BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 612 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(460)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid "Dog Days" #4

I thought the book was very funny. I have read all of them and it was different than the others, it was funnier. I read it in 2 days. Can't wait for the next one. I likd the part where his uncles dog ate Gregs birthday cake, I wonder if that has happened to anyone i...
I thought the book was very funny. I have read all of them and it was different than the others, it was funnier. I read it in 2 days. Can't wait for the next one. I likd the part where his uncles dog ate Gregs birthday cake, I wonder if that has happened to anyone in real life? Greg goes camping in this book with Rowley, and they get in a fight. To find out what happens ands much more about Gregs adventures read this book. I really liked it. I thought it was hystarical,I think you will too.

posted by JeremiahL49 on November 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

check it out

The book "Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days" is a very good book for kids who don't like reading and like fun saying and activities. This book is very humerous.This book is about a kid named Greg wants to stay in all summer and play video games.But his mom won't let that ha...
The book "Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days" is a very good book for kids who don't like reading and like fun saying and activities. This book is very humerous.This book is about a kid named Greg wants to stay in all summer and play video games.But his mom won't let that happen so she keeps nagging him to go do stuff outside.He don't like going to the beach because his big brother Rodrick teases him because he thinks he afraid of the waves because when they come close he runs away.Then he goes to get a haircut and he sits and waits and see's a thing in a magazine called "Miracle Pills"it makes you 97% smarter!Now he wants them since he thinks he is dumb.So he went to his best friends house Rowley to look at old souvenirs and junk books.So Rowley sleeps over Gregs house and gets scared by a little bird.So they go sleep in the bathroom Greg sleeps in the tub,Rowley sleeps on the toilet.His mom starts a reading club called "READING IS FUN".His mom made him and a couple other friends join.But then his mom caught him horsing around playing basketball in his bedroom, so she took away his TV.Then Rowley's dad came to Greg's house and told Greg and his mom that Rowley and Greg have to play the bill of all the milkshakes they drank and the bill came out to be $83.00.So they had a idea to get old magizines and put their faces on it and start jobs.So they did and have a lawn mower and snow plowing jobs.So he got enough money to pay it off then thought about when he gets old he will be rich and sell a movie about his life and charge $20 a person!!

posted by xr100 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    Grandson enjoys reading and this is great for him to use his creativity.

    My 8 1/2 year old grandson likes it very much. He is just starting to fill it out but is having fun and loves the fact that he will be journaling whatever he wants and believes; truly like the book says "others will read his book when he gets older".
    He enjoys all of the Jeff Kinney books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    funny

    Hi my name is Lulu, and I am writing this review. I think this book was really funny and weird.The characters are Greg, Mom, Dad, Rodrick, and their dog most of the time.The characters are also funny like the book.They talk with lots of bubbles. The author wrote this book very well because the pictures were creative. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm a 6th grade student glendale AZ

    This book diary of a wimpy kid by Jeff Kinney is a funny book. One of the main characters Greg is a normal wimpy kid who's mom want's to get him outside.Rowley is another character who is Greg's best friend.The story takes place in the modern day in summer.Greg Hiffy is starting out his summer in his room under a blanket playing video games and his mom well doesn't like that very much.So his mom has some attempts at getting him out of the house.One first attempts is the local puplic pool.Well that didn,t work out because first he did not have any ride until he found a free girl,s bike(which gets stolen),second the horrible locker rooms you run pass.He goes on a vacation with Rowley and his family and the rest of his summer is crazy,wacky,and fun filled. I have some connections to the book. For instance he has a really creepy neighbor and so do I.My neighbor dose not drule like in the book but he is always is making this weird cry/scream.Also reminds me off my mom trying to get me outside.So over all I loved this book hope you do to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny Book, I am a 6th Grade Student in Glendale, AZ

    I am a 6th grade student in Glendale, AZ writing about a book called, "Diary of a Wimpy Kid 4: Dog Days" by Jeff Kinney. The main character is Greg, an out of shape kid. He has a lot of problems in life, and things get a lot worse when it gets further along. The plot is a boy's life and problems. As the story goes on, Greg gets into different situations, such as losing a friend, having to pay off a huge bill, and other stuff. Sometimes good stuff happens, sometimes not. in the end, nothing really that good happens. It never really said where the book took place, but it's in modern times. The theme is that everyone has problems. I think the story was pretty good because it's funny, surprising, and fun to read. One part of the book was a little the same as me, which is like when I get something completely useless for my birthday, and that me and Greg both want a phone. Other books that are good are Diary of a Wimpy Kid 1, 2, and 3. That ends my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book

    This book is very good and is worth the price. It isnt quite as funny as the others but now I cant wait for book 5!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    enjoyable

    good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Good kids book.

    Funny, with good lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    I love this series a lot!

    I'm a third-grader and I really like these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a 6th grade student in Glendale, AZ

    The main protaganist of the story is a teenage boy named Greg Heffley. He has a very boring life but we think it's funny. He has a friend named Rowley that acts like a baby. He also lives with very protective parents. The plot is that Greg wants to spend his summer break playing video games in the dark. During summer break, his mom has the family go on short trips. For example, a boring fourth of July party, going to the public pool and seeing hairy men shower in the locker room and so on. His dad also buys a dog that Greg doesn't like and the dog does not like Greg either. The setting takes place in current times during the summer in various locations. Greg has his own plans for summer break but his mom has plans of her own. I like the story very much because it is funny and enjoyable. I connected the book to myself because I like to play video games in the dark too. Another connection is that some children in the country probably have their summer breaks planned for them too. I would highly recommend these books. Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Rodrick Rules. That is the end of my review. I hope that you enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I AM A 6TH GRADE STUDENT IN ARIZONA. DIARY OF A WIMPY KID:DOG DAYS

    THE MAIN CHARACTER GREG, AND HE JUST WANTS A PERFECT SUMMER.HIM AND HIS MOM,DAD,LITTLE BROTHER MANNY,AND OLDER BROTHER RODRICK GO TO A WATER PARK whEN THEY GET THERE..IT RAINS.BUT WHAT GREG DIDNT KNNOW WAS HE DIDNT KNOW WAS HE WAS GOING TO LOOSE A FRIEND.TO FIX IT HE WENT ON A VACATION WITH HIS FRIEND ROWLEY AT A CABIN.HIS PARENTS WERNT SO HAPPY.THE BOOK TOOK PLACE IN A POOL,A CABIN,INSIDE IS HOUSE AND OUTSIDE,AND WAS HOT SUMMER.I THINK WHAT JEFF KINNEY WAS TRYING TO SAY IS TO HAVE A GOOD SUMMER AND BE NICE AND NOT FIGHT WITH FRIENDS OR YOU WILL LOOSE ONE.I LIKED THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT HAD DETATIL AND,PICTURES BUT NOT TO MUCH.I WOULD GIVE IT 4 STARS OUT OF 5.SOME RELATED BOKS ARE DIARY OF A WIMMPY KID,RODRICK RULES,THE LAST STRAW.The whole series was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    These books are so fun

    These graphic novels by Kinney are so much fun to read. They're quick and easy, but help to remind us all about the perils of middle school and growing up. They put "picture books" in an entirely different kind of category, walking the line between the often dark and ornate worlds of the comic books or graphic novels, and the simplistic messages conveyed by illustrated books for children. It feels very much like you're reading the journal/diary of a tween.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid #4

    I thought that this was an OK book. It isn't very educational, but it is very funny and interesting... It is more of a picture book for 10 and under I think in my opinion. But otherwise it is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny but simple

    I accidently came upon this book at a little cousins house, i picked it up just for the sake of keeping my mind busy, i could tell you it kept me laughing and smirking all through the story, but it wasent much of a challenge to read. If youre looking for a present for 10 year olds who enjoy reading, this is the pick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Birthday Gift for Grandson

    My grandson has the previous books in this series and has enjoyed them, and his birthday is in Nov. so I wanted to purchased this book for him. I feel that reading is very important for all children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Kids love this series

    My son loves these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Addicting

    My son is a HUGE fan of Gregory and could not wait to receive the latest edition, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Dog Days for his 9th birthday. He always skans throughout the entire book first looking at all of the pictures and then reads the book. I caught him reading during the night while he was supposed to be asleep. I couldn't punish him because he made me laugh from all his laughter. Keep up the great work Jeff!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    Atlast!

    Fun reading for kids, just like the rest of them. My son was waiting anxiously for this book to be published. Pre ordered in Aug. got it yesterday and he's already half way through it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    the books are laegh your head off funny

    im try to get all 5 so i could be just like my sister kelsey im trying to get my mom and dad to read them

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4