Customer Reviews for

Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 615 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(463)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

65 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid "Dog Days" #4

I thought the book was very funny. I have read all of them and it was different than the others, it was funnier. I read it in 2 days. Can't wait for the next one. I likd the part where his uncles dog ate Gregs birthday cake, I wonder if that has happened to anyone i...
I thought the book was very funny. I have read all of them and it was different than the others, it was funnier. I read it in 2 days. Can't wait for the next one. I likd the part where his uncles dog ate Gregs birthday cake, I wonder if that has happened to anyone in real life? Greg goes camping in this book with Rowley, and they get in a fight. To find out what happens ands much more about Gregs adventures read this book. I really liked it. I thought it was hystarical,I think you will too.

posted by JeremiahL49 on November 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

check it out

The book "Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days" is a very good book for kids who don't like reading and like fun saying and activities. This book is very humerous.This book is about a kid named Greg wants to stay in all summer and play video games.But his mom won't let that ha...
The book "Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days" is a very good book for kids who don't like reading and like fun saying and activities. This book is very humerous.This book is about a kid named Greg wants to stay in all summer and play video games.But his mom won't let that happen so she keeps nagging him to go do stuff outside.He don't like going to the beach because his big brother Rodrick teases him because he thinks he afraid of the waves because when they come close he runs away.Then he goes to get a haircut and he sits and waits and see's a thing in a magazine called "Miracle Pills"it makes you 97% smarter!Now he wants them since he thinks he is dumb.So he went to his best friends house Rowley to look at old souvenirs and junk books.So Rowley sleeps over Gregs house and gets scared by a little bird.So they go sleep in the bathroom Greg sleeps in the tub,Rowley sleeps on the toilet.His mom starts a reading club called "READING IS FUN".His mom made him and a couple other friends join.But then his mom caught him horsing around playing basketball in his bedroom, so she took away his TV.Then Rowley's dad came to Greg's house and told Greg and his mom that Rowley and Greg have to play the bill of all the milkshakes they drank and the bill came out to be $83.00.So they had a idea to get old magizines and put their faces on it and start jobs.So they did and have a lawn mower and snow plowing jobs.So he got enough money to pay it off then thought about when he gets old he will be rich and sell a movie about his life and charge $20 a person!!

posted by xr100 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 615 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    hilarious!

    i read all the diary of a wimpy kids that are already out. This one was my favorite! I read in 2 days! I couldn't put the book down! i highly recomend this book for all 3rd through 6th graders! I cant wait tell the 5th book comes out this fall!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Best book ever

    This book is so funny it does not have bad words

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dog Days

    this book is great i read it in 2 hours. The book was really funny. I was a little surprised they got a dog. but at that point of the story i wasn't surprised Rodrick the main characters Bro as you can say. He got the dog bowl and wrote SWEATY. That's actually all i have to say cause the book is short but funny

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great Book

    My 8 year old loves the series of Diary of a Wimpy kid.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Awsome

    I love all the diary of a wimpy kid books and im not even a tomboy!!!! And all my freinds think they are funny even my mom a she leterly lols

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    My daughter loves this book

    My daughter is such a huge fan of the Wimpy Kid series. She goes through these books in day. She was ecstatic when they said the movie was coming out. I highly recommend this book for young child's especially that the difficult right before the teen years.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply entertaining! :)

    Greg Heffley, who is now an expert in the middle school ways, is on summer vacation. While most kids are swimming at the public pool or riding their bikes, he's in front of the television playing video games. Greg's mom wants him to be more social, more active, and more . well, outgoing. With the cute lifeguard and trying to earn the responsibility of having a dog, maybe that wouldn't be such a bad idea. But after the suffering of walking through the men's shower room at the pool and having a cold, wet dog sleep next to him all night, Greg realizes that being lazy and irresponsible is just the way he is.

    The Diary of a Wimpy Kid series has yet to disappoint me! While I can tell that Greg is getting older and his opinions are becoming more grown-up, his narration and drawings still crack me up. This book is simply entertaining and it's very easy to read and keep reading. Greg's experiences and feelings are so realistic that I couldn't help but sympathize with him, laugh at him, and just want to be with him! The series appeals to both boys and girls and is the perfect gift.

    Recommended for ages 12+ Contains: crude humor

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    Excellent, very good, looking forward to more books

    This book was purchased for my son who has the previous "Diary of A Wimpy Kid" books. He and his classmates literally counted down the day until this book was released. His library at the school has them, but they are always "on hold", as the book is constantly checked out.

    Definitely recommend.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Kids' Book

    This is a wonderful childrens' book.What does it say to them? It says that even kids who don't seem to fit in can still be kids and find their place in the world.Good message.It teaches tolerance for others and helps them see inside themselves as well.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great Book!!!

    Jeff Kinney is an awesome author!!! I love the pictures too. This book was the same as the others in the series--a boy trying to grow up and survive middle school--but they never get old. If you are a girl like me I think you should read these and if you think the first one is a little too boyish check out Rachel Renee Russell's books: Dork Diaries. They are just the same but with a girl. Again I love these books I finished every one of them in an hour and read them over and over again. PLEASE MAKE MORE I LOVE THEM

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Wow!

    I really enjoy this book(Dairy of a wimpy kid)and I hope you do too,everyone!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    check it out

    The book "Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days" is a very good book for kids who don't like reading and like fun saying and activities. This book is very humerous.This book is about a kid named Greg wants to stay in all summer and play video games.But his mom won't let that happen so she keeps nagging him to go do stuff outside.He don't like going to the beach because his big brother Rodrick teases him because he thinks he afraid of the waves because when they come close he runs away.Then he goes to get a haircut and he sits and waits and see's a thing in a magazine called "Miracle Pills"it makes you 97% smarter!Now he wants them since he thinks he is dumb.So he went to his best friends house Rowley to look at old souvenirs and junk books.So Rowley sleeps over Gregs house and gets scared by a little bird.So they go sleep in the bathroom Greg sleeps in the tub,Rowley sleeps on the toilet.His mom starts a reading club called "READING IS FUN".His mom made him and a couple other friends join.But then his mom caught him horsing around playing basketball in his bedroom, so she took away his TV.Then Rowley's dad came to Greg's house and told Greg and his mom that Rowley and Greg have to play the bill of all the milkshakes they drank and the bill came out to be $83.00.So they had a idea to get old magizines and put their faces on it and start jobs.So they did and have a lawn mower and snow plowing jobs.So he got enough money to pay it off then thought about when he gets old he will be rich and sell a movie about his life and charge $20 a person!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Dirary of a wipiy kid dog days is...

    I for one thouth the book was hilarious and made me laugh out loud. The picture's were funny the writing was silly and I recomend this book for kids 6 or 7 and up.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Like it

    Love the book very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!cab

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    I like

    This book is like a awesome book for me i did not buy the whole book yet but this free sample i like it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Great read

    This was a funny book that made me laugh. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    This book is a great comedy. It will keep kids intrested. The

    This book is a great comedy. It will keep kids intrested. The main charcter is Greg Heffly the other charcters are his Mom,Rodrick,Dad,Rowely and his little brother. There is a few settings like the bordwalk,and his house.This book is about a kid that gets bullied by his brother. He isn’t popular in school either ,and he’s the middle kid so his little brother gets everything he wants. It’s a unfair life for him he gets in trouble for things his brothers do. Recommend this book to younger children. The book is a comedy and it will keep the kids intrested in it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Storyguy

    Not as funny as the other rest of the series were pretty good but jeff kenny went down hilll a little.Stick ti greg in school but someparts were a little interesting to read and fun for the adventure

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    the wimpiest kid

    the main character is observed to be an obnoxious, self-observant kid who goes through a series of events in his diary. The events are common to all kids but the way he sees them and writes about them are funny and witty.
    The family is not rich. He has rich friends living nearby. He fights with his friends, makes up, gets into trouble a lot, tries to look after his little brother and fight with his big brother. Just an ordinary family. Why would you read about it? because it is easy to read and easy to follow.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    Dog Days- Great, but not the best in the series...

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid series is awesome, no lie. However, Dog Days did not live up to its reputation of the series. Of course it was funny, but the title didn't make sense until about half way through the book. I'm not giving away anything but it was great, but not the best in the series. But still, the book is great and will make kids smile, laugh and read all over again! Long live the Wimpy kids! :-]

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 615 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31