BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dog Breath!: The Horrible Trouble with Hally Tosis

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    It's a cute story! Some take a negative message away from the st

    It's a cute story! Some take a negative message away from the story, but it's just a story and it's in the eye of the beholder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    Stinky Breath!

    The book I chose to write a book review for is Dog Breath. The author and illustrator is Dav Pilkey. I chose this book because it is so funny. I like it. I think dog breath means stinky.
    In this wonderful book, the characters are a dog, adults, kids, and burglars. In the beginning, there was a good family who had a dog with bad breath. In the middle, the dog opened his mouth and licked stink on the burglars. In the end, the dog became a hero! The big idea in this story is always brush your teeth! A great quote from the author is, "The Tosis family got a big reward for turning in the crooks."
    I like this because the dog became a hero. The best part was when the dog opened his mouth and stink came out. The other part was when the skunks plugged their nose. I would recommend this book to someone to who likes to laugh!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Libro muy popular pero cuidado con una parte importante del mensaje

    Hola: En las sinopsis que se pone usualmente para este cuento,falta algo muy importante que es el nudo principal del cuento(y que no es solo el aliento): el perro estaba en una familia y un dia decidieron que por su aliento no lo querian mas y se tenia que ir.Ya habiendose tomado esta decision,de expulsar al perro de su familia ,aparecen unos ladrones y ese mismo perro que ya no lo querian mas,espanta con su aliento a los ladrones. Despues ,como el perro les fue util y por conveniencia,lo reintegran a la familia solo porque les convino.Pesima conducta para mostrar a un chico. Lo bueno es que la famila(aunque por motivos utilitarismo) acepta convivir con el perro(porque no intento buscar un medio para convivir antes?,tambien el aliento feo del perro se lo puede tratar) ,y lo resuelven poniendose cada uno un broche en sus narices.hecho que esta bien de todos modos. El final dividido en 2 partes es: lo bueno:se adaptan para poder convivir. Lo malo:solo se adaptan porque les conviene.Que bonito para un chico ,no?. Solo porque hecho a unos ladron aunque Hally sea "el mismo perro de siempre"(o es otro?). Porque ahora lo quieren en su familia y antes no?. Horrible muestra para los chicos:adaptarse solo por conveniencia y sino ,la expulsion.Y el amor en donde esta ? Solo hacerlo si el perro te es util ?(para mejor,si te es util la persona?). Del mismo modo que en los dibujos animados ,se muestran animales que hablan y actuan como seres humanos(los adultos sabemos que en realidad no es asi),se les da a los chicos esa figuracion con animales pues captan mejor (se supone)los contenidos.El perro en este cuento es un perro ,pero podemos inferir que tambien se muestra como actuan las personas y si no hay supervision de un adulto en este cuento,el punto que me incomododa a mi ,queda sin aclarar y es el nudo del cuento,en mi humilde opinion.No me gustaria tranferir esta conducta a u chico.Pues en el cuento,no esta criticado el hecho que el mismo perro antes ya no servia o no lo querian mas,y ahora que les sirvio (a pesar del mal olor)era aceptado de retorno a su hogar.Ese es el punto de vista que tengo muy presente. El libro tiene muy bonitos graficos,la edicion es muy linda la narracion o estilo tambien pero,lo importante es lo que dice y no el envoltorio,su popularidad .Y no olvidemos que es un libro destinado para los chicos,que por supuesto los grandes tambien podemos consumir con la gran diferencia que el adulto tiene una chance de reflexionar acerca del contenido pero un chico sin supervision ,aun no.Toma y acepta lo escrito como es. En mi opinion:libro nocivo para los jovenes,pues contiene mensajes relativos a intoreleracia,discriminacion y utilitarismo. Sos El Primero Que Me Lo Dice = SosElPrimeroQueMeLoDice

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    dog breath

    This was a gift to a very happy young man of age 9. He and his friends were so happy to read this book that day he received it. It was so funny with a good moral at the end of the
    story.

    Walter the farting dog also was very memorable to read for all children and adult, too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Cute book for toddlers

    I have been reading this book to my 4 year for two years now and she thinks its funny. Any body odor makes kids laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    Funniest Book Ever

    I LOVE this book! I am a baby sitter and I read it to all my families forever and now I am reading at as a secret reader at their school. They love it every time. One family even liked me to read it to them every night I came.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2000

    Most dogs have bad breath, but this one hits close to home!!!!

    I sure I am rating this along the lines of being favortism, only because it hits so close to home. My sisters dog could be the true Hally Tosis!!! My daughter is 4, to young to be able to relate this story to our family situation, but interested enough to make it her favorite for the week!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1