Customer Reviews for

Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 600 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(449)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid "Dog Days" #4

I thought the book was very funny. I have read all of them and it was different than the others, it was funnier. I read it in 2 days. Can't wait for the next one. I likd the part where his uncles dog ate Gregs birthday cake, I wonder if that has happened to anyone i...
I thought the book was very funny. I have read all of them and it was different than the others, it was funnier. I read it in 2 days. Can't wait for the next one. I likd the part where his uncles dog ate Gregs birthday cake, I wonder if that has happened to anyone in real life? Greg goes camping in this book with Rowley, and they get in a fight. To find out what happens ands much more about Gregs adventures read this book. I really liked it. I thought it was hystarical,I think you will too.

posted by JeremiahL49 on November 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Storyguy

Not as funny as the other rest of the series were pretty good but jeff kenny went down hilll a little.Stick ti greg in school but someparts were a little interesting to read and fun for the adventure

posted by Anonymous on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 600 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid "Dog Days" #4

    I thought the book was very funny. I have read all of them and it was different than the others, it was funnier. I read it in 2 days. Can't wait for the next one. I likd the part where his uncles dog ate Gregs birthday cake, I wonder if that has happened to anyone in real life? Greg goes camping in this book with Rowley, and they get in a fight. To find out what happens ands much more about Gregs adventures read this book. I really liked it. I thought it was hystarical,I think you will too.

    62 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days c

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days was read by my 10 year old son this week. He read it in two days and loved it. The book was ordered online and he was so excited he went back and read all the past books again. According to my son this was the best book so far. These books are under his reading level but having my son excited about books is wonderful. He would recomend this book to all fourth graders.

    48 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A big Sister's Point of View!

    Finally!! My little brother ( 9 yrs. old) Never really liked to read....but i bought the 1st book for him, and he fell in love! I mean he has read every book over 3 times and he is anxiously awaiting the 4th....I am truly thankful that there is an author that can without a doubt capture young readers and keep them going....!
    --- A 13 year old big sis!

    29 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid

    These books are hilarious. I am a parent of 2 boys. When we purchase a new DOAWK, my kids sit with one another and read the book together. They howl. These books bring them together in such a great, sharing way.
    I too, will sit and read with them, and I love the humor. I saw Jeff Kinney's video on this site and I think it's wonderful that he did not get chosen to do comic strips. Keep up the good work with your books. We will buy every one of them. Nobody is too old to laugh and enjoy these books!

    25 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:):):):):):)

    LOOOOOOOOOOVEEEEEEEE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SOOOOOOOOOOOO FUUNNNYYYY!!!!!!! Can't wait for fifth to come out!!! :):):):):)

    24 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hi I am a 6th grade student from Glendale AZ. Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days By: Jeff Kinney

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days
    By: Jeff Kinney
    Greg Heffley has a boring, terrible life. He doesn't do well in school, and has no friends, except Rowley. Greg also tries to hit on all the girls in school, and fails to get them. He is also obsessed with video games. One bad thing leads to another in Greg Heffley's life. This summer isn't really going so bad for him though. His family hardly ever goes on trips or vacations, because of the shortage of money. This summer will be quite boring for Greg's family. Although Greg is happy to be inside playing video games. Sadly for Greg it is unhealthy for his mind to play video games all day. She decides to start a book club to make him read books he thinks are ridiculous, so now his summer isn't going so well. At least he still has his best friend Rowley, well he is only uses him to get access to his Rowley's dad's relaxing country club. They spend $83 in smoothies, which they could not afford, so Greg has to use the money he is was saving for a dog to pay the smoothie bill. Later Greg's dad buys a dog that Greg does not like. Rowley's family invites him to go on a trip with him. Then he has a bad time, and gets in a fight with Rowley, so he gets sent home early. So all in all Greg did not have a very good summer. The setting is not said, but the time is present. The theme of this book is that things don't go Greg's way. I liked this book because it is funny and you can easily visualize the characters. This book reminded me of the time that I use to have a crush on a lifeguard when I was 8. This book also reminds me of when things don't go my way. This book is like "Diary of a wimpy kid" The first one and, "Diary of a wimpy kid Rodrick Rules".

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    A excellent book for middle school

    I bought every single diary of a whimpy kid book there is out right now and there all great books to read throughout middle school. It is a book that you can enjoy reading throughout the school year. It's funny, well writen,and a book that i will read throughout middle school maybe even longer.

    21 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good Book

    This is a good book to get for kids going in to middle school it will help them out a lot.If you get this book get the first book it will make more sence for them.

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid

    DIARY of a Wimpy Kid is an Amazing book. I recommend it to anyone who likes comics or is just bored all the time. Also if you like to read funny things (comics, jokes etc.) I trecommend this book for you. Before you read the 2nd or 3rd, you should read the 1st book before the others. Just like the Harry Potter story. You won't really get it unless you read them in order.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid - AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I could not stop reading these books. They were FUNNY!!!!!

    16 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days
    How would it work out if you had a mom that thinks kids should spend their whole summer outside, and you think totally different? Well, that's what happens in Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days. If you haven't read these books, you don't know what you're missing.
    Greg thinks the ideal summer is spending the whole time indoors, playing video games. And now that he is kicked out of the Country Club that is all he has to do.
    But, his mom has a totally different perspective. She thinks it is wrong for a kid not to spend the whole summer outside.
    Greg hates and I mean HATES the town pool. To get in you have to pass through the changing room, where big hairy guys are changing. Greg is mentally scarred for life because of seeing that as a kid. Now he must pass through there again with his little brother. He tries as hard as he can not to look at the men but, his little brother runs through the showers and Greg has to get him out so, that Manny, his little brother, too, is not scarred for life.
    That's not the only thing he HAD to do outside with his family. He also has to go to a water park that he used to go to as a kid. After a long ride there, with his singing brother, rain comes as soon as they walk in the water park. Poor Greg.
    The author, Jeff Kinney, has written the whole Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. He was born February 19, 1971. Besides writing, he is also attributed to being the creator of Poptropica, a safe and fun website for kids. So, he works full-time as a writer and a designer of online games.
    Jeff Kinney grew up in Fort Washington, Maryland. He attended University of Washington at College Park in the early 1990s. In 1998 he started writing his ideas which eventually became, Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Loosely based on his childhood, the series has sold 16 billion as of 2009! That really tells you something about how good the books are!
    How the story unfolds is hysterical and amusing. I recommend it for any age. Even though it's based on a boy it is good for boys or girls.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    diary of a wimpy kid 4 was the best of all it was so good i could not stop reading!

    diary of a wimpy kid 4 hs alot of different funny stories. With.Rodrick at the top funniest. im not gonna tell u everything I want you to read them yourself. Now look up at the detailed ratings.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Diart of a wimpy kid : dog days

    This book is off the hook i read the whole series. And i even bought diary of a wimpy kid: do it your own. These books r 1 of my favorites i love all of the diary books. And if your the person who gets bored from a book because the letters r small u would not have the same problem with this. Theres letters like he wrote it...by hand i mean... like, not typing
    Hopefully u get the point. I finished the book really easally
    Because i wouldnt take my eyes off it. And i hope u have the same feeling

    Love,
    A 9yr old




    P.s. please with cherries on top click YES



    P.p.s see what i did there I LUV cherries


    P.p.p.s i should stop talking now


    P.p.p.p.s sorry still talking


    BYE!!!!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it

    this book is amazing. hard to put down, Can't wait to read the next.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    Fun

    My 9 year old son loves this series. His 12 year old brother reads it when no one else is looking.. A fun read.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    pepsicoworker

    i love this book i never really liked reading but i once read it and loved it

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    DIARY of a WIMPY KID DOG DAYS

    This book is about a boy named Gregory who's mother wants him to go outside and play instead of staying inside all summer playing video games. It is also about Greg and his best friend Rowley going into a business together to make money. Along the way Greg and Rowley get into a huge fight. I liked this book because Gregory and I are alike in so many ways. I also liked the book because Gregory's family is just like my family. One thing Greg and I have in common is we both like playing video games. Another thing Greg and I have in common is we both do not like to go outside. The final way we are alike is we both have a younger brother. One way Greg's family relates to mine is we both have a lot of family members. The final reason is his family and my family had a dog.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    hilarious!

    i read all the diary of a wimpy kids that are already out. This one was my favorite! I read in 2 days! I couldn't put the book down! i highly recomend this book for all 3rd through 6th graders! I cant wait tell the 5th book comes out this fall!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My son loves these books!!

    I am so glad to have found this series. My son who always complains about reading loves these books and it is such a relief to see him read voluntarily. While he is reading he laughs out loud and wants to talk about what he read afterward. It is so exciting for us!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    Great Book

    Loved all of the books. If you are going to read it, read the other books first, in order.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 600 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30