Customer Reviews for

Dog Heaven

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Amazing comfort for someone who has lost their dog!

    We received this book from a close friend when our 13 year old Australian Shepherd, Sweet Adeline died. The book had been passed to the friend when their dog died, by a friend of theirs. This same copy has been passed to a total of 5 families so far - each has written a brief note on the inside cover to the next family. We just passed it on to a friend a couple of weeks ago. We are also now putting a new copy in circulation by giving it to another friend. This time we included a photo of our pet and a note to the friend, as well as a note to "share it on" and to include a photo of their pet. It made it all the more special to know that the book has been passed on - from and to - others.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great gift

    This is a great gift for any dog lover(s) who have recently lost a family pet. It really made me feel better in my sorrow and I have continued to gift it back to any friend/family member who is also going through grief of losing a 4 legged family member.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Sarah R.I.P.

    Sarah was my 14 year old dog who was very ill and it was time to go to the hospital and get her checked out, they had to keep her over night the next day they called and said she was fine and that with drugs and rest she will get better and that we could come and get her in a few hours! When we were ready to get her they called and said that she had taken a turn for the worst, so i went down there and they brought her in the room on a stretcher because she could not walk, i then sat with her for awhile before then telling the vet that it was time for her to go to heaven! As they were preparing the final drugs to put her down i saw this book called dog heaven and while i was saying goodbye i read the story to her as i was balling the most teers in my life they put her down and that was the last book i read about dogs since her death!!! It was and is a great book and recommend it to anyone and everyone who has a dog or had a dog at somepoint!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Dog Heaven

    This is an amazing book. It's immensely comforting for anyone who has ever loved a dog who died and went to "dog heaven". It's a simple story, presented as a child's picture book. It's superb for grief counseling for people of all ages

    I received a copy as a gift and gave a copy as a gift.

    It gets my highest recommendation.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    Dog Heaven is fantastic

    This is an amazing book about the wonderful afterlife of our beloved dogs. A comforting read through and through.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a sweet little book.

    It's a wonderful childrens' story about where dogs go and what they do when they die. Lovely for younger children needing reassurance about a beloved pet. I liked it too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    Comfort for the Dog Lover's Soul

    9 years ago this summer our little Missy died after a period of declining health. She came through the local shelter and we guess that her life spanned 15 years. My dearest friend Cindy gave us Dog Heaven in memory of Missy. Since that time I have given it to friends when they have suffered the loss of their dog. These recipients run the gamut from the very young to others, like me who are forced to admit that we are not so very young. Most recently I gave it to a friend who serves with me on the board of directors for Asheville Humane Society. She and her husband have a wonderful veterinary surgery and for the first time in a long time they had to make a decision to euthanize one of their own dogs. In an e-mail response she said that while she grieved her loss she also wept tears of joy reading that homeless dogs will have a very special place in Dog Heaven. Far too soon after Missy's death, I had to make the decision to have her "brother" and my soul mate Winston euthanized. After I returned home, I sat on the floor with our German Shepherd Rex flanking one side while Rosie "the Basenji on steriods" flanked the other. As I read our book aloud to them, they both reached out to comfort me and each other. This is truly a classic piece with wonderful illustrations. If your friend is grieving the loss of a dog and you don't know what to do, give Dog Heaven.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Dog Heaven

    We saw this in our veterinarian's office and went out to get our own copy as soon as we could. It truly helped us with our three young children and explaining where our beautiful dog had gone. Thank you for a wonderful book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    What a wonderful book!

    My husband and I recently lost our 14 1/2 year old Husky, also named Tasha. She was our baby and we've been shattered. A dear friend gave this book to me and it has provided so much comfort. It may have been written with children in mind but it provides peace to all adults. This book helped us so much that I've ordered it for a friend of mine who just lost her dog. This will help anyone coping with the loss of a beloved canine family member.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Love it

    My friend gave this book to me when my dog died, i was soo sad. It mad me feel alot better.(i will never forget you rudy)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    This was a truly comforting book for our children when our belov

    This was a truly comforting book for our children when our beloved dog passed.  Highly recommend.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this tought me what dogs do a

    best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this tought me what dogs do and eat in heaven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Amazing what this book does

    My dog Maui was put down on January 23, 2012. My aunt did everything she could to make me feel better because shes a school teacher i even made a stuffed animal Maui at build a bear. I have this book in real life too the images are amazing i found maui in one! I miss maui every night sometimes enof to cry. I think this though in the book it says ur dog comes back ro u so i think he lays at my feet of my bed all night. This book is my favorite picture book ever!!! You are never too old to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Review

    I love the book, have read it before. But on my iPad I can't read it so it was a complete waste of my money. It is a very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    Everyone who has loved a dog must have this book!

    I read this everytime I lose a dog to the Rainbow Bridge. I like to think it's like this for them. And more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Sniff...

    My mother read this to me and my brother when our 14 year old mutt, Jessie, died of old age. I almost cried my eyes out! :( It was still a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I can't count how many copies of this book I have purchased. Unfortunately that is because I give one to everyone - child to adult, that loses their beloved dog. The book really helps... very sad, but in a good way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Great book

    Brought me to tears after losing one of our dogs. Reading it to my daughter now to help her understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Very comforting story

    I bought this book for my daughter shortly after we had to put our dog to sleep. I read this story years ago and thought it would be a comfort to anyone who had lost a dog. My daughter loved the book even though it made her cry. She was comforted by the images put forth by the author. My daughter is in her mid 30's but I think anyone who loses a dog would benefit from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    The most wonderful book!!

    I have bought this book for my niece and also a copy for my brother, and will continue to buy it for anyone I know that suffers through the broken heart of losing their dog. I also bought the other book, "Cat Heaven" for another niece who lost her little cat. She was delighted and it really helped her to feel better. I was irritated when I saw the critic's review about the book, because in my opinion he is a knucklehead! These two books are wonderful and soothing and a much-needed item for anyone who has lost a beloved pet. It is perfect for children and adults alike! God bless the author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3