Customer Reviews for

Dog Company: The Boys of Pointe du Hoc--the Rangers Who Accomplished D-Day's Toughest Mission and Led the Way across Europe

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Best War Book I've Read..... I love a great story and this b

The Best War Book I've Read.....
I love a great story and this book has it in spades. The author weaves a compelling narrative develiping the men of Dog Company like movie characters. He takes the reader through their training (some of the toughest of any Allied unit ...
The Best War Book I've Read.....
I love a great story and this book has it in spades. The author weaves a compelling narrative develiping the men of Dog Company like movie characters. He takes the reader through their training (some of the toughest of any Allied unit prior to D-Day) as these intrepid Rangers climb 100-300 foot cliffs without safety harness in full-equipment. In their boots, you scale Pointe du Hoc under murderous German-machine gun and grenade fire. Fighting through a maze of tunnels and minefields two men neutralize a crucial gun position 700 tons of Allied bombs and thousands of naval shells failed to destroy. Moving through France to the battle for Brest, a small group of Rangers miraculously seize another Guns of Navarone-like gun battery after a gutsy Ranger forces his way into the massive underground fortress and puts a grenade between the German officer's crotch and compels the entire 800-man garrison to surrender. Like a crescendo, the book builds to a bayonet charge and an against-all-odds assault/defense of Hill 400. The combat scenes in this book are incredible and the author's lyrical prose brings an intimacy to WWII combat that I have never experienced in any other combat book.

posted by 5019924 on October 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

So so

Loved the war heroes but felt the author did a poor job piecing the stories/events together

posted by shelton210 on February 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    The Best War Book I've Read..... I love a great story and this b

    The Best War Book I've Read.....
    I love a great story and this book has it in spades. The author weaves a compelling narrative develiping the men of Dog Company like movie characters. He takes the reader through their training (some of the toughest of any Allied unit prior to D-Day) as these intrepid Rangers climb 100-300 foot cliffs without safety harness in full-equipment. In their boots, you scale Pointe du Hoc under murderous German-machine gun and grenade fire. Fighting through a maze of tunnels and minefields two men neutralize a crucial gun position 700 tons of Allied bombs and thousands of naval shells failed to destroy. Moving through France to the battle for Brest, a small group of Rangers miraculously seize another Guns of Navarone-like gun battery after a gutsy Ranger forces his way into the massive underground fortress and puts a grenade between the German officer's crotch and compels the entire 800-man garrison to surrender. Like a crescendo, the book builds to a bayonet charge and an against-all-odds assault/defense of Hill 400. The combat scenes in this book are incredible and the author's lyrical prose brings an intimacy to WWII combat that I have never experienced in any other combat book.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    One hazards to repeat the words of Shakespeare when reading Dog

    One hazards to repeat the words of Shakespeare when reading Dog Company...."old men forget yet all shall be forgot but he will remember with advantages
    what feats he did this day." Patrick O'Donnell's Dog Company is a poorly written piece of hagiography built on the recollection of soldiers forty plus years removed from events. While there is no doubt the rangers were great soldiers, the fact remains that 1) the guns at Pointe du Hoc had been removed from their emplacements and when found later, were neither manned nor registered therefor presenting no real threat to the Omaha and Utah landings. Did the success of the Normandy landings rest on the shoulders of Dog Company. Hardly. At Brest, the author provides more of the same leading us to believe that had the Rangers not taken the outer coastal defenses, Brest would not have fallen. Again not true. The Germans retained Brest until nearly the third week in September 1944 and when they surrendered it, did so after demolishing the port facilities rendering them unuseable until close to the end of the war. The entire book reads like something slapped together with little or no analysis. If the author took the time to read the Army Green Book series let alone much else in the current historiography of the European theater, there is little here to suggest that reality. Dog Company is a dog of a book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Dog Company: Beautifully written.   I couldn't put the book down

    Dog Company:
    Beautifully written.   I couldn't put the book down and read it to the point my wife was wondering if I'd ever get any "honey-dos" done!.  Dog Company brought to light a hidden side of WWII I was unaware of. The author, who was involved in combat I believe from another books of his I read,) seems to understands it and brought me on quite a 
    ride.  As a combat vet myself, my hairs went up from the detailed writing.  I'd have to say for me this was better than Band of Brothers (which I really loved )

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    needed editing

    needed editing

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    So so

    Loved the war heroes but felt the author did a poor job piecing the stories/events together

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    Magnificiantly written, cinematic story of an amazing band of Ra

    Magnificiantly written, cinematic story of an amazing band of Rangers whose sheer guts, courage, patriotism, loyalty, and fierce competitiveness help turn the tide of the war in the ETO. This book is unique, in that it is one of the few military books that brilliantly blends extensive historical research with the words, thoughts, feelings, and actions of the incredible men of Dog Company. They are real life action heroes, whose oral histories were captured by Mr. O'Donnell - just in time - since there are only a few of them still living. I had the pleasure of listening to Patrick O'Donnell on NPR's Here and Now. I am happy to say that he is as real and engaging as the men whose stories he tells in this gem of a book. There is something in Dog Company for everyone - which is why I am buying several to give as gifts for the holidays.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    Brought together by chance and necessity the men of Dog Company

    Brought together by chance and necessity the men of Dog Company form bonds and comradeship that last them to this day.
    From Pointe du Hoc in France to Germany’s Hurtgen Forest their display of courage devotion to one another, for which many paid the full measure.
    Mr. O’Donnell’s portal of events thru his oral histories and combat narratives give the reader a view of cinematic proportions in the GI own words.
    A great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Well done

    A great retelling and account of extraordinary men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Jaycie

    London. Its pretty fun. XD

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Hannah

    Omg ur so lucky!!! I wud love to go to london!!! British people are my fave... escpecially one direction! Luv them!

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1