the series really took off.

    Well done. This is where the series really took off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    wow

    riveting, brilliant, spooky. this book definetly had me looking over my shoulder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    intelligent apocalyptic chiller

    The world as we know it no longer exists. The human race is divided into two distinct camps: the Unchanged and the Haters. The latter are people ripped of all social restraints and must kill the Unchanged. Their goal is an Unchanged genocide. The Haters have caused governments to collapse destroying the infrastructure of every nation. They still can think but obsess over killing the Unchanged even family members.

    Danny McCoyne is a Hater who hunts the Unchanged without mercy. His goal is to find his daughter Ellis who was taken away from him when he was knocked unconscious after killing his father-in-law. Before he passed out, he saw her and knows she is just like him. The government has relocated the Unchanged inside cities filled with traps like a medieval fortress. Danny falls in with a group that seeks the same destruction as he does. He learns to control his homicidal impulses so he can enter the city because his Ellis is there.

    This intelligent apocalyptic chiller is a fantastic horror tale that continues the escapades of the Haters, who are a zombie like humanoids. The species cannot control their basic impulse to slaughter the Unchanged though Danny tries as his love for Ellis supersedes his instinct to kill. Though lacking the cautionary theme of its predecessor, but with the same moody dark atmosphere and a strange flicker of paternal love and hope, Dog Blood is a terrific zombie thriller that affirms David Moody as a strong talent.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    When I finished Hater shortly after it came out, I waited with b

    When I finished Hater shortly after it came out, I waited with bated breath for Dog Blood—the back of Hater SAID the sequel would be coming out soon, but it just wasn’t soon enough for me! 
    Dog Blood returns us to the world of the Haters and the Unchanged. Chaos is still unfolding, and Danny is still hot on the trail of his daughter, Ella. This was the storyline that sucked me in the most—I needed him to find his daughter! Danny is now wrestling with the fact that he is a Hater, but, unlike most Haters, he can control the Hate, allowing him to sneak into Unchanged camps and go on missions. But the one thing that still drives him is his daughter. He knows she is a Hater, and he needs to find her. 
    By the time Dog Blood came out, I was in college. I lent Hater to a friend while I read the sequel. I gave her Dog Blood to read, and when she finished, she threw it at my head and shouted, “Why would you do that to me?!” I think that accurately describes David Moody’s writing. You get sucked in; you fall in love with the characters and become wrapped up in this world that’s utter chaos. But David Moody is a realist at heart—he doesn’t coddle his characters. Brutal things happen. Your heart will break (and race!) reading this book. If you like blood, gore, intense action, and biting your nails down to the nub, I definitely recommend Dog Blood. 
    The world of Hater becomes so much more complex in this book—the details that emerge, not only about the setting but about the way the Haters and Unchanged now function, make this book one to remember. It’s the perfect sequel to Hater—it answers just enough questions to satisfy you, but raises even more to keep you guessing. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    To Heatha

    Could you not say that...it affends me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Idiots, theyre not real dogs

    Dont rate the book badly because of some animal violence. Gods, worse things

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    NEVER READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Poor dogs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WAAAAAAAAAAAAHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ANIMAL ABUSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Instead of KILLING and HURTING and ABUSING animals save an animals LIFE by adopting donating or volenteering at the humane society or a shelter. HELP ANIMALS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Destint

    I like the tie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Tap me

    HOLY CRAP THAT WAS AN AWESOME yet sad BOOK I LOVED yet i hav to admit i sheded a tear or two OK OK I CRIED OK GOSH DONT JUDGE ME!!!!!!!! Gasp im srry im sick i dont feel good im sorry i snapped at you.
    ~Hetha 11 CA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Jenna

    Is it creepy? Tell me

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Good,exciting at the end

    A good sequel,but a bit slow first half

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Waaaaaaaa!

    Dont kill puppies!!!!!! Waaaaaaaaaaaaa!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    I love puppies

    Why?!?!?!?!?! :(

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Stupid people

    I love puppies

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Joo

    Goog

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Excellent

    Loved this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5