BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dog Named Christmas

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    Wonderful Read

    Such a beautiful story, I read it straight through, start to finish. It's about a special young man, a very special dog and the warmth and love of family and community. The message of the book is so touching, a few times I cried, I confess. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a good Christmas story or just a heartwarming tale in general.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    WONDERFUL BOOK FOR THE HOLIDAYS

    This book will tug at your heartstrings. I absolutely loved it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    Sweet Book

    I really enjoyed this, as a dog lover. I felt it painted a beautiful picture of the characters & town. Perfect Holiday read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This book was a great story about how important a dog can be in a household, how they can pull the faimily together, and how they can teach an important lesson to both a father and a son. You really get attached to the characters (mostly Todd and Christmas). I loved this book. My all time faviorite book is Marley and Me (listed below; check it out) and this is definitely up their. Again, a great book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    This book is a keeper!

    After seeing the movie three times (!), I had to buy the book. I was not disappointed. There were things in the book that were not dealt with in the movie (due to time constraints, I am sure) and it really helped to read the book afterwards. This is one of the sweetest stories I have read in a long time. No way will I part with this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    What a beautiful, warm-hearted book!

    What a beautiful, warm-hearted book! <BR/>This is the story of a developmentally disabled young man who teaches his family and neighbors the true meaning of goodwill. When the local animal shelter begins a campaign to place all of their dogs in temporary homes for Christmas, Todd sweet talks the whole town into participating. In the process he gives everyone a gift they couldn't have imagined. <BR/>This book could have been sappy and overly sweet, but Kincaid manages it well giving the plot just enough action and gentle humor to steer clear of the danger areas. It is so well written that it reads like a true story even though it is classed as fiction. This is the feel-good book of the season, the one to read when you are overwhelmed by the demands of the holidays, the book to give your Grandma (and your brother!) for Christmas.<BR/>I listened to the audio version of this book and what a knock-out! It's read by Mark Bramhall and he has the most beautiful, deep, gravely voice. He comes across perfectly as the thoughtful, caring, funny, but slightly flawed dad. I had not listened to him before, but I will definitely be searching out other books read by him!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    A Dog Named Christmas is the first book in a series by Greg Kinc

    A Dog Named Christmas is the first book in a series by Greg Kincaid. The dog's name is Christmas and his disabled human friend is Todd. This is a story of hope, love and miracles - true to the Christmas spirit. The shelter is trying to get homes to take the animals in, just for the holidays due to lack of staff. Todd gets his father to agree. I read this book (all three books actually) with my daughter and she loved it. We are a family of dog lovers - there are four in our home at the moment - so she loves just about any heart warming dog story...Even though we already have four dogs - we were left desperately desiring to adopt another dog. That just isn't possible at the moment. This was not a book that my seven year old could read on her own due to some of the vocabulary but it was very enjoyable to read together. This particular story really accentuates just how much value our pets add to our family. This first book is told from Todd's fathers perspective. It is one of those heartwarming, good for the soul type of books.

    I received this book directly from the author. All opinions, good or bad are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Very good book

    This book is book is wonderful! I suggest this book to any dog lovers! This book is nice to read around this time of the season since Christmas is coming soon. After I read this book I am going to read another book by the Greg Kincaid called "Christmas with Tucker". This book talks about Tucker and "Christmas with Tucker" was writteen before " A dog named Christmas".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful book

    I loved it. Writing style was fun. Great characters and story. Wonderful theme. Only negative, it was just so short!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    great quick read!

    Good feel good book to read on an afternoon to raise your spirits!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I trully enjoyed this book

    This is such a touching story that should be added to the list of great animal/human stories, like Marley and Me. I loved every part of it, especially the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Love this heartwarming story!!!

    Love this heartwarming story!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    a VERY SWEET STORY IF YOU LIKE DOG STORIES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a very fast enjoyable read! If you are a dog lover you

    This was a very fast enjoyable read! If you are a dog lover you will love it even more but you don't need to be in the Christmas mood to read it, it's a feel good read even after Christmas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Looking for a feel good story!

    This is a perfect, quick read for anyone looking for a feel good story. Definitely a plus if you are a dog lover, but not a requirement to enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    I love the movie!!!!!

    It is such a heart warming story about a dog and a twenty year old boy. Now i can't wait to read the book !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    This book was wonderful, It gets you in the Christmas spirit and

    This book was wonderful, It gets you in the Christmas spirit and is also well written...which is very important. You never know where the book is going to turn next, which keeps you interested...in a good way!  I can't wait to read the next book &quot;A Christmas Home&quot; I read a lot of different types of books and I do my own &quot;star rating&quot; and I gave this 5 stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    I just fell in love with this story. Im not usually into dog bo

    I just fell in love with this story. Im not usually into dog books, but for some reason it appealed to me. I highly recommend this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    A dog named Christmas

    Wonderful story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Kelsey h

    Sounds like a cute book ,i would like to read it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3