Customer Reviews for

Dog Sense: How the New Science of Dog Behavior Can Make You A Better Friend to Your Pet

Average Rating 3.5
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Very interesting!

This book presents a highly detailed, very documented description of dogs. Although the initial section on genetics and the relationship between modern, domesticated dogs and preceeding generations of wolves becomes redundant, the author is quite clear and precise in h...
This book presents a highly detailed, very documented description of dogs. Although the initial section on genetics and the relationship between modern, domesticated dogs and preceeding generations of wolves becomes redundant, the author is quite clear and precise in his analysis. The chapters on dog's intelligence, emotional attachment and behavior is very interesting. These sections alone are well worth reading!

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Characteristics about the book

I think this book is: Factual Interesting Amazing Sophisticated

posted by 11660568 on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Very interesting!

    This book presents a highly detailed, very documented description of dogs. Although the initial section on genetics and the relationship between modern, domesticated dogs and preceeding generations of wolves becomes redundant, the author is quite clear and precise in his analysis. The chapters on dog's intelligence, emotional attachment and behavior is very interesting. These sections alone are well worth reading!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Great book that challenges training conventions

    Dr. Bradshaw has written an excellent book that challenges conventions of dog training, such as those practiced by The Monks of New Skete and Cesar Millan. Bradshaw suggests that, and then provides scientific support for, the hypothesis that dogs are not behaving aggressively due to a "dominance hierarchy" system but rather a "resource holding" system (you'll have to read the book for the lovely details!) Bradshaw calls for dog owners to reconsider their relationships with their dogs under this new model system as he believes the old one could permanently damage relationships. He has for ever changed my mind regarding human/dog interactions and I strongly recommend this book to any one who wants a companion dog, not an animal that lives in deep fear of their owner. PS-deniers of evolution should spend some time cozied up to this book.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    My dog & I highly recommend this bood

    Early in 2011, I adopted a 6 year old dog who, through no fault of her own, needed a new home, thus becoming interested in why dogs behave the way they do. Professor Bradshaw's book explains how dogs came to be comfortable in human society and the remarkable adaptaptions that have made the relationship comfortable. From the origins of domestic dogs to the way we live with dogs today, I found much of value in this book. Prof. Bradshaw writes in a way that explains without pendantic excess or scientific jargon that should make the book accessible to most everyone.

    And I learned a new - perhaps British - way of explaining my dog's adoption: she is "re-homed" rather than "rescued," as clearly she was a well adapted, well treated, well trained dog in her previous, but no longer viable, home. Bradshaw's discussion of separation anxiety, however, leads to believe there's not much that can be done about that.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great book if you have a new dog and want to get them

    This is a great book if you have a new dog and want to get them settled in quickly. You will learn a lot about dogs and what it takes to train them quickly and easily.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Highly Recommended for Dog Owners

    Everyone who has a dog should read this.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Dog sense

    A clearly written book that provides a lot of insight into understanding the history and present relationship between humans and dogs

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Characteristics about the book

    I think this book is:
    Factual
    Interesting
    Amazing
    Sophisticated

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    My thoughts

    I thougt that this book was very factful and also very informative.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Thought provoking

    It's nice to see a book that scientifically shows what most true dog lovers already know.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Nice one!

    I like reading this book because it tells me a lot about the characteristics of dogs.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book is amazing! It is clear that Bradshaw is a scientist b

    This book is amazing! It is clear that Bradshaw is a scientist but also a dog lover himself. This book offers wonderful insight into the way dogs behave and it is all backed up with science. It actively challenges the concept of training a dog using punishment and offers a more successful and humane approach. If you want to understand how dogs learn and why they behave certain ways this is a great book. A MUST READ!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Not what i expected

    Not light reading. It went more in depth than i expected

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Great book!

    Very informational, with solid scientific research to back it up, but written in a way everyone can follow. It should be required reading for every dog trainer and every dog breeder.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    perfect

    I love this dog book. I could never imagine hurting my dog(s). I hate the thought that some pepole humans do though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I have the sample

    Should i buy the full for $26?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    I love this book

    This book is so inpresive i love it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    ¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿?¿¿??¿gg¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿rrw

    Bcgb gfgchkbfxbtvfhtghgchvtnhj

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Bow wow

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Intrigued me

    This is a great book. If you like dogs, have a dog, or are about to buy one this is a great book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Uajajamamam

    Mamammajamamammamamamammamamamamamamammamamamamamamma i cant read this,,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7